Credits: 1,663
13% pregnant in one high school. What's really the problem here?????
65 Girls At Area School Pregnant
School To Unveil Three-Prong Program UPDATED: 12:46 pm EDT August 25, 2005 CANTON, Ohio -- There are 490 female students at Timken High School, and 65 are pregnant, according to a recent report in the Canton Repository. The article reported that some would say that movies, TV, videogames, lazy parents and lax discipline may all be to blame. Video School officials are not sure what has contributed to so many pregnancies, but in response to them, the school is launching a three-prong educational program to address pregnancy, prevention and parenting. The newspaper also reported that students will face mounting tensions created by unplanned child-rearing responsibilities, causing students to quit school and plan for a GED. This will make it difficult for the Canton City School District to shake its academic watch designation by the state. According to the Canton Health Department, statistics through July show that 104 of the 586 babies born to Canton residents in Aultman Hospital and Mercy Medical Center had mothers between 11 and 19. The newspaper reports that the non-Canton rate was 7 percent. Canton was 15 percent. Copyright 2005 by NewsNet5. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed. http://www.newsnet5.com/news/4885861/detail.html |
Credits: 34,884
They need a better Sex Ed teacher
Cleophus aka pupah lashie
Credits: 1,045
or better condoms
Sweeter Sauce
Credits: 914
Ditto to both previous posts....
That is such as shame...whatever happened to finishing education THEN starting a career and a family.... The worst part of it for me is some of these girls (if not all), are barely able to take care of themselves, let alone bringin a child into this world! |
DA 1
Credits: 225
11 to 19 what the hell is going on in world today!!! in high school I wasnt concerned w/ sex I was worried about the next home game or the next school dance!!!
Credits: 42
thats just loose dosen't make any sense at all
aka Tiny-Winey reppin SIA
Credits: 3,015
much less having sex or getting pregnant scared meh crapless.reading things like this makes me worry about when my time comes to raise my own children, what type of environment will their school be like |
Credits: 15,004
Not just better sex education or better condoms these kids need some to tell them its ok not to have sex, they have futures and a moment of passion can ruin it and also these kids don't really seem to fear stds like i do.
Credits: 14,232
somebody need to hand out birth control for those sexually active teens. the fact is, they are going to do it and i sure they all know about sex ed and all the std's out there. but they are livin in the dream of being wit de chile fadda fuheva and fuh bringin a pretty, fly, cute baby into the world.
what they need to incorporate in the health classes in that area, is something teaching the kids about the financial stress of having a child and how much things you could do without finishin school etc. dey need to start that in 9th grade, doh wait till 11th, cuz it'll be too late dey really need to set up a nursery too, not to show de kids dat is ok to jus make chile and drop it off, but for those who make mistakes and want to continue school. dey should hand out de phone number fuh de closest abortion clinic too. |
Credits: 8,556
11 years old
what the azz u doing having sex at 11 years old at that age i was busy dancing around me house and the dance studio not looking for man good lord. SOmetimes i see my students huging up in the halls i does break them up fast fast.
Just BEING Me
Credits: 166
I remember hearing about the sex bracelet craze and the adult response to these bracelets. Now kids are getting pregnant at even younger ages everyone seems surprised.
Pleaseeee.... BTW, I would hope the 19 year old is out of school? |

much less having sex or getting pregnant scared meh crapless.reading things like this makes me worry about when my time comes to raise my own children, what type of environment will their school be like