THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
Credits: 1,302
whats up everybody its almost time to go to toronto canada for caribana. I just want to see who is going up there and what events you going to do while up. That includes playing mas. Also when its done let's hear your feedback on what you though of your experience.
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
Late!!
I tried to get this thread up 2 weeks ago and it just cleared waivers. Anyway. If you up here this weekend. Let me know what you hitting up. Tonite we might try either sky bar or the foam party as an opeing appetizer to this weekend.
Anyway hope whoever came up hae a good time and post. Also give feedback to where you went and how was it?
Credits: 418
Captain John's
I went Captain John's yesterday (Thursday) and the vibe and music were tops.
I going Soca or Die tonight (about 10 artists) but have a ticket for sale if anyone is interested. PM me. |
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
Happenings
Thursday i went to a foam party that wasnt a foam party. They should have called it extremely hot party. Cause it was blazing in there. Then it got shut down at 1:30am cause someone sprayed mace or pepper spray into the crowd. Then i went to kos jouvert on friday that fete was great it wasnt as good as last year because the venue changed. But it was still better than what they doing in brooklyn. We talking mud, paint, chocolate and water (yes water cause it wasnt exactly warm outside at that point). Oh and i cant forget the performers skinny faboulous, problem child, the boss iwer george, and zoelah. It was great. Cant wait for tomorrow cause im going to fire fete!!!! Also if you (socasoca) was on the blvd for the parade i was in the stamina crew t-shirt. I will also be in that t-shirt at fire fete. Not the same one worn today but a different style. If u in the building come and get bad with us. It will be ludacris81 and bklynpsycho.
Real Recognize Me
Credits: 8,590
Friday- KOS J'ouvert - *sighs* If this was in Brooklyn, the glory days would be slowly making a comeback.
Saturday-besides the obvious, I did Carnival In My Backyard soon after. Successful night, as I bagged about 5 chics there and they all live in Canada smh. Sunday-doing my first ever Fire Fete today. I'm wearing all shirt that mark Wine or Die, so if you see it, you'll be looking at madness. I get nuff forwards when wearing that shirt. What you dealing with tomorrow? I think I'm going on a mission and try to knock down something. I don't really do last laps. @mkdfootball: That was the Heat and Foam party? I can't remember what I did that atall. |
Soca Dragon Slayer
Credits: 59
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
Response
Monday i think we are going to go to the caribana musuem. My dude ludacris81 wants to learn the history of the caribana festival. After that i have no idea. Fire fete is going to be just that fire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. See you there. And everyone else who is going to be there!!!!!! When you see that stamina crew shirt dont be shy come and party with us. We dont do stush!
focused
Credits: 1,764
[QUOTE=mkdfootball;3248811]Thursday i went to a foam party that wasnt a foam party. They should have called it extremely hot party. Cause it was blazing in there. Then it got shut down at 1:30am cause someone sprayed mace or pepper spray into the crowd. Then i went to kos jouvert on friday that fete was great it wasnt as good as last year because the venue changed. But it was still better than what they doing in brooklyn. We talking mud, paint, chocolate and water (yes water cause it wasnt exactly warm outside at that point). Oh and i cant forget the performers skinny faboulous, problem child, the boss iwer george, and zoelah. It was great. QUOTE]
Foam Fete was getting good when that ish happened too STEUPS...I was vex like hell because after getting in there for free, wasn't feeling having to pay $20 for Capt. John's J'Ouvert was good too and I actually liked the water truck outside, thought it was different and cool, but it could never touch Palazzo (the other venue) |
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
video coming sooon
Fire fete fire fete it has come and gone and i need it to come back again cause its was straight fire in there. Im not even going to say more. Im going to put up video so u can see for yourself.
Soca Psycho
Credits: 4,737
Ok it took a while...but I've up load all my videos of Caribana weekend. Some I'm not gonna show here but others you have to see... Like the Fire Fete video is a must see...all of them. I'm almost done adding just maybe 2 more to my account and i'll be posting them up soon.
Soca Psycho
Ok Boys and Girl here are the video I was gonna post. Starting with a few from Kos Jouvert. I would have love to been at Soca or Die but hey I got this ticket way before SOD was even though of. So here are a few videos from Kos Jovert.
Kos Jouvert Crowd going wild Iwer George @ Kos Jouvert Caribana 2009 Iwer George singing at Kos Jouvert at Caribana Skinny Fabolous Performance at Kos Jouvert Skinny Fabolous Performance at Kos Jouvert Caribana The Crowd at Kos Jouvert Going Mad Problem Child Performance at Kos Jouvert Caribana 2009 |
Soca Psycho
Ok these next set of videos mostly goes out to the Vincy crew. All though I got alot of videos on the road of caribana I wanted to share these sets of videos of the vincy truck riding down Caribana....Well here it is
The Vincy truck Caribana 2009 The Vincy truck Caribana 2009 part 2 The Vincy truck Caribana 2009 part 3 The Vincy truck Caribana 2009 Part 4 |
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.
Survival
I dont need to write about it now that my dude bklynpyscho put up the video. Thats how it needs to be here in brooklyn.
Soca Junkie
Credits: 1,050
Damn Damn Damn...I am almost ashamed to be from BK when it comes to the soca scene...I mean I am glad I was able to live through the last years of fetes like this in BK..aka the Ark...but now as you can see, u have to travel to other countries to get on bad like this....oh the pain.
Some of these videos need to be put up in the "what happened to the soca scene in BK" thread...I mean since we have nothing else, u can appreciate SOD but after going to Toronto...its like ok...wheres the creme filling...lol...they have fetes like these at least once a month where everyone in the party comes out to have a good time...not stand up and look cute...not to start a fight...just pure bacchanal!!!!! SMH!!!!! And dont get me wrong...I guess its to each as own...some people can have a great time with a 2 step and a little whining...me...me, I need madness..when I hear start of chunes like HEAD BAD or TRAFFIC...the last thing you should be doing is a 2-step...more like fighting for your life in the mash-pit...whole crowd moving from left to right... north to south...just watch the video to see what I mean...I done ![]() |
Credits: 2,287
Ludacris... change ya name to Insane. Yo... caribana aint got nothin on the Parkway. Trust. I played with carnival nationz last year. It was worse carnival experience ever. It was puzzled at how everyone started jumping up and getting on when we got ready, but soon as we crossed the stage, everyone seemed ready to go sit down. No jumping up on the road. Damn near everyone was walking down the road. the parties are a different story. those real nice. but then again i'm tired of seeing bunji, fayanne, destra, and iwer george every year. another bad thing about caribana... no bajan artists. I'll take labor day any day over caribana.