Old 05-09-2009, 10:58 PM   #61 (permalink)
facebook.com/thustytroupe

Credits: 533
Originally Posted by Sugarapple268 View Post
SINCE U ONLY KNOW 1 ANTIGUA U MUST AH TALK BOUT ME!! Im dont be in fete is fete like that n yes Ludacris...Soca WOODSTOCK was DEh BOMB. ( Ah thinkAH lost my shoes too). RED HOT FLAMES....uuuhhh hmmm lets be clear was SELL off dat night. Shurwayne all deh big bands was there doing dem thing...N it was as ORGANIZED as THEY came... PLEASE BRING BACK DEH ARK :-(
de ark dead miss lady... ass much as i want to resurrect it.. we hada let it rest in peace... hopefully de big promoters will bring a new outdoor venue or get a park seting for dis summer... de only ting i feel dat can save we... hopefully there will be diversity in the event also... Antigua, vincy, bajan, spice artists, i want to see brother b in bk, doh know if it go happen, want to see skinny too...

THUSTY TROUPE!!!
Old 05-10-2009, 06:06 PM   #62 (permalink)

Credits: 3,245
U splashed it out right
the culprit is the economy
And the fact that big artist have not adjusted to this fact yet..
Buh doh worry..is jus ah temporary ting...

Originally Posted by RUCKUS View Post
I don't think that it's a problem with the promoters and./or venue. The artists are the ones who are killing the Soca Scene in NYC. Let me give you a little insight to the cost of these events looking at last years prices:
Destra & Atlantik: 15,000.00
Travel for 13 people x 650.00 per ticket: 8,500.00
Hotel - usually about 8 rooms X $150.00 x 3 days: 2,250.00
Per Dieum 40 x 13 x 3 days" 1,560.00
Venue Cost with Bar: 7,000.00
Security: 2,500.00
Radio/Internet/Street Team Promotion: 2,000.00
P/A System: 2,500.00
Totaling over 41,000.00 Now this is the cost of 1 band. In order to break even you need about 1,400 people to pay an average price of $30.00, and people complain about that price.

Multiply the band fee, airline tickets, per dieum and hotel x 4 and the budget becomes way out of hand.

I'm not taking away anything from the artist but the performance fees have to come down significantly in order for the soca scene in NY to come back to the way it was back in the days.
Old 05-10-2009, 07:37 PM   #63 (permalink)

Credits: 8,548
This looks promising
http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/calendar/event-5604/

The Caribbean Summer Jam fest in Roy Wilkins park June 28th.
Yall enjoy I have a show that day.

And to think we been talking about an event like this for years and I can't attend chuppppppppppppppps.

The dam place walking distance from my house. chupppppppps again.

Last edited by pebblesjt; 05-10-2009 at 07:40 PM..
Old 05-24-2009, 06:46 PM   #64 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Credits: 1,302
Angry Soca on disaster

friday night i mean saturday morning s.o.d was the worst. I read the apology trinikings put up. But come on man. You knew u were having these problems with the establishment before. And u decide to wait till shit hit the proverbial fan to do something about it. I know it was easier when u had your sel out crowds on a month to month basis. But like someone told me do things when there hard not when there easy. So know all the soca junkies have to wait till you find some new venue which can last a short time or a long time. Depending on how good your hustle is. Point is it shouldnt have come to that. Thats y this scene is only good when it comes close to labor day. Yall are messing up out there and need to get your ish together!!!!

In case u werent there or didnt hear about it. What happen was this. They said doors open at 10. Lie. Its suppose to be 21 for men. True and 18 for women lie. I got to the line at 1120, didnt get in till 1240 and i was 5th on line. The cops or the security didnt let in any of the women or i should say most of the women that were btw 18-20. So it was a big sausage fest in there. Then the first 2 d.j's replayed the same songs in a different order. And most chicks were only dancing with people they knew. And the others were being smothered by the hungry cavemen that new we outnumbered the women so when i come around they annoyed and giving me the finger.

In the end promoters get your ish together so you can avoid problems like the ones from that night. Do ish when its hard not easy. Have a back up for a back and keep this s.o.d thing as smooth as silk.
Old 05-24-2009, 06:59 PM   #65 (permalink)

Credits: 20,466
Originally Posted by mkdfootball View Post

friday night i mean saturday morning s.o.d was the worst. I read the apology trinikings put up. But come on man. You knew u were having these problems with the establishment before. And u decide to wait till shit hit the proverbial fan to do something about it. I know it was easier when u had your sel out crowds on a month to month basis. But like someone told me do things when there hard not when there easy. So know all the soca junkies have to wait till you find some new venue which can last a short time or a long time. Depending on how good your hustle is. Point is it shouldnt have come to that. Thats y this scene is only good when it comes close to labor day. Yall are messing up out there and need to get your ish together!!!!

In case u werent there or didnt hear about it. What happen was this. They said doors open at 10. Lie. Its suppose to be 21 for men. True and 18 for women lie. I got to the line at 1120, didnt get in till 1240 and i was 5th on line. The cops or the security didnt let in any of the women or i should say most of the women that were btw 18-20. So it was a big sausage fest in there. Then the first 2 d.j's replayed the same songs in a different order. And most chicks were only dancing with people they knew. And the others were being smothered by the hungry cavemen that new we outnumbered the women so when i come around they annoyed and giving me the finger.

In the end promoters get your ish together so you can avoid problems like the ones from that night. Do ish when its hard not easy. Have a back up for a back and keep this s.o.d thing as smooth as silk.

sorry for ya issue

i member last month i say the same shite happen to meh breds and dem , and dem soca on demand lovers say im a hater

if its the base problem, maybe its good that they leaving there
Old 05-25-2009, 05:08 PM   #66 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
Yeah it was really bad I feel for the 60% of them girls on line who couldn't get it. Man because if the SOD was a sauage fête. The vibe for the whole night seemed off. The music was nice and all but alot was missing. But anyhow let us not deal on that June is looking real nice for soca lovers ever where I'm looking forward to Bunji + Fay = Big fête Floyd Bennet Field. That looks promising.
Old 06-01-2009, 03:42 PM   #67 (permalink)

Credits: 3,376
glad to see im not missing anything out there in party land. there are several reasons why partys suck nowadays. the biggest reason for the downfall is IMMIGRATION. nowadays we have fewer people migrating to the usa from trinidad then we did back in the days. as a result, the fetes/djs authenticity is drifting away. nowadays we have a bunch of wack ass yankees calling themselves djs and promoters. they are attracting the wack yankee crowd. as a result, you get a wack party.
Old 06-01-2009, 05:48 PM   #68 (permalink)
facebook.com/thustytroupe

Credits: 533
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
glad to see im not missing anything out there in party land. there are several reasons why partys suck nowadays. the biggest reason for the downfall is IMMIGRATION. nowadays we have fewer people migrating to the usa from trinidad then we did back in the days. as a result, the fetes/djs authenticity is drifting away. nowadays we have a bunch of wack ass yankees calling themselves djs and promoters. they are attracting the wack yankee crowd. as a result, you get a wack party.
lol apache ya ha jokes yes... it always sucks when tings doh go as planned, it makes everybody involved look bad... but dah night de music was sweet, i say to my self de music is de best (selection wise) dat i have heard in a while... but wha ya go do...
Old 06-02-2009, 05:40 PM   #69 (permalink)
professional whiner man

Credits: 4,554
im mad late to this.....
woodstock bring back memories... wat about socarama?
Floyd Bennett field... im there...
who else?
Old 06-02-2009, 06:12 PM   #70 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,934
im a reggae lover til Labor Day...lol j/k...and I'm sticking to my boatrides and backyards policy for the summer....dunno when next a club will see me.

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)
Old 06-13-2009, 11:24 PM   #71 (permalink)

Credits: 28,803
Originally Posted by pebblesjt View Post
This looks promising
http://www.islandmix.com/backchat/calendar/event-5604/

The Caribbean Summer Jam fest in Roy Wilkins park June 28th.
Yall enjoy I have a show that day.

And to think we been talking about an event like this for years and I can't attend chuppppppppppppppps.

The dam place walking distance from my house. chupppppppps again.
who ever posted that event, tell that person roy wilkins is in queens

► "91.9 Morning Show" w/ Isha Wells, Brother B, & Mad Indian. Weekdays, 9a-12p. http://www.soca919.com/play.asx

► http://www.myspace.com/trinidaduniversity
Old 06-14-2009, 03:17 AM   #72 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

This aint happen in brooklyn

Size="7"][/size] i dontknow about yall but machel concert was a flop to me. No standing room at all. Well not if u count ur rolled up seat. No theatrics. I felt like i was at the arc. I didnt pay 140 dollars for just a piano song. Couldnt wild out at all. (punk ass usher and punk ass crowd) i was hoping for a bumrush to the front but never got it. He did his new stuff some old stuff and a song he said he never preformed before. I like that it was cool. But overall for the money i paid i expected a better show. Also i posted it in the machel montano hd thread.
Old 06-15-2009, 11:58 PM   #73 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

How could something start so wrong and end so right.

It was a slow start to sunday event. First we take myself all the way out to aviator to walk around just to find out it was moved to djumballa. We get to the djumballa and the doors dont open till 5 o'clock. And we got on line at 3 o'clock. Then i was mad hott on there. No type of a/c. (it got slightly better. Then got worst). The crowd was made stush on the begining and so was the d.j with his selections.

Then i guess the clock stuck midnight in people and the d.j mnd and they woke up. (the d.j did go back to sleep. With those whack ass rap and r@b selection). Then it got better except for the microphones those shit was the worst all night.

Bunji garlin, faye-ann lyons, benjai, blaxxs, hunter and if miss someone i will coreected in a later post. They did a hell of a job. They came out like wild dogs. With everything that happened in that day. They hanldled it like true professionals and gave the crowd explanation about what happened. Then they ripped the roof off the building. That show was awesome. You know thats saying alot if its me. Cause if u read any of my threads and post its usually how garbage something was..

The show was great great great great.
Old 07-10-2009, 03:51 PM   #74 (permalink)

Credits: 1,218
Party in the City

That's why I party in Manhattan. Way better crowd! Sexy Venues! Very care free atmosphere! Music great! People come to party! Mature Crowd! Just that the drinks can be expensive. Yes there are many who pose for the cameras when they come around but they get back to gettin on bad! And don't let Stabby come on, cause the crowd really gets crazy!

BK parties have too many stushy face girls just standin around lookin you up and down and someone is always starting a fight. You don't get that in the city. And if someone comes close to fighting security is right on top of it before anything pops off. I don't have time for all that nonsense. I just want to go out, have a good time, and make it back home in one peace.

Shout out to Upscale Crowd and ShorBlu promoters for doing their thing with bringing the Caribbean scene to the city!! Luv ya guys!

Go Stabby Go Stabby! Staaaaaabbbbbby!!!
Old 08-24-2009, 11:28 AM   #75 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Dropped the ball

ONCE AGAIN I GO TO WETE FETE AND ITS ANOTHER DISSAPOINTMENT. ITS NOT LIKE IT WASNT COOL BUT U LEAVE THERE WITH A BAD TASTE IN YOUR MOUTH. YOU WOULD THINK THE PROMOTERS WOULD HAVE LEARNED FROM LAST YEAR MISTAKE. START THE PERFORMANCES EARLIER. SO WE CAN SEE ALL THE ARTIST. I DIDNT MIND THAT C-PAC LOOK LIKE GARBAGE FACILITY I DIDNT MIND THAT REPEATED 10 SONGS THAT GOES FOR REGGAE AND SOCA. I DIDNT MIND THAT THE BAR WAS 50 MILES AWAY FROM WHERE YOU COULD BUY FOOD. I DIDNT MIND THE FACT THAT PEOPLE WAS IN THE FRONT AND DIDNT WANT TO GET BUMPED ON GET ON BAD.

BUT WHAT I DO MIND IS WHEN I PAY MONEY TO SEE AN ARTIST AND I DONT GET TO SEE HIM CAUSE U STARTED THE PERFORMANCES LATE!!!!!!!!

ONCE AGAIN THE PROMOTERS DROPPED THE BALL.!!

P.S SKINNY WASNT THE ONLY ONE NOT TO PERFORM EITHER.