Old 04-06-2009, 12:05 AM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 130
lame.

this thread is so disappointing! I don't live in NY but I'll be there for the summer and I was looking forward to the soca scene being... well propa soca! Alyuh leh we know when somebody find a propa fete!!
Old 04-10-2009, 01:26 AM   #32 (permalink)
Mr. Desir

Credits: 800
Originally Posted by bdizzygfc View Post
Definately dont believe the boat ride scene is falling off, its just that boatrides is only for spring/summer.....R.I.P to Wet Fete ever since the Ark sell off and KC Hideaway is no longer outdoor...and what ever happened to Socarama in Floyd Bennet Field?? I could definately use one of those this summer.
I also don't believe the boat ride scene is falling off.....I think the best parties are the boat rides. I made my start on my uncle's boat ride in 1998....I had the time of my life and never looked back since. I wasn't old enough to go to the clubs back in the day and when I was, I had no ride to head to places like the Ark or KC....but I think the soca scene can be revived, all the crews that do nothing that get on bad need to get together and think of party designed ONLY for the mad men/women that love to get on bad from night till morning!!!!

And I also agree...cops are fiending to shut parties down, but we need to weed out the ################heads and dumb ####################es who fight for no reason and mess up the parties for everyone.

And I think Floyd Bennet Field would be a great place for an outdoor concert or wet fete.....or even Prospect Park if possible! (What you think?) The promoters just need to come together and get things on point!
Old 04-10-2009, 02:38 PM   #33 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,264
in NY, every sound and crew is greedy and too busy trying to make a name for they own selfish selves instead of joining forces to put together a true 100% pure soca movement like what they have kicking in Toronto

so instead its a bunch of badminded dancehall and obnoxious Hot97 hip hop out de speakers because everyone trying to be a celebrity
Old 04-13-2009, 12:03 PM   #34 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Credits: 1,302
Exactly

Thank you for writing that about the promoters. Another reason is the people who show up at the party are the same way. Posing for pictures like this is a model show and not a party
Old 04-13-2009, 01:58 PM   #35 (permalink)

Credits: 1,665
hmmmm interesting topic
Old 04-13-2009, 04:24 PM   #36 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
Originally Posted by mkdfootball View Post
Thank you for writing that about the promoters. Another reason is the people who show up at the party are the same way. Posing for pictures like this is a model show and not a party
Speaking of that ever since those picture club websites like 7days7night people just don't wanna come out and dance like they used to in fact I can't stand to see people tap the shoulder of a camera man feening for their pic to be taken. Back when a fête was really bad you had no time to stop to take pics nor you didn't want to because it soul stump the vibe that you have. Wow look how times have change.
Old 04-15-2009, 06:02 AM   #37 (permalink)
facebook.com/thustytroupe

Credits: 533
DE SOCA SCENE COULD NEVER DIE IN BROOKLYN! What is dying very fastly is de club scene, what is killing de club scene is de crowd and de djs in my opinion.

De crowd when it comes to de club an it has bin stated earlier is de stushness! dat is de gun... ladies... yes ya come to look nice, ya do ya hair an ting, doh come to pose off dis is not a fashion show... of course de fellas comin to wine... if de ladies not wining den there is de problem, i doh care bout, age or what island ya come from i want a wine... De fellas... when dey know a party rell popular dey does come by de hundreds an it does be too much stones in de fete... daz a problem, de next ting is de attitude... every man jack is a gunta an want to fight... dey doh come to wine an doh truly love de music, problem!

Djs... now i know alot of them so nobody catch no horrors.... there are many excellent djs out there, what makes a good dj for me? is all about tune selection, if i in an all soca party (an im in alot) i expect to hear tunes dat doh play on de radio, hits from de past dat go make de crowd say woooooooogoooooooooooodddddddd, so selection is # 1 for me, an i feel most djs fall into a rythm of what is playin on de radio or whats on thier serato playlist... de selection has gone out de window, being on de mic an sayin hey look look look look at meeee is more important...

Secondly is de runin back of tunes, we as customers, do not want to hear de same song 3 4 5 and 6 FLICKIN TIMES IN ONE NIGHT, I doh care how many djs on de card an who come at what time an doh know wha play already, is annoying an a crowd killer in any genere of music, and i believe de promoters doh care, cuz dey done get dey money... in all my time i have seen one party where on de flyer stated "no tune played twice"...

my solution to de club scene dying, BACK TO DE ROOTS
de best parties for me does be in a basement, not too many djs, girls comin to wine... de vibes juss sweet... an das not because Thusty Troupe does throw basment parties.... dey juss sweet, an wit proper security and all men on de guestlist... it does juss make de ting sweeter, no set of bacchanal, juss music, drinks, and winein...
Old 04-15-2009, 02:11 PM   #38 (permalink)

Credits: 2,281
Originally Posted by Mr. Slackness View Post
I also don't believe the boat ride scene is falling off.....I think the best parties are the boat rides. I made my start on my uncle's boat ride in 1998....I had the time of my life and never looked back since. I wasn't old enough to go to the clubs back in the day and when I was, I had no ride to head to places like the Ark or KC....but I think the soca scene can be revived, all the crews that do nothing that get on bad need to get together and think of party designed ONLY for the mad men/women that love to get on bad from night till morning!!!!

And I also agree...cops are fiending to shut parties down, but we need to weed out the ################heads and dumb ####################es who fight for no reason and mess up the parties for everyone.

And I think Floyd Bennet Field would be a great place for an outdoor concert or wet fete.....or even Prospect Park if possible! (What you think?) The promoters just need to come together and get things on point!
wet fete in prospect park? dat sounding relll good yuh kno.if any promoters ready this then u are goin to need a permit. the cops sure wont have a problem telling you that..... floyd bennet aint a bad choice either....
Old 04-15-2009, 02:42 PM   #39 (permalink)

Credits: 2,281
Question

Originally Posted by stylzmovements dbs View Post
oh gosh stylz please send me dat via email. i aint kno there was a vid of pj jam....i kno im in it. gettting onnnnnnnnnn! lmao
Old 04-20-2009, 12:49 PM   #40 (permalink)

Credits: 2,188
I have to agree with yankintrini on that one the best parties I go to is house or basement parties where no one is their for a fashion show. As for as the djs go a lot of the promoters don't wont to give some djs a chance on the scene, They are a lot of djs I know that can spin a lot better than some of the ones I hear on the radio sometimes I wonder how some of them get on the air but I guess it is who you know. We need ghost crew, trample crew powder crew and de jumbies crew back on the scene. WHERE R U CREWS
Old 04-21-2009, 10:53 PM   #41 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Not bad

Originally Posted by lil red bull View Post
wet fete in prospect park? Dat sounding relll good yuh kno.if any promoters ready this then u are goin to need a permit. The cops sure wont have a problem telling you that..... Floyd bennet aint a bad choice either....
that not a bad idea to hold a wete fete meaning avaitor field i dont think one can happen in prospect park because u need a big concrete area that has a place for the water to flow without building up. And dont say have it on the grass cause they aint gonna wanna have a mudpit in prospect park. But avaitor can happen its nothing but space out there. But u might need a fire truck for the water though.
Old 04-22-2009, 10:31 AM   #42 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Credits: 4,735
Question

Originally Posted by Yanktrini View Post
DE SOCA SCENE COULD NEVER DIE IN BROOKLYN! What is dying very fastly is de club scene, what is killing de club scene is de crowd and de djs in my opinion.

De crowd when it comes to de club an it has bin stated earlier is de stushness! dat is de gun... ladies... yes ya come to look nice, ya do ya hair an ting, doh come to pose off dis is not a fashion show... of course de fellas comin to wine... if de ladies not wining den there is de problem, i doh care bout, age or what island ya come from i want a wine... De fellas... when dey know a party rell popular dey does come by de hundreds an it does be too much stones in de fete... daz a problem, de next ting is de attitude... every man jack is a gunta an want to fight... dey doh come to wine an doh truly love de music, problem!

Djs... now i know alot of them so nobody catch no horrors.... there are many excellent djs out there, what makes a good dj for me? is all about tune selection, if i in an all soca party (an im in alot) i expect to hear tunes dat doh play on de radio, hits from de past dat go make de crowd say woooooooogoooooooooooodddddddd, so selection is # 1 for me, an i feel most djs fall into a rythm of what is playin on de radio or whats on thier serato playlist... de selection has gone out de window, being on de mic an sayin hey look look look look at meeee is more important...

Secondly is de runin back of tunes, we as customers, do not want to hear de same song 3 4 5 and 6 FLICKIN TIMES IN ONE NIGHT, I doh care how many djs on de card an who come at what time an doh know wha play already, is annoying an a crowd killer in any genere of music, and i believe de promoters doh care, cuz dey done get dey money... in all my time i have seen one party where on de flyer stated "no tune played twice"...

my solution to de club scene dying, BACK TO DE ROOTS
de best parties for me does be in a basement, not too many djs, girls comin to wine... de vibes juss sweet... an das not because Thusty Troupe does throw basment parties.... dey juss sweet, an wit proper security and all men on de guestlist... it does juss make de ting sweeter, no set of bacchanal, juss music, drinks, and winein...

when allyuh having a next basement party?
Old 04-23-2009, 10:49 AM   #43 (permalink)

Credits: 790
I love the basement parties. Besides the basement parties I use love pace university party and CCNY party when i use to play for them to 2 college had the best parties. What ever happen to the fete they use to have in prospect park on fathers day.
Old 04-23-2009, 08:31 PM   #44 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
Seems like alot of people missing the longtime soca vybe,the socarama the wetfete the brass n glow. too bad is a sad day now them promoters cyah come 2gether and throw abig show to please we.
Old 04-26-2009, 09:57 PM   #45 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Exclamation The crowd is the killer

I WENT TO THAT S.O.D APPRECIATION. AND GOT MY MONEY WORTH. (FREE). IT TOOK ME ON MY 12TH TRY TO GET A WINE. THE D.J'S WERE ON POINT BUT THE CROWD BE KILLING ME. THERE WERE ONLY ONE SECTION THAT WOULD LET LOOSE WHEN THE D.J PLAYED THOSE MASH UP RIDDIM. OTHERWISE TO GET A WINE I HAD TO GO HIDE IN THE BUSHES WITH MY HOWLITZER. AND WAIT FOR AN UNEXPECTING ANIMAL TO COME INTO MY LINE OF SIGHT B4 I COULD STRIKE. THATS SOME OL BULLSHIT. I SHOULD BE IN THERE AND JUST BE WHINNING AND HAVING A GOOD TIME WITH THE PEOPLE AROUND THE AREA IM IN. NOT GETTING MY DEER HUNTER ON TO HAVE A GOOD TIME.