Old 07-30-2008, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)

Question Wet fete

when is it in brooklyn?
Old 08-02-2008, 11:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Breaking Backs Since 96

Wet Fete Water Colours 2K8

Yes, it's at the dreadful C-Pac, but who cares, I am in the building!!!! Tickets are already 30 dollars so hurry up and get one already.
Old 08-07-2008, 03:55 PM   #3 (permalink)

Wet fete.

Can someone tell me where i can get wet fete tickets?
Old 08-18-2008, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Anybody Go Wet Fete??

how was it?
Old 08-18-2008, 12:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
STREETS R WATCHIN

Ah miss wet fete ...how was it?

Was it better than previous years?i need to know if ah really miss out,lol
Old 08-18-2008, 03:14 PM   #6 (permalink)

Wet Fete

So how was it?
Old 08-19-2008, 11:38 AM   #7 (permalink)

It was OK. They rushed the performances. And it finished at 9. I dont understand how u can advertise it to go till 11PM/12AM, but then shut it down at 9. I got there at 7 thinking I had a good three to four hours to jam. Wrong.
Old 08-19-2008, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 4mydawgz View Post
It was OK. They rushed the performances. And it finished at 9. I dont understand how u can advertise it to go till 11PM/12AM, but then shut it down at 9. I got there at 7 thinking I had a good three to four hours to jam. Wrong.
And that's why I didn't go. One year they said this and that one was going to perform and some performed others didn't. I was so pissed. I think they need to really rethink about this wet fete thing and give people their monies worth, or change the venue to prospect park or even coney island or jones beach.
Old 08-19-2008, 02:31 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by 4mydawgz View Post
Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
And that's why I didn't go. One year they said this and that one was going to perform and some performed others didn't. I was so pissed. I think they need to really rethink about this wet fete thing and give people their monies worth, or change the venue to prospect park or even coney island or jones beach.
yeah so ummmm, it was cool...it got shut down because of the NYPD....not the promoters them.....apparently one of the police chiefs or whoever de ################ he was got vex becuz he got wet and said that the music was too loud, neighborhood complaints (i failed to see who in the neighborhood was complaining cuz everyone was outside enjoying the music and liming on dey porch and maccoing and ting)...anyway, they did rush the performances which i feel isnt fair....if i paid 20 or even 30 i wouldnt complain, but for 40 i shoulda got a lil more.....and to all u west indians that like to come in late, wtf? why the hell u coming to an all day event late? supposed a fight broke out and party get shut down? u would have no one to blame but yourself for wasting your money....they need to go back to Jefferson Field, but i hearing that they cant...even if they get Floyd Bennett Field or something....but steups @ CPAC, it too small....however, i did like that water truck
Old 08-19-2008, 02:33 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ms.69 View Post
yeah so ummmm, it was cool...it got shut down because of the NYPD....not the promoters them.....apparently one of the police chiefs or whoever de ################ he was got vex becuz he got wet and said that the music was too loud, neighborhood complaints (i failed to see who in the neighborhood was complaining cuz everyone was outside enjoying the music and liming on dey porch and maccoing and ting)...anyway, they did rush the performances which i feel isnt fair....if i paid 20 or even 30 i wouldnt complain, but for 40 i shoulda got a lil more.....and to all u west indians that like to come in late, wtf? why the hell u coming to an all day event late? supposed a fight broke out and party get shut down? u would have no one to blame but yourself for wasting your money....they need to go back to Jefferson Field, but i hearing that they cant...even if they get Floyd Bennett Field or something....but steups @ CPAC, it too small....however, i did like that water truck
I didn't go them times but I think that's the best venue for an event like that. As for people coming late they are accustom to that and they will always cuss for years it's been going on like that and it don't seem like it will ever change.
Old 08-19-2008, 02:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
KING MACCO

Originally Posted by **Vincy-Soca-Diva** View Post
I didn't go them times but I think that's the best venue for an event like that. As for people coming late they are accustom to that and they will always cuss for years it's been going on like that and it don't seem like it will ever change.
after going to the one in jefferson field, i can't see myself going to an indoor wet fete. that was a time in the rain and cold.
Old 08-19-2008, 02:46 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by spicexperience View Post
after going to the one in jefferson field, i can't see myself going to an indoor wet fete. that was a time in the rain and cold.
you see and that's all i kept hearing. I heard when it was there it was the best. and I think for an event like wete fete it really needs to be outdoor in a park. As for the police they will always shut down especially around this time of year, so maybe they need to make it earlier in the year like June July or something. Prospect Park would be a nice place to have it too.
Old 08-19-2008, 02:46 PM   #13 (permalink)
DJ SocA TrinI

It was rell good to me...don't know bout previous year cause that was my first wet fete... But people was rell enjoyin they self...and de water truck was boss..
Old 08-19-2008, 08:29 PM   #14 (permalink)

even in the Ark, wet fete was bossssssssssssss
Old 08-20-2008, 07:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Soca Junkie

Thumbs down my terrible experience

I personally think it was best @ the Ark...under the tent where it would keep some type of heat in there and still being constantly drenched with water...plus it had a dry room for the anti-social people that come to "WET-FETE" to just stand around...with the Ark being shut down, alot of parties will not be the same and I think thats why Machel is not coming to BK this year.

As for Wet Fete being shut down...like my boy told me...its a conspiracy by promoters to get more money out of people. In NY to have parties like that you need a permit and you get a pemit for a certain time period. Unless something criminal is going inside or you are not following the rules of the permit, NYPD cannot shut it down...someone complaining about music being too loud...come on...if that was the case then no party would go on past 1am anywhere.
And this is the first year that the artist did not perform until dark...of course you will have to rush now... at all the other Wet Fete's I remember being on line @ like 3pm and hearing artist performin, again I blame promotion.
And last but surely not least..the DJ's were terrible...I mean even though there were different DJ's, with all the soca music ever made..there is no reason why I should hear a song 3-4 times in 5 hours. I mean no Destra, like only 2 Square One songs...I didnt even hear Dollar Wine and they play that everywhere but they got the nerve to play Hip Hop @ a so called caribbean event. Maybe I missed all the good music getting there @ 4pm. Plus the sound system was low..(if you were in the back by the water truck you could not even make out what song was playing. Glad I got advance tickets and only paid $20 even though I still think I over paid for that crap.

P.S. Is it me or did anyone else noticed that no one knew who Skinny Fabulous was but everyone knew "This is Why I'm Hot" word for word and not the reggae extended version. I thought "Head Bad" was a big song this year. Think I saw someone yarn when he came on stage...lol