TenderRubberWaistLuva
Soca Fetes
I have been pondering the idea of having soca fetes for a while now
I know exactly what i wanna hear and how i want the fetes to go down being a long time after I am not happy with the performance of nuff MJ's out there who run their mouth instead of playing music as well as the 5seconds ones who play few seconds of a song then cut to the next tune at the sweetest part. My question to imix is how would you like soca fetes you attend to go for you to have fun, wha kinda tunes and how you want them played. i have several ideas on themes for fetes but I am trying to get feed back as i would like to start a new era of soca fetes totally diff from the norm, fetes that is crowd pleasing and guaranteed to have patrons coming back for more. I know i have not posted on imax in over a year but i still log on frequently. Your input will be greatly appreciated. |
lol ok...well i would like to attend a fete where all the djs arrive at the party on time and plan what each other will playing....i wanna hear back in time (80s-early2000s), a Grenz session, a Vincy session, an Antiguan session, a Bajan session, a chipping/jouvert session...i wanna attend a fete where the vibes sweet fuh de whole fete and the djs and emcees not running they mouth whole night and cuttin off tunes and repeating the same 20 songs a million times....i want iron and tassa and all that.... |
TenderRubberWaistLuva
No no no darlin
I doh Macco yuh know i does be having a time once the fete nice so far to be honest only fetes i been enjoyin is I love soca and bazodee And im truly thinkin bout joining the i love soca crew Weekend b4 labor day i went to I love soca in queens the Friday and i love soca in bk the Saturday Had a real good time music nice place ain blazing hot But i hear you on the diff tunes cuz that was one of my ideas A Islands united fete Tunes from each island even let people tell me wha they want to hear and no tune play twice so get there early just as Sokal did one time a back in times soca fete with just older sweet soca is entirely too much soca out there to ever hear same tune twice my library has a total of over 2800 tunes and there's more that others have that i don't so i myself will provide the music with the help of my fello soca junkies out there |
Reborn!!
It would be good to hear those good songs that come out every year that dont get much play because they are not really made for the "road".
JA Soca Ambassador
When and where did you do your research.....? I have personally come to the conclusion that the majority of these ppl who attend these soca fetes are ok with the all night chatting by the DJs/MCs, also it is a brilliant plan by the DJs to play just 10 sec of a tune and cut in a another before the best part.....hence, by the end of the night.. ( lets do the math :10 sec , so you can get in a min of 6 songs, 6 X 60 = 360, there for a min of 3 hours, hence we will get to hear at least ) 1080 songs....if this isn't a brilliant strategy, then i don't know what is ! This new format ... or how I like to call it "Fcukery" is a must for any up and coming Soca promoter....as long as bumpers are available to ride...vibes Good ! ... The bar is set so low that that they would be satisfied with anything.... Good Luck Socapineman Last edited by socapineman; 09-04-2008 at 12:33 AM. |
Know yuh crowd...........doh play every island tune just becuz......play good music from all d islands.........have some sort of dress code in order to assist in keeping out knuckleheads............definitely agree wit d NO MIC concept and tunes must be played in entirety or close to it.....dat sound clash cutting up d tunes shit is annoying.............must b ina decent location.......no crackhead or shootout area......even it it means charging a few few dollars more for safety and peace of mind.........solicit a mature crowd........dat wild dry humping strip club behaving shit isnt west indian........good luck
forever hungry!
and one more thing i must add...can we have some corn soup, souse, ackra (fishcakes) for the bajans...add some food in that and we good to go!! yes ah love meh belly!!! ![]() and to the post starter please take these idea's into consideration on ur next event!!! good luck! Last edited by ms_socadiva; 09-03-2008 at 11:40 PM. |
yeah and ummmm have a 18+ and a 25+ cuz i can already see that partying with these fackin old ass heads gonna be a prob....
wat age group u prefer tuh party wit and why?
both but depending on the kind of fete......i have my seasons, 18+ when i want wildness and 25+ when i want to dress and be a lil more social and not carry on too bad...but i know the 2 cant be put together....it just wouldnt happen or be successful imo
wat does wildness consist of.............I doh endorse social parties I jus like civilized behavior with west indian folks behaving like west indian folks...........I think some younger folks doh understand how to act in a fete............its not about re-enacting d kama sutra......is not bout fellas getting dey totee hard and looking to jam anyting dat move.......is not bout girls looking to skin dey cyat out in d middle ah d dancefloor and giving man lapdance like dey wah dollar in dey draws.........
Amanza Awatu!