JA Soca Ambassador
Soca On Demand ( Last Night At The Base ) ....Pathetic ...
So friends in from Miami and Dallas.....they wanted their Soca ! ...... First stop, the Museum( nothing to talk about ) ....next we were going to a Backyard party, but since it look like it was going rain we decided to go to Soca On Demand at the Base.... 5 ppl, $40, no issues there ! Get in there around 1: 30, at the doorway you feel this heat, I mean real heat, so I am thinking, ok, Black folks, understandable, ........ ... made my way over to the Bar..... put out maybe another $40 in the first round of drinks.......then I realize no AC, just one fan by the bar, you have to love this promoter ( TriniKing ) .....anyway, the outer townners seems to be having a good time, my homegirl had her friend there with a body to kill, phat Bumper and all...so I am more or less Bazodeed just pushing up on it all night ! ......so I can live with the heat ! But Vibesman or Redman whatever he goes by now a days....on the Mic talking Shit all night ...Then I remember why I don't attend any DanceHall parties when I hear that a MC is going to be talking shit all night on the Mic.....to top it off, the JAs have a term " Juggling " where the DJ play like 20-30 sec... of a song, then switch it while you are in the middle of getting your grove on,, it seems like the Soca DJs have now mastered this Fcukery! .......so more or less on a scale of 1 to 5 I give it a 1 ...TriniKing, I hope you made a lot of money last night . Anyway.... for those who attended, how was your night ? |
Mannnn, I DOH NUH HOW U DO it.
FIRST OFF, I will NOT WASTE my TIME going to PLACES like the BASE. Second, I TOTALLY REFUSE to ATTEND any PARTY, especially a SOCA FETE, where the...uhm....EXCUSE my LANGUAGE....where the FUKKIN DJ is TALKING on the MUDDAKHUNT MIC all night. I come to PARTY...that means enjoying the FRIGGING MUSIC, WOMEN and having an overall GOOD TIME. I did not come to HEAR no FUKKIN DJ who THINKS that the party cannot me HYPED without his STINKING MOUTH SUFFOCATING the FRIGGING MIC all night. And wid DAT, AH GAAN. MUDDERWUK!! |
JA Soca Ambassador
Trust me, that was far from my first choice, I wanted to be outdoors, or in a nice party....not at the base, but being the host that I am, i went along with the program..... And her friend who had a body like Alison Hinds' more or less F'ed my head from seeing her on Thursday night...so with that said, you would think by now these promoters who or on Imix all the time would note the criticism ....and try to adjust to make sure each person paying $ is satisfied at the end of the night...but like always, it is about their Greed ! |
JA Soca Ambassador
What A/C you are talking about ? and what is there to give props to TriniKing about ? BTW...how did you like the total disrespect Vibesman/Redman had for The Grenadians, St. Lucians...that was in there with their Big Ass Flags....Bigging up Trinidad all night and not once acknowledge the numerous Grenadians that were in the with their Flags...clearly, you couldn't miss them ! I give Jason Benn a little props for calling out Bardados and i think St. Vincent, even though he was pushing his boat ride ! Last edited by socapineman; 08-30-2008 at 04:38 PM. |
JA Soca Ambassador
"hope their fete tonight @ De River will be craaaaaaaaaaazyyyyyyyyyyyy " Oh...one more....like my mother would say....you are gluting for punishment huh !" |
Same thing here I find a lot, a lot of promoters putting out a mediocre product (Like that Bunji party you talked about Caribana this year) because they know at the the soca "die-hards" will not notice being short changed and see this as a problem because of their love of the genre. |
President Barack Obama!!!
Will anyone forward this thread to Trinikings and this thread: Caribbean Music Issue: DJs
Why I bring it up is I have heard the success of the last few soca in demands from Ms.69 and others and I mean how long we will talk changing this before pushing for action. I fall off from pushing it a little but there are personal reasons that holding me back temporarily. But change have to start now. If Trinikings start hopefully the rest will follow. And I was not there at any of the fetes so I think it best someone who was there could better talk about their experience and share their opinions with Trinikings. All who going to the river I hope you have fun. I am going to Nostrand side and maybe by the museum to be in the mix. ![]()
JA Soca Ambassador
LOL...nah man, just have to be more selective and be a dictator re: Fetes to attend, given that I should know better ! Re : Glow in Toronto , yeah...same BS... but these yutes that attend these parties, I guess their exception is so low, or that unless you see or have attended better, it is kind of hard to explain....but, given that I know two of the biggest promoters.....I know for a fact that there is really no love about whether you enjoy yourself, hence year after year we wouldn't be having these convo. I mean where do you as a promoter come in and say, boss, I am paying you to play music... not to talk shit all night, and I do mean all night, I am not exaggerating ! Where do you as a promoter, come on the mic and say, sorry about the A/C.....work with me here......give away a least a bottle of water for the next hour or so...what, they paid .40 on the $1 then mark it up to $4.....trust me, they are shameless ! As for the rest of the night, I have to go to Panarama, my boy son is playing ...so we going to support that then .... we going to an annual Backyard Party, which is always nice ! Yeah man... yuh know I am on the Parkway come Monday ( I love It ) .... I want to see Mavado light it -up with the Remix of " On the Go " ! will keep you posted...peace ! Last edited by socapineman; 08-30-2008 at 05:20 PM. |
i've been with Trinikings since day 1 so I know what I'm bigging them up for...as I said b4, their fetes are always mad so I dunno what went wrong last night....u dont have to have to agree with it....fack Redman...all he care about is his own so i dont look to him to big up the other islands...i think the vibes was missing last night....for me, it felt more like a lime, not a fete |
Well thats your opinion son, and no one should get mad for you for that.
But once again trinikings done it, a total sell off event. You must of have left early, cause at the end of the night everyone was chanting god bless soca on demand on dey way out. But some fool had to start a on call for cuss out in the streets with some guy and kill the whole vibes. But yo sweet 2 year anniversary and i'm just saying that. Been supporting trinikings and soca on demand for 1 year now and i cant complain. $40 by the door, thats what you was ####################ing about, please. For a event like soca on demand you cant go wrong it was the 2nd anniversary dude, and labor day weekend. Your not from brooklyn right. Sorry to say you poperly didnt get a wine or was the was the dude that got put out screaming he will done this event and f trinikings. lol that shit was funny yo, i cant front i was laughing.. But for real though i am sorry you had a bad ass time, you should of come with us, we were in front having a ball. I know i you feel you on about not having a good time after spending your money like that, cuz we all been there and done that with other events, but that's life 4 ya what yuh would do stop partying. Yuh can't stress about those small ass things my friend. The heat in there always hot, but that's understandable, about 800- 1000 people dancing to soca, what yuh think you will get c'mon now be real.. But hey next time you know soca on demand in not your cup of tea, you should of gone to caribbean city, they had reggea vs soca there and properly was more in your price rang i think, i bet you would of had a good night there. But as far as for me, it was a wonderful night yet again at soca on demand. Love it up to the max... BIG UP TRINIKINGS FOR DOING IT YET AGAIN.. cant wait for watless in black halloween edition. |
Enjoyin 5 Yrs On De Mix
Well um if any1 cares, I had a good time :)
Waist Line Shots
Well #1 u cant blame trinikings for the ac that is on the base. #2 if u got ur tix earlier it was only $20. #3 Redman biggin up only t&t is on him not the promoter. #4 the bar has nothing to do with them so if the base want to charge $4 thats on the base not the promoter. Big up Trinikings on their 2yrs in the game. I had a blast last nite and who didnt I am sorry for u. |
Hell yeah lastnight was off the hook, need i say more.
I don't know about u or anyone else, but soca on demand was swanky like fack. That shit is grantee sell off no matter what, so lastnight was nothing with the price. We all know that's the price @ the door every month after 2:30 duh.. PLUS KEY WORD 2ND YEAR ANNI, MAJOR DUH. PLUS ADVANCE WAS JUST $20, WHAT THE HELL IS UP WITH U. So dont play u coming on imix 2 disrespect Trinikings cuz we not having it King steve is a swell guy and if u wanted a deal he would have given u 1, if thats 1 thing i know Trinikings does. And they aint greedy cause they have the biggest soca cast by the river and it's only $20 in advance, unlike other artist events 4 the labor day weekend. But u didnt notice that right, i bet not. But u so will only focus on the bad and bring down the event and the promoter like that, u can give your opinion yes, but give a fair 1. Soca on Demand is a brand name event and it's 100% soca, what u think u would get some mavado. STUEPS But because u never been 2 sod and it was ur 1st 1 why u so acting so, anway thats your opinion and u don't know better and i will respect that. I can understand u went atleast 2x but damn u all wrong with that 1 there. It's been like 20 something soca on demand so far and u complainning about 1lmfao u is a true clown, a true clown, u people good yes. Well i work hard 4 my money, and it was money well spent. so let me come off my sidekick and save my battery from this shit talk. |