Old 03-28-2009, 12:11 AM   #1 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
Soca Concerts and your wallets

With hard times hitting the world's economy in the wallets and the demand for certain soca artist is getting harder to get because of their price tag they bring. Is it still worth it to partake in these soca concerts when the start price is $40+ before the door.. I ask this because I was debating with one of my friends. Before me he was never really into soca until I had a bad influence in his life with soca music. Add Soca on Demand to his life and him and soca music was a perfect marriage. However I'm trying to get him to look at Soca fetes differently other then what he experience in Soca on Demand. Being that most of his experience in Soca fete mostly came out of SOD. To bring him out of a certain type of ignorance when spending money to see certain types of acts. He can't get the fact or he doesn't see the point to see for example....5 DJs, 5 big named artist and maybe 5 big named bands and the starting price is about $30 - $40.

I call him cheap because he using the economy as en excuse why not to pay that type of money. I told him you can't put a price tag on happiness or a fun time or day. And since the beginning, since I've took him under my wing and borough him to the land of Soca showed him things that Manhattan clubs can only tease or dream about, Showed him how brooklyn can get down. He has been to wet fete 08, almost 7 or 8 SODs, New Years at Black out....I think that whats it call. Before anything I gave him the pros and cons of each artists because I've seen what they can do and how well they can mash up crowds. Plus I nagged his ass to go to 1st taste of Soca earlier this month. Yet when I talk about The big bands of Godfathers Asylum, Machel' HD band, Red Hot Flames as an example and how because its not like SOD $15 early bird tix he feels its to much if the starting price is at $30 or $40. But I said to him you can save little by little no one said you have to spend all that money at one shot if you are not ready to spend it. Plus with most of the bigger names you will have time to save up before seeing them at a show.

So I as you Imix....is it worth it... Should he skip the experience of seeing Guys like Shurwayne or Bunji or even Machel in concert even if he has never seen any of them in concert and is guaranteed a good ass time. Or should should stick to his cheap ways of SODing it and and what ever cheap fetes he can get. Is it to much to ask.....This topic can fit in almost everyone's life right now....To see your fav artist with money being tight would you risk it too take on a fete?
Old 04-02-2009, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 5,883
If he never get a true concert vybe u cyah blame him cause he dont know what he missing. Now i say a goooood concert vybe not no rookie artist singing over a dj track.
Old 04-02-2009, 08:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
SOCA OR DIE

Credits: 16,260
I'll surely pay $30-$75 USD to see 2 to 4 LIVE BANDS- maybe $100 depending on the line up
For shows $100 and up- i would need to see a group of LIVE BANDS plus drinks inclusive and maybe some food
truth is you go to Manhattan or Miami or even some places in ATL or DC and you pay $60-$100 for a night out for drinks, parking, door cover, and what have you- might as well stay in on the regular (avoid de weekly night clubs) and then hit either monthlies, big fetes and carnivals when they come round
Old 04-02-2009, 08:51 PM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by soca control View Post
i'll surely pay $30-$75 usd to see 2 to 4 live bands- maybe $100 depending on the line up
for shows $100 and up- i would need to see a group of live bands plus drinks inclusive and maybe some food
truth is you go to manhattan or miami or even some places in atl or dc and you pay $60-$100 for a night out for drinks, parking, door cover, and what have you- might as well stay in on the regular (avoid de weekly night clubs) and then hit either monthlies, big fetes and carnivals when they come round
makes sense
Old 04-04-2009, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Soca Junkie

Credits: 1,050
Question Why you so hard headed

I keep telling you that it is up to him...you cant force it...if he was from a soca/calypso background then I can understand you trying to make him embrace the culture...but like we did with Mo...we took him to Wet fete plus a couple of others and he enjoyed the artist then wanted more...on the other hand, with this kid... has not gotten to that level yet and I dont think he ever will...all you can do is tell him how much of a good time you had and it was worth every penny...once he starts sitting at home and listening to soca on a regular basis like hip hop and reggae then you are on the right path...until then...dont worry yourself
Old 04-04-2009, 05:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Originally Posted by ludacris81 View Post
I keep telling you that it is up to him...you cant force it...if he was from a soca/calypso background then I can understand you trying to make him embrace the culture...but like we did with Mo...we took him to Wet fete plus a couple of others and he enjoyed the artist then wanted more...on the other hand, with this kid... has not gotten to that level yet and I dont think he ever will...all you can do is tell him how much of a good time you had and it was worth every penny...once he starts sitting at home and listening to soca on a regular basis like hip hop and reggae then you are on the right path...until then...dont worry yourself
True but he has been getting more into it....in fact he's singing so and so songs over the phone...which is funny. But my thing is not to get him in to soca and the whole culture of it I've already done that. My thing is that he don't want him to doubt these people and the hard work they put in thier performance...plus I'm trying to get him to get the whole feel of the soca culture, not just a SOD thing over and over. Things like wet fete, or that 1st taste of soca is just a teases to what craziness can really go down. I just want him to opening up more stead of looking at so and so artist or big band aint worth the money. How can someone be not worth something if he aint even seen them... My mission is just to get him in if he likes these big bands and what they bring then its up to him after.
Old 04-04-2009, 05:38 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bklynpsycho View Post
True but he has been getting more into it....in fact he's singing so and so songs over the phone...which is funny. But my thing is not to get him in to soca and the whole culture of it I've already done that. My thing is that he don't want him to doubt these people and the hard work they put in thier performance...plus I'm trying to get him to get the whole feel of the soca culture, not just a SOD thing over and over. Things like wet fete, or that 1st taste of soca is just a teases to what craziness can really go down. I just want him to opening up more stead of looking at so and so artist or big band aint worth the money. How can someone be not worth something if he aint even seen them... My mission is just to get him in if he likes these big bands and what they bring then its up to him after.
SEEMS LIKE SOD IS LIKE HAVING SEX WITH A CONDOM ALL YUH LIFE AND NEVER EXPERIENCE THE REAL TING.WELL U CYAH BLAME HIM, ALOT OF THE YOUNGSTERS IN BKLYN WHO NOW STARTED PARTYING DONT KNOW WHAT LIVE SOCA SOUNDS LIKE SINCE THE LIVE SCENE IN BKLYN SLOWED DOWN LAST 3YEARS.
Old 04-10-2009, 01:49 AM   #8 (permalink)
Mr. Desir

Credits: 800
Originally Posted by bklynpsycho View Post
With hard times hitting the world's economy in the wallets and the demand for certain soca artist is getting harder to get because of their price tag they bring. Is it still worth it to partake in these soca concerts when the start price is $40+ before the door.. I ask this because I was debating with one of my friends. Before me he was never really into soca until I had a bad influence in his life with soca music. Add Soca on Demand to his life and him and soca music was a perfect marriage. However I'm trying to get him to look at Soca fetes differently other then what he experience in Soca on Demand. Being that most of his experience in Soca fete mostly came out of SOD. To bring him out of a certain type of ignorance when spending money to see certain types of acts. He can't get the fact or he doesn't see the point to see for example....5 DJs, 5 big named artist and maybe 5 big named bands and the starting price is about $30 - $40.

I call him cheap because he using the economy as en excuse why not to pay that type of money. I told him you can't put a price tag on happiness or a fun time or day. And since the beginning, since I've took him under my wing and borough him to the land of Soca showed him things that Manhattan clubs can only tease or dream about, Showed him how brooklyn can get down. He has been to wet fete 08, almost 7 or 8 SODs, New Years at Black out....I think that whats it call. Before anything I gave him the pros and cons of each artists because I've seen what they can do and how well they can mash up crowds. Plus I nagged his ass to go to 1st taste of Soca earlier this month. Yet when I talk about The big bands of Godfathers Asylum, Machel' HD band, Red Hot Flames as an example and how because its not like SOD $15 early bird tix he feels its to much if the starting price is at $30 or $40. But I said to him you can save little by little no one said you have to spend all that money at one shot if you are not ready to spend it. Plus with most of the bigger names you will have time to save up before seeing them at a show.

So I as you Imix....is it worth it... Should he skip the experience of seeing Guys like Shurwayne or Bunji or even Machel in concert even if he has never seen any of them in concert and is guaranteed a good ass time. Or should should stick to his cheap ways of SODing it and and what ever cheap fetes he can get. Is it to much to ask.....This topic can fit in almost everyone's life right now....To see your fav artist with money being tight would you risk it too take on a fete?
For me....it all depends on what my pockets are saying. I'd love to see all the bands in the soca world, but I'm not going broke for it. Some people have bills, kids, or other needs that their money needs to attend to, and nowadays people are being laid off left and right and its hard to find work (Trust me I'm looking for a job like CRAZY!!!!! Over 3 months now....)

So with that, I won't pay more than $40 for a concert unless I get some inclusives or its a bus ride where I can bring liqour and all....times are hard and honestly, fetes are the farthest from my mind.

And bklynpsycho...the only way for your friend to really enjoy the soca culture is to take him to T&T or Barbados during Carnival or Cropover for him to really get his moneys worth...just tell him to save up....
Old 04-10-2009, 11:22 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 9,040
If you travel to different Carnivals then it's easy to pick and choose who you would like to see. Many of the major Artists after Trinidad travels to many of the major carnivals to promote. Seeing Machel at MSG does'nt compare to you seeing him in Trinidad or Miami. Paying 60 dollars versus 30 is a big difference, which could be cover money to another fete. So for instance an artist like Machel i know i'm going to see in Miami, so any concert he puts on and there is another artist who's concert is the same night; i'll put my money toward that artist i don't get to see often. The only way i'll probably see an artist twice is if there is someone else on the bill i want to see perform. It's always about research and planning. Sometimes it backfires if the artist does'nt show up; but then plan b kicks in on getting my moneys worth which equates in how many girls i can thief a whine from

But you got to admit...SOD is the ultimate cardio workout. I love the vibes in SOD If any of the promoters are viewing this post: MAKE SURE YOU HAVE THINGS STRAIGHT FOR MIAMI SOD....IN MIAMI! NOT FT LAUDERDALE...
Old 04-13-2009, 04:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Originally Posted by Mr. Slackness View Post

And bklynpsycho...the only way for your friend to really enjoy the soca culture is to take him to T&T or Barbados during Carnival or Cropover for him to really get his moneys worth...just tell him to save up....
True and I hear what you are say how I remember we had a talk about something as simple as Caribana in Toronto and he even question about the prices that we paid to get into for example "Fire Fete". Now I know the prices for such a show a jump really big but thankfully I have family that lives up there and my cousin can pic up tickets early as possible. But the earliest ends up still being $40 or so. I'm trying to get that mind frame to not think that a cheap fête ain't going always be the best thing plus tell where you can enjoy a cheap fête around Caribana that can still give the goods on the same level as Fire Fete? You're not really gonna find it that easy. If he's not one the same page as Caribana what makes you think Carnival in BIM or TNT will help?
Old 04-13-2009, 11:42 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 9,040
^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Sheeshhh! Trinidad fete prices continues to go up everyyear so don't even think about Trinidad because 40 dollars can't even get you past the gate. How about another 80 dollars on that for Beach house, Sunnyside up, and Other exclusive parties.
Old 04-14-2009, 02:04 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 2,883
I'd rather see one really good band w/ 2-3 solo artists with 2 really good dj's vs 5 bands, 10 solo acts, 5 dj's. Quality over quantity. If I getting quality, money isn't so much an issue.