Old 07-25-2008, 10:28 AM   #1 (permalink)

kassav' in DC last night

Great show even though the sound was muddy. Kassav brought a full band of 3 brassmen, 2 dancers/back-up singers and percussionists. The African and Caribbean women were sweet as usual and the Dominicans were well represented. The nature isle people waved dey flags all night long. I'll post some pics as soon as mih find the usb cable fuh mih camera.
Old 07-25-2008, 10:35 AM   #2 (permalink)

They'll be in Queens tonight and then Boston, Toronto and Montreal.
Old 07-25-2008, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ken_yatta View Post
Great show even though the sound was muddy. Kassav brought a full band of 3 brassmen, 2 dancers/back-up singers and percussionists. The African and Caribbean women were sweet as usual and the Dominicans were well represented. The nature isle people waved dey flags all night long. I'll post some pics as soon as mih find the usb cable fuh mih camera.
yeah they were in st.kitts a month ago tear up the place hard!!! first time i ever see them perform they are one of my influence
Old 07-25-2008, 11:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
SupaCalaFragilistik

You find the sound was muddy?? I'm not sure what that means, but I thought they sounded great, and I've heard them play several times. The acoustics in the club were very good.
And yeah, Kassav always rolls with their full band. Their brassline and percussions are always wicked. The man on the congos was impressive.
Great show Kassav.. the Lucians represented as well!
Old 07-25-2008, 01:34 PM   #5 (permalink)

Where was the show?

Damn... and I passing thru tomorrow too. They coulda play over de weekend instead man.
Old 07-25-2008, 01:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
SupaCalaFragilistik

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Where was the show?

Damn... and I passing thru tomorrow too. They coulda play over de weekend instead man.
The show was at 9:30 Club. It was not very well promoted at all, but had a decent turnout for a Thursday night.

In NY the show is Saturday at Amazura in Queens.
Old 07-25-2008, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by MuSiQuE View Post
The show was at 9:30 Club. It was not very well promoted at all, but had a decent turnout for a Thursday night.

In NY the show is Saturday at Amazura in Queens.
Oh okay... 9:30 club is ah boss venue, but usually cater tuh de bohemian/indie crowd.
Old 07-25-2008, 02:45 PM   #8 (permalink)

You find the sound was muddy?? I'm not sure what that means, but I thought they sounded great, and I've heard them play several times. The acoustics in the club were very good.
And yeah, Kassav always rolls with their full band. Their brassline and percussions are always wicked. The man on the congos was impressive.

I heard too much bass from where I was standing. The horns sounded good, but the other instruments were drownded out except the bass. The percussionist was excellent!
Old 07-25-2008, 03:01 PM   #9 (permalink)

Kassav' founding members Jacob and Georges Decimus.

Wukking up to the ka drum

Dominicans REPRESENT!

Jean Phillippe up front

Jean Claude on keys

Man on ka

Old 07-25-2008, 03:09 PM   #10 (permalink)

Last time i saw kassav dey only had a small band due to visa restrictions.
Old 07-25-2008, 03:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
SupaCalaFragilistik

I heard too much bass from where I was standing. The horns sounded good, but the other instruments were drownded out except the bass. The percussionist was excellent!
You must have been one of those who was right up under them.. lol

Last time i saw kassav dey only had a small band due to visa restrictions.
OK.. well that's really not their norm, but I could understand that. Isn't it amazing how most of the original members are still with the band? These guys been around for about 28yrs. When I looked at them I was saying, they getting old, but can still put on a hell of a performance.

Thanks for posting the pics..
Old 07-25-2008, 04:19 PM   #12 (permalink)

MAN O MAN

Beautiful show
Beautiful music
Beautiful people

WOI.

I'm tired of de small island people asking me what I know about Zouk.
LOL

Most Panas favorite band is Tambou Combo "Mabouya" is dayumn near a national anthem

That concert have me excited about the hatian truck on labor day.

Last edited by Canalero; 07-25-2008 at 04:22 PM.
Old 07-25-2008, 07:57 PM   #13 (permalink)

You must have been one of those who was right up under them.. lol

OK.. well that's really not their norm, but I could understand that. Isn't it amazing how most of the original members are still with the band? These guys been around for about 28yrs. When I looked at them I was saying, they getting old, but can still put on a hell of a performance.

Thanks for posting the pics..
I was thinking that myself. And Jacob looked like he lost alot of weight.
Old 07-25-2008, 08:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ęmρ®ëśš VăńєŞŞâ

I will be at the one in Queens tomorrow...I can't wait!!!
Old 07-26-2008, 12:58 AM   #15 (permalink)

I will be at the one in Toronto.