Old 07-16-2005, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 483
Dc People/ & Who It May Concern

Well my people,. this is a report about DC CARNIVAL in full and what i feel should be done to better it in alot of ways,. some may disagree wid what i have to say and some may agree,. this is free speech time, and Rico has come to put it out in its rawest form, so here goes,...

1st off is de DC CARNIVAL COMMITTEE BODY,... this has been the 13th year for carnival in DC,. and by far de worse in de mas eyes (not de committee's) and by having the parade of bands start at a time that was in some ways, not thinking of de ppl in general that will be out deh playing mas or coming in from other cities,.. for this was a shock in many eyes, i could understand if this was jouvert,. de early time would be understandable, and even welcomed in all eyes,. but this is not jouvert, it is a carnival parade,.. people are still fukin sleeping from de fetes on de past night,. and maybe needing a little rest to recover,. but this was clearly not de case on some minds in de greater body of govern,.. so when alot of ppl did finally reach de road,. de blasted ting was almost done,.. and had some searchin up de road thinkin' maybe it was a hold up wid de bands, come to see de blasted police comin down de road insted,...

ok next on de hit list is, de Page Ranking person or who ever is in charge of getting the carnival out to de mas of people in the city and surrounding areas,....

i see this person or persons,. in a deep sleep or lack of vision about promoting an event of this magnitude,.. i say this in part that, when you get ppl in the host cuty that never even knew it was a carnival or know anything about de carnival, something is seriously wrong,.. this would make one think, that these ppl who should be gettin' de word out, are only walking to de end of deh own front steps, and then turning around, while on de other side of de fence are ppl reaching for info. only to have a door slam in deh face, this is NOT a way to promote something that you want in future years to be massive,. this is a sure way to have what you think to be big, go right down de same drain it came up from,. so tell me what is wrong wid reaching out to a larger community and teaching about carnival and all it has to offer, and to let other rces know that it is ok to join/support/donate/give help,... this is something that should be in schools,. at community board meetings etc,...

but i doh put all de blame on de committee for this short fall, i must bring in de band leaders as well,. for it is deh own mass band that is out deh on de road, so why not go out and let others know about this thing alot hear about but never know about,..

it's alot of ppl right out on de road who would love to be apart of it,. and even one time i had a group of ppl come up to me on de road and ask, is this just a caribbean thing, or how can they be in it and so on,. this hurt me to hear, i had to take time out from filming just to teach them a little on how to go about joining or places to get info., like radio stations and de times to hear caribbean radio,.. its moments like that you can see that de word is NOT getting out,. some are out deh only on chance that deh had been in de area at de time, and just happen to pop on it,.. and de funny thing is, deh live in de city.

for something this big and for ppl living in de same city doh know about it, it cyah be that big.

next, this brings me to de point of, should it be a voting committee on voting in or out board members if things are not running well within a 2 year period, this is something i feel should be looked into,.. and wtf is going on wid all de money that comes from those sponcers ,.. and why not start fund raising soon after one carnival done,.. and not wait until 3 months before carnival to start rushing things out on ppl, you have a full year to get support from others in major ways, not de normal supporters but from new that nmight wanna get in on de action, i'm sure its plenty other organizations out deh that could profit from carnival

Last edited by RicosMixxx; 07-17-2005 at 12:15 AM..
Old 07-20-2005, 01:00 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 221
I think you have valid pts,lets start with DE COMMITTEE, there is no system in place for new members,if so let me know. To me, I see the same people doing the same SHITTE every year, come next year who knows what they will do. If de police tell dem to hop down GEORGIA AVE dey might ask which FOOT.They invite you to their meetings ask for ideas and then tell you what they are going to do,waste ah FUKIN time. Who voted dem in and when is "DE NEXT ELECTION". Band leaders are the ones that make the Carnival possible not the COMMITTEE, think for a sec,you have to be a "MAD MAN OR WHA"(machel) to want to have a band for DC Carnival next year under the present Committee. If DE bandleaders dont make mas, dont pay registration cost, I DONTsee a Carnival. Look at TRINI, thousands ah people playing mas every fukin year in year out. Bandleaders decide where they will meet, although they have a route to follow,if ah band blocking yuh, yuh find ah way around dem or keep yuh arse right dey drink two carib and hush yuh arse, POLICE DOH PUSH YUH A$$ OFF DE ROAD, is de other way around, police in TRINI vex dey have tuh wok dat day. They know what carnival is all about. From what I see DC CARNIVAL COMMITTEE is having a carnival where they are not welcome, I say GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. Miami,New York are the two major Carnivals in the US, yuh telling me none ah dem on dat COMMITTEE have ah phone or know someone to get some "WORKING IDEAS" from. I wonder sometimes if they are doing it for personal gain,yes I said it, "BORBALL". After all these years and dey standing for dat shitte. If dats de case I want to be de PRESIDENT OF DE CARNIVAL COMMITTEE come next year (I HAVE DREAMS DAT NEED TO BE FULLFILLED). I do wish them luck doh, as meh grandmother always say "MONKEY DOH EVER SEE DEY OWN TAIL". And finally to all who vex, I DONT CARE.

Last edited by crackshot; 07-20-2005 at 01:04 AM..