Old 04-17-2004, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 740
Cariculture @ Pace . . . my critique

It was cool. The turn out was decent but the venue was big so it made the crowd look smallish. Bunji did his thing, Gailann was okay, just okay, Baby Cham was EXCELLENT!!!

The DJ played way too much reggae. As a matter of fact all he played was reggae and hip hop. ONE DJ came on later in the night and played ONE soca tune.

I am not a huge reggae fan but once again, Baby Cham's performance was excellent. He is talented lyrically and stage performance is good.

Oh yes, and Cloud XI was good too, although the sound was a little too high and muffled some of the vocals. I enjoyed our infamous Val. Nice vocals.
Old 04-17-2004, 12:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Love Life

Credits: 1,000
Yeah, it was cool, but the crowd wasn't that hyped! They were just in one spot standing, and hardly dancing. To have good artist like that preforming, is mad cool, and it seems like if they did not take advantage of that.
Old 04-17-2004, 12:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Credits: 225
Originally posted by trinipicses
Yeah, it was cool, but the crowd wasn't that hyped! They were just in one spot standing, and hardly dancing. To have good artist like that preforming, is mad cool, and it seems like if they did not take advantage of that.

It seemed to me like people enjoyed the performances. Cloud IX sounded good and Gailann did her thing and Bunji was on point. No one seemed disappointed. I think sometimes we get tie up and think the only time a crowd is enjoying a soca show is when it have wildness and carrying on. But sometimes a crowd can just be vibing an artist or group and taking in what they have to offer and love it without the powder and unneccessary sweatiness.

I think alot of it had to do with the fact that there was no alcohol offered at the show. So that cut down alot of the madness. Everybody know that alcohol and soca go hand in hand. I thought it was refreshing. Drink water and enjoy the blasted show.
Old 04-17-2004, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
He loves me!

Credits: 1,113
Originally posted by GeeDawg
It seemed to me like people enjoyed the performances. Cloud IX sounded good and Gailann did her thing and Bunji was on point. No one seemed disappointed. I think sometimes we get tie up and think the only time a crowd is enjoying a soca show is when it have wildness and carrying on. But sometimes a crowd can just be vibing an artist or group and taking in what they have to offer and love it without the powder and unneccessary sweatiness.

I think alot of it had to do with the fact that there was no alcohol offered at the show. So that cut down alot of the madness. Everybody know that alcohol and soca go hand in hand. I thought it was refreshing. Drink water and enjoy the blasted show.
Old 04-17-2004, 02:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Love Life

what i mean is, in shows like this, with big caribbean artist, normally people put out mad money and sometimes the artist doesn't even show up. So this was a good opportunity to for them to enjoy themselves. And i agree with the liquor part. But they might of go over board with that. Also, Bunji's performance was short and sweet, but fufilling. He sang good songs, Gailann too.

But don't you think that the people were a little too quiet for such a cool event?
Old 04-17-2004, 02:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Love Life

oh yeah, where was the imxers standing at the Pace party?

I was standing on the bleachers close to the stage.
Old 04-17-2004, 03:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
De Winahcologist

Credits: 130
Originally posted by bagolicious

<<<<<<<
Old 04-17-2004, 03:34 PM   #8 (permalink)
Whose YO DADDY..^

Credits: 7,620
Baby Cham was good for me towards the end, reason being since I saw him last year and it was pretty much the same performance except fo0r the end which he added to. But he is a good performer.

Sound engineers should have had the mic situation taken care of sooner.

Cloud 9 was alright. The girl in Cloud 9 sounded the best out of them to me. The female singer in Cloud 9 wanted a little competition, so I sent meh boy on stage to give she a little manners.....lol...when she call yuh know the crew had to respond. The sizzla routine they did mashed up too.

Gail Ann was ok. She wanted competiton too, but meh boy, sorry to say, get kinda shame yes. I mean he kinda stick (he wont be able to live this down for a while). lol

Bunji jus wicked, nuff said. Have everybody doin nose dive...whoy

promblems I saw at the show were...lights, i know a lot of those people were shy with the lights on to really get on. I dont think the DJ's were too experienced with that kind of event. just by the amount of records they brought. I think they could have done better.

But I enjoyed myself

Old 04-17-2004, 04:59 PM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 8,419

u went out??
http://www.shopbop.com/welcome?invitation_code=4242223MG8R
http://www.beyondtherack.com/member/invite/B1206249
Old 04-17-2004, 05:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
For the Love of Music!!!

Credits: 225
Originally posted by bunjigarlindarlin
u went out??
Yeah, Can u believe it?
Old 04-17-2004, 05:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Pimptress

Old 04-17-2004, 06:05 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 29,885
a bunch of soft core soca lovers dat dere.. i trying to rush to the left to the right man just standing straight infront of me.

blocking me wehhhhhh

and worse yet i had my flag and still do rep dominica nuh

i wanted snake oil..
Old 04-18-2004, 12:14 PM   #13 (permalink)
Empress at large

Credits: 740
I think that a few things set the somewhat tame atmosphere:

1. College venue
2. No alcohol
3. Lights
4. Reggae/hip hop DJ

I agree with Geedawg though. I enjoyed listening to the performances and don't think it is necessary to always carry on wild and get sweaty.

Congrats to my alma mater at keeping Cariculture alive and to the board of the Caribbean Students Association for a succesful show.

All in all I feel like I got much more than my $10 worth.
Old 04-18-2004, 12:45 PM   #14 (permalink)
Pimpin' eh E-Z...

Credits: 37,531
Didn't go....

But from when i see that the D.J. was "Stainless" ( if i'm right) I knew not to expect much from that feature.

You can't Bring A Jamiacan Reggae Set to a Soca theme show. Especially a set that Plays in the Bronx...Ain't no Soca poppin' in the Bronx aka "New Kingston". that was a big problem at the Binghamton C.S.A event..the members used to give they neighborhood Bredrens the Gigs'. Who were Clashin' sounds, not Jugglers. Too much talk, and hardly any music.

But, for a $10 I feel allyuh still get your moneys worth.
Old 04-18-2004, 01:37 PM   #15 (permalink)
KingBea....

Credits: 3,775
Re: Cariculture @ Pace . . . my critique

Originally posted by Mrs_Scorpion
It was cool. The turn out was decent but the venue was big so it made the crowd look smallish. Bunji did his thing, Gailann was okay, just okay, Baby Cham was EXCELLENT!!!

The DJ played way too much reggae. As a matter of fact all he played was reggae and hip hop. ONE DJ came on later in the night and played ONE soca tune.

I am not a huge reggae fan but once again, Baby Cham's performance was excellent. He is talented lyrically and stage performance is good.

Oh yes, and Cloud XI was good too, although the sound was a little too high and muffled some of the vocals. I enjoyed our infamous Val. Nice vocals.

So you mean the one function you go all year and I miss it dred. What, world not fear... well I'll check you later....