Old 07-14-2009, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 418
Exclamation Caribana Friday Fetes

Hi

I am unsure which fête to go to on the Friday before Caribana, so I would like to hear from people in the know which they recommend. If possible, I'd like to be able to buy my tickets tomorrow as prices climb with time!

Fetes:
Shine
Jouvert
Heat and Foam

Thanks in advance
Old 07-17-2009, 11:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
THE AMERICAN SOCA LOVER.

Credits: 1,302
Im mad yours is up before mines

I started a thread similar to yours but they aint approve it yet. Anyway. I have no idea where the j'ouvert party is at but i have tickets for it. Im getting thursday. But saturday im just doing the parade. Sunday i will be at fire fete. U can also go to to torontolime.com. And they have a list of everything all events going on
Old 07-18-2009, 11:41 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 4,313
Originally Posted by socasoca View Post
Hi

I am unsure which fête to go to on the Friday before Caribana, so I would like to hear from people in the know which they recommend. If possible, I'd like to be able to buy my tickets tomorrow as prices climb with time!

Fetes:
Shine
Jouvert
Heat and Foam Don't bother

Thanks in advance
As for the other 2, it depends on whether or not you want to hear soca artists or not. Shine is a DJ party only I believe, whereas Jouvert has DJ's and artists.

You can't go wrong with Jouvert that's for sure, always a good fete. Hope that helps.

By the way, try and ask the Moderater to move this thread to carnival central or backchat so you get more replies, cause I never come in here, it's only by accident I saw it.
Old 07-19-2009, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Soca Psycho

Credits: 4,737
You can't go wrong with Kos Jouvet. Dr. Jay has been doing a great job with it. It your basic, mud, paint, wet fête all rolled into one. The crowed is always hot and the music is always on point. The artist they bring in is alway good. For example they had Destra, Nadia Batson, Kes the band, Maximus Dan, Farm P, Iwer George, Problem Child, Skinny Fabolous, and Zolah last year. Berice was on the card but he had passport issues. I could put pictures up but later when I get a change I'm gonna come back with video of the wet fête half of the party. Like MKD said they are changing the venue but if I know these people and how crazy things are up there in T. dot. No matter where it goes now this year it will still be crazy.

Last edited by bklynpsycho; 07-19-2009 at 01:09 PM..
Old 07-20-2009, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)

Thanks a lot. Now it looks like it's clear that I should go J'ouvert the party. I love meh artistes performing so that is a plus.

But on the topic of Jouvert, are there any bands to play J'ouvert with in TO?
Old 07-20-2009, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)

Thanks a lot. Now it looks like it's clear that I should go J'ouvert the party. I love meh artistes performing so that is a plus.

No we don't unfortunately.......the best you can do is maybe join the blue devils group on the Saturday.....not sure where or how you join though.

For all those interested, another party has been addded for Friday night entitled Soca or Die. Dr Jay is part of this party as well and it will have plenty of artists performing there as well. So if you don't get into J'ouvert, then this is a pretty good alternative.

Hope all of you coming enjoy your stay, minus the garbage issue of course.
Old 07-20-2009, 11:21 PM   #7 (permalink)

Nice. But I seeing now tickets for Jouvert sold out!!!

ISH!!!

I wish I had someone in Canada to get me a ticket. I can't stand to pay the $8 in shipping to the US. That is madness. In fact the tickets not available for online or in person purchases... ARGH!!!!

Have any more info on soca or die? not seeing it at clubcrawlers.com where I see kos jouvert
Old 07-21-2009, 02:03 AM   #8 (permalink)

Nice. But I seeing now tickets for Jouvert sold out!!!

ISH!!!

I wish I had someone in Canada to get me a ticket. I can't stand to pay the $8 in shipping to the US. That is madness. In fact the tickets not available for online or in person purchases... ARGH!!!!

Have any more info on soca or die? not seeing it at clubcrawlers.com where I see kos jouvert
Sorry to hear that. That's why he's doing the Soca or Die party, cause there will be A LOT of disappointed people. If you're desperste, I guess you could try and buy it off of someone when you get here, but it'll cost ya for sure.

He only announced this party Sunday, so the promo stuff hasn't gone out yet I guess.

If you're on Facebook type Dr Jay de Soca Prince in the search box and that will take you to his fan page which will have the info.

Try clubcrawlers again, it should be there now. If that doesn't work try drjayonline.com

There's also the all white party called GLOW on Friday as well.
Old 07-23-2009, 03:15 PM   #9 (permalink)

well I have my Soca or Die ticket. I relieved. It's a really nice lineup of artistes; I look forward to it!
Old 07-23-2009, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)

well I have my Soca or Die ticket. I relieved. It's a really nice lineup of artistes; I look forward to it!
It should be just as good as J'ouvert. Enjoy your stay
Old 07-27-2009, 11:07 PM   #11 (permalink)

Best we have is the blue devils. If you're still interested check out Blue Devil Mas.com
Old 07-29-2009, 09:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
mi rhatid!

Credits: 363
Soca or Die

Dr. Jay also just announce he is doing a Soca or Die on Friday, there will be artists there and it should be good as Dr. Jays stuff are usually decent.