Credits: 9,859
Are you at work or home????
Ok my job have this co-op program with the high school and now these children don't have no sense of direction.....
Now why one walking around in socks, the other have she stomach hanging out, should I continue........ They need help...... Anyone with younger siblings entering the work force please tell them about acceptable dressing in the work place...... |
Credits: 12,438
RE: Are you at work or home????
This is why I urge everyone to become a mentor...
Often the reason these kids are like this is because they don't have anybody to show them what is appropriate or what isn't.... [font color = red][font size = 4] [b] "Where there's a will, I want to be in it." [/font] |
where are the parents or family members to show them what's appropriate??? I would be so embarrassed if my child look like that in a business environment. :o
Credits: 111
MAYBE IT IS THE PEOPLE WHO HIRED THEM. BECAUSE I KNOW THAT THE DRESS COSE IS ONE OF THE FIRST THINGS YOU ARE INFORMED OF WHEN YOU START A NEW JOB. WHERE DO YOU WORK THAT THE HAVE NOT ENFORCED A PROPER DRESS CODE?
Credits: 12,438
Am,
sometimes, the parents/family members don't know any better themselves. That is exactly why those kids are out there looking like that because they don't have any role models to look to. I'm sure most of them think its appropriate to dress that way because they see their parent dressing like that. One day about 3 years ago, I saw this Jamaican girl I knew in a bathing suit with some daisy duke jeans shorts and open-toed sandals wid straps going all up to her knees. She said she was on her way to some hotel for an interview to work as a cleaning lady. I almost choked. At the time she had two daughters -- 6 & 3!! [font color = red][font size = 4] [b] "Where there's a will, I want to be in it." [/font] |
:o topclass! I guess I was just assuming the parents had any common sense! :)
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Weakness fuh Sweetness
Credits: 79,291
That don't mean nothing to some people. Some of our inters dressed like they are goin to the club or gonna work on the corner. Even after giving the dress code speel (with pictures mind you), they still dressed like that. The worst part is that I work in HR.
Lets just say that they don't work here anymore. As a result, the others shaped up. Make an example of one or two and hope that the others get it. Most parents aren't even home to see what their kids dress like, and the others don't really care so I wouldn't depend on them to do it. But just be careful because some parents will actually justify thier kids doing it because they don't want anyone telling their kids anything. |
Old School Member
Credits: 4,375
Just pull them aside and be frank w/ them. "This is not appropriate attire for a professional environment"
If they don't understand, show then what professional attire looks like, by using someone as an example. |
Former IMIX POSTER Child
Credits: 20,627
all i know is my parents would ah blaze meh tail, furthermore, it wouldn't even be in my mind to dress or carry on so, cuz i KNOW they would blaze meh tail! when i put on jeans to go out on a saturday night, my father does be like, "is so you goin? is ah saturday night yuh know? not me, you doh have a 'chicers'(chic-ers) book like me" (he is a trip!) worse if it's work, can you imagine how he would carry on? those young people at your work have no brought-upsy sss!
nb- he claims up to this day that he have a "chic-ers book", a book he write on fashion cuz he so sharp! an' people must consult it for tips! :o all now ah eh see de book...my sis an i tell him it need updatin, cuz he stale... (http://dictionary.msn.com/find/entry.asp?search=chic):) |
Former IMIX POSTER Child
Credits: 20,627
most likely they're at work, poor parents, oblivious to the crap their kids are doing while they're at work. an' now we talkin' bout dem in imix!!
lol :) your dad sound like real kix!