Like Tree34Likes

Old 05-09-2012, 11:03 AM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 216,497
Originally Posted by Georgeflash View Post
The Trini equivalent to Dancehall is Duncehall? You guys have huge Duncehalls then from what I hear.

That's what happens when you try to replicate something that you all are not intellectually capable of.
yuh right, Jamaicans ahead right now, dey done start to pelt bottles at dey ass on stage arready. I hope we get to dat point soon so dey illiterate, violent asses doh come back with dey pidgin filth
Old 05-09-2012, 11:26 AM   #32 (permalink)

Credits: 184,506
Originally Posted by Steupz View Post
None of these brutes listens to Chopin or Rudder, that's for sure. And it has been reported that there is a surge in criminality the week before a duncehall concert.
and is there a surge in slu77ery before carnival and fete???

The enemy of my enemy is my friend- Arabic proverb

Old 05-09-2012, 11:27 AM   #33 (permalink)

Credits: 216,497
Originally Posted by Missmayling View Post
and is there a surge in slu77ery before carnival and fete???
Yes, iz rell Jamaicans does come to play mas
Old 05-09-2012, 11:33 AM   #34 (permalink)
Peace Love n Pretty Tings

Credits: 234,709
you really make me smh sometimes, Stuepz

"Twats you people be" - Chinks

"Don't try to win over the haters, you're not the jackass whisperer."

Some people get you and some people don’t, and to spend your life trying to make people understand how deep and complex and varied you are — I think that way lies madness - K. Blanchett

"The leopard's stealthy gait is not a result of cowardice; it is simply stalking a prey." (Do not mistake people's gentle nature for spinelessness) - Yoruba Proverb

Old 05-09-2012, 11:36 AM   #35 (permalink)
Get your passport & come!

Credits: 195,150
Originally Posted by BRIAN View Post
... WE all ONE FAMALEE
(Part of a worldwide Reggae report)
After living in Jamaica for 3 years, I initially thought that returning home to Trinidad would be a culture shock, having fallen deeply in love with Jamaican food, culture and music. However, after being home for a few days, I started to question whether I had ever left Jamaica at all. If it wasn't for the long plane ride, I could have been fooled.

Everywhere I went, pieces of Jamaica bombarded me. The majority of radio stations played dancehall, with some stations even dedicating entire days to 'celebrate dancehall culture'. It was the same situation at the local clubs. And don't make the mistake of thinking that the songs I was hearing were somehow outdated due to distance. Songs produced in Jamaica were getting airplay in Trinidad within 2 to 3 days of their release in Jamaica.

At first I was surprised at how quickly Trinidadians lapped up anything Jamaican, but it soon started to make sense. As a country whose major musical production was soca during December and February, what were we supposed to listen to for the rest of the year? The dancehall trend is further fuelled by the never-ending stream of Jamaican artistes who fly in for shows on a weekly basis. Beenie-man, Busy Signal and Jah Cure are our most frequent imports.

As any follower of Jamaican culture can tell you, the music cannot come without the dances. We in Trinidad are all too happy to copy any dance that comes out of Jamaica. In any club you could find people "swagging", dancing to Vybz Kartel's 'Summertime", or even some older ones like daggering and signaling the plane. But I did wonder how we knew what dance to do. That's easy! A local channel has a weekly show dedicated to highlighting the latest dance crazes out of Jamaica. We're never out of the loop.

The adoption of all things Jamaican was even evident in food. Most supermarkets stock at least 2 brands of Jamaican Patties, and one of our most popular hangout spots, Ariapita Avenue in Port of Spain, even boasts a pan chicken man. Needless to say, he and I quickly became friends.

The Caribbean has had its political, and traditional rivalries, but in Trinidad and all over the rest of the Eastern Caribbean it has become clear that Jamaican music sews us all together. Many countries even feature popular reggae songs and rhythyms in their tourism campaigns. Young and old relate to reggae and dancehall music, which is rooted in our shared Afro-Caribbean history. Perhaps we can find other this to agree on as well.

I hope that the Jamaicans don't mind that we borrow from them so often, as we adopt their culture as if it were our own. In any case dancehall and reggae have filled a very necessary gap in our musical calender. A heartfelt thank you to Jamaica for providing us with entertainment outside of the soca season.

...Oh, yuh welcome Jenise...anytime. Come back again, yuh 'ear.

Trinidad Reggae Global Report - Jamaicansmusic.com
and yet to hear the Trini imixers tell it, they barely notice us.

effing DEADDDDD hahahahahahahhahahahaa

And um, it would be nice if they import other aspects of our culture as well. Like tourist customer service, and not ramping wid people money...

Why has it become so fascinating though, to the point where it displaces your own music on the radio? All that money unuh seh unuh have why not just fly out to Ja to take in shows and do our all inclusives (the parties, not the resorts)?

Who has eyes to see, let them see...

Old 05-09-2012, 11:39 AM   #36 (permalink)

Very good article. It supports what I've said all along that Jamaican culture is the bedrock of the Caribbean. Our music is that magical fiber that binds people together.

The other noise coming from the Caribbean is more about decadence.
and since when you don't LOVE decadence?

Oh I'm sorry only when you're not the start, middle, and end of it, a suh?

lols.

Old 05-09-2012, 11:43 AM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 184,506
and what type of music do they play at mas???

The enemy of my enemy is my friend- Arabic proverb

Old 05-09-2012, 11:44 AM   #38 (permalink)

yes those uptown Jamaicans who come to play mas bring dem crime with them

Some people get you and some people don’t, and to spend your life trying to make people understand how deep and complex and varied you are — I think that way lies madness - K. Blanchett

"The leopard's stealthy gait is not a result of cowardice; it is simply stalking a prey." (Do not mistake people's gentle nature for spinelessness) - Yoruba Proverb

Old 05-09-2012, 11:45 AM   #39 (permalink)
Himix Raysiss

Credits: 911,757
Originally Posted by Brownilus View Post
and yet to hear the Trini imixers tell it, they barely notice us.

effing DEADDDDD hahahahahahahhahahahaa

And um, it would be nice if they import other aspects of our culture as well. Like tourist customer service, and not ramping wid people money...

Why has it become so fascinating though, to the point where it displaces your own music on the radio? All that money unuh seh unuh have why not just fly out to Ja to take in shows and do our all inclusives (the parties, not the resorts)?
We don't need to because

1. people like you will still come back
2. we are not reliant on tourism for the country to make money
3. we don't kiss nobody ass fuh nutten.

So if yuh doh like de customer service jess doh go back. But doh keep tawkin bout it caw it eh changin! As for flying to Jamaica to go shows lmao. You must really feel they care that much. If the artists aren't brought down no one will die yuh kno. Trini people party because we love partying and will go shows because they available simple as that. Look how much people spent to see Beyonce, yuh feel any of them give enough of ah shit to fly anywhere to go see her? Nice try with the financial dig but it fail bad doh.
Socapro and ladyrastafari like this.

Blakk homan mi seh!! Mi luv mi empress, mi rayt mih hempress, nuh odda homan ina di werl coulda eva come tess mih hafrican queen, she ah di sweetess! Blakk oman yuh ah di bess!!

Old 05-09-2012, 11:48 AM   #40 (permalink)

Credits: 167,438
Originally Posted by Brownilus View Post
and since when you don't LOVE decadence?

Oh I'm sorry only when you're not the start, middle, and end of it, a suh?

lols.
Mi change ROFL ROFL

Humans Against Trade Embargoes Tactically Neutralizing Trinindad

Old 05-09-2012, 11:55 AM   #41 (permalink)

Credits: 167,438
Originally Posted by Big Bo$$ View Post
You full ah shit. Bunji, MX Prime, Ziggy or even Swappi could destroy half or more of your dancehall artists on stage whether lyrically or performance wise so just stop dat asshole talk one time cocksucka!
Seem like you have taken leave of your senses.

What is the current market for those "performers" outside of Trinidad? Bunji a cord white people tie round dem ankle and di ungle Ziggy I know does not whine up whine up pon stage.

Nobody knows Soca artist (apart from Kevin Little) and nobody cares ROFL.

I am going be magnanimous. When people big up dancehall, as they inexplicably will, I will allow you to call it Caribbean music suh yuh feel included. OK?

Humans Against Trade Embargoes Tactically Neutralizing Trinindad

Old 05-09-2012, 12:00 PM   #42 (permalink)
Girl Crush

Credits: 486,623
Seem like you have taken leave of your senses.

What is the current market for those "performers" outside of Trinidad? Bunji a cord white people tie round dem ankle and di ungle Ziggy I know does not whine up whine up pon stage.

Nobody knows Soca artist (apart from Kevin Little) and nobody cares ROFL.

I am going be magnanimous. When people big up dancehall, as they inexplicably will, I will allow you to call it Caribbean music suh yuh feel included. OK?
mz_JazE and Mr. Friday like this.

Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 05-09-2012, 12:08 PM   #43 (permalink)

Credits: 14,946
Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
fockin DEAD! hahahaha
Old 05-09-2012, 12:09 PM   #44 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
this made me pee a little

Old 05-09-2012, 12:11 PM   #45 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Big Bo$$ View Post
We don't need to because

1. people like you will still come back
2. we are not reliant on tourism for the country to make money
3. we don't kiss nobody ass fuh nutten.

So if yuh doh like de customer service jess doh go back. But doh keep tawkin bout it caw it eh changin! As for flying to Jamaica to go shows lmao. You must really feel they care that much. If the artists aren't brought down no one will die yuh kno. Trini people party because we love partying and will go shows because they available simple as that. Look how much people spent to see Beyonce, yuh feel any of them give enough of ah shit to fly anywhere to go see her? Nice try with the financial dig but it fail bad doh.
You all kiss backside for things that don't matter please.

The only reason I was back is because due to the lack of organization, customer service, and 21st century progressiveness over there, I am able to to ACCIDENTALLY turn helping people make sense of the nonsense way carnival is handled into a side business. And it's because I'm Jamaican and have the previously mentioned sense of customer service and progressive mentality on handling business that that even works.

Otherwise trust, I'd have been cool with experiencing it once and moving on. It's great, don't get me wrong, but if one day I feel like not planning people ting again, I don't NEED to, DYING to, go.

Customer service should be there even just so simply so you don't have TRINIS whining about how horrible the customer service is...and so you all can stop complaining that everything your country has to offer is being overshadowed by...Jamaica...and people's ignorance of what you have to offer...tourism is not just about a resort...customer service is not just about foreigners...

anyway, this thread don't need to get that deep...although if it was soca playing 24/7 on Jamaica's radio like that, I'm sure you all would be going wild in here trying to prove how much we love you...