Old 01-16-2012, 03:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Potty Mouth

Credits: 61,707
Why dont we adopt?

My friend and I were just talking about this, and between us we only know 2 black foster parents. With so many of our children in the care system, and black mothers who give their children up for adoption usually want them to be placed with a black family, and overall where are we?

My own experiences my mum always wanted to adopt but my father didnt 'want no mad people children in his house'. I feel like this view is still present...

Thoughts??
Old 01-16-2012, 03:08 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 18,684
The adoption process is very rigorous.
Old 01-16-2012, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Kings Bread

Credits: 53,786
Originally Posted by optimizm View Post
and quite possibly racist
Some folks of African, Indigenous, or other "non-white" ethnicities go through some sort of an identity crisis later on in Life if they are raised by whites.

Dated a Korean Gal who was adopted, and had several "siblings" of different ethnicities.

It also seems common that the adopting parents are very religious, which was the case w/ the Korean Gal I mentioned

Interesting topic
Old 01-16-2012, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Potty Mouth

Credits: 61,707
but why cant we withstand the process?
Old 01-16-2012, 03:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
SweetonStrum

Credits: 667,825
i've got two adopted siblings. they're biological to one another though.
Old 01-16-2012, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mrs.Bravo View Post
but why cant we withstand the process?
Most people don't have the money and resources to do so.

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village

Best of the Best Concert 2013

bayfront park
Old 01-16-2012, 03:34 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by agroDOLCE View Post
i've got two adopted siblings. they're biological to one another though.
Have they met their biological parents?
Old 01-16-2012, 03:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Black Madonna

I disagree, I know plenty people who "adopt" kids and raise them like their own. It just may not be through the system. It's the "it takes a village" mentality. they open their homes up to their troubled friends that their kids have when parents kick them out or something like that. to give the kids a fighting chance in life.

It's mostly women due to that maternal instinct. some men dont have that same level of community and responsibility.
Old 01-16-2012, 03:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Kings Bread

Credits: 53,786
Good points BM
I was actually thinkin the same, many Cultures embrace the "it takes a village" Spirit
Amerikkka seems not to....
Old 01-16-2012, 03:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
SweetonStrum

Credits: 667,825
Have they met their biological parents?
yes, but they were very young. my brother is older so he might remember his father, but my sister has no recollection (she was practically a baby). they've been with us since about 2 months and 2 weeks, respectively. they are two years apart.

Originally Posted by Collie4Nyah View Post
Good points BM
I was actually thinkin the same, many Cultures embrace the "it takes a village" Spirit
right. it seems like it's every man for himself here. "it ain't my business so i eh sayin nuttin" type of deal...disrespectful youth, etc.
Old 01-16-2012, 04:02 PM   #11 (permalink)
Black Madonna

Good points BM

that's incorrect also. Many Americans do as well. I know many black americans who take in foster kids and who look out and care for other kids in the neighborhood. you will see more black americans with foster kids through the system than say other cultures, but all cultures will stick to the "it takes a village" mentality and do it without the system.
Old 01-16-2012, 04:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Black Madonna

please stop generalizing about black americans. cause I know Caribbeans and WI that are more doggish to their families than anybody I can think of. look how quick mofos are to send their kids to jail, in the other thread. look how quick they are to beat their kids and kick them out the house.

please cut the bullshit
Old 01-16-2012, 05:39 PM   #13 (permalink)
I can only be me....

Credits: 93,629
Originally Posted by Mrs.Bravo View Post
My friend and I were just talking about this, and between us we only know 2 black foster parents. With so many of our children in the care system, and black mothers who give their children up for adoption usually want them to be placed with a black family, and overall where are we?

My own experiences my mum always wanted to adopt but my father didnt 'want no mad people children in his house'. I feel like this view is still present...

Thoughts??
my father felt the same way and after living in between two Black foster parents, i dont blame him or any one else for having that reaction. fine u help a child and yes the city pays u but damn yo, some of these children sometimes needs a lot more than what one may be able to give.

Not a single ounce of fock shall be given today...

Old 01-16-2012, 05:39 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 47,904
and quite possibly racist
Some folks of African, Indigenous, or other "non-white" ethnicities go through some sort of an identity crisis later on in Life if they are raised by whites.

Dated a Korean Gal who was adopted, and had several "siblings" of different ethnicities.

It also seems common that the adopting parents are very religious, which was the case w/ the Korean Gal I mentioned

Interesting topic
SOOO true. I remember coming across this Korean dude who was raised by White Americans in Iowa...man had some warped views of himself and of others, didn't think he needed to be identified as Asian and yet gladly and openly stereotyped Blacks, Hispanics and Jews

"ou sé on makoumè koukoun a manman vou, ou ka fè parti du battyboy crew"

Father, before mi mind get bad
Betta yuh flip it round and mek mi mind get mad
Mi prefer fi work hard everyday fi achieve mi goals
Nah grudge nobody fi dem own

Old 01-16-2012, 05:40 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 47,904
Originally Posted by Black Madonna View Post
I disagree, I know plenty people who "adopt" kids and raise them like their own. It just may not be through the system. It's the "it takes a village" mentality. they open their homes up to their troubled friends that their kids have when parents kick them out or something like that. to give the kids a fighting chance in life.

It's mostly women due to that maternal instinct. some men dont have that same level of community and responsibility.
True. Most men would rather mind dem own biological pickney (and even that is too much to ask of some niccas).

"ou sé on makoumè koukoun a manman vou, ou ka fè parti du battyboy crew"

Father, before mi mind get bad
Betta yuh flip it round and mek mi mind get mad
Mi prefer fi work hard everyday fi achieve mi goals
Nah grudge nobody fi dem own