Unique woman
Credits: 132,122
What the eff is with the attitude from a lot of them?
What the eff is with trying to conform to what goes with what? Even branches bend! Look nah... this morning I went with the intention to buy 2 or more protein... you know maybe a combo of 2 or more types from what they had. They had saltfish, liver and also ackee... I already have the carbohydrates... some sliced bread. The bread was there all week so I wanted to finish it up. Fine. So I went to the Jamaican restaurant near me, I bought food there before so I wanted to go back again. Ah hungry an ting so I hurry up and went out the road. Well it had a long line at the restaurant, I waited. My turn reach... Me: Good morning, Do you have plantain porridge? Server: No, just corn meal (gruff gruff) Me: Ok, what if I want some ackee, saltfish and liver (Note: these are in different food trays)? How much that would that be? Server: Well those things don't go together you know... (gruff and hesitant) Me: Ok.... I am asking you what if I wanted those three things, how much it would be? (At this point, I am trying real hard to not express how annoyed I feel by the statement that these things don't go together. I really wanted to say: "I ask you all ah f-ing that??"...I remained respectful.) Server: What size you want? Me: I pointed out the size... Server: $8.00 Me: Ok, I don't have all of that. How much if it is just some liver and some saltfish? Server: $5:50 Me: Ok go ahead. Listen nah man if as a frigging customer I only want the stewed foods, none of the fried what ever or green banana to accompany one stewed food... If I happen to not want the usual what is the problem? Why must I follow standards when I have bread at home? In fact if I did not have bread at home I would not want their fried whatever only the green banana since those two fried breakfast food taste awful neways.. steups. This reminds me of the time my good Trinbagonian friend went to a Caribbean chain restaurant asking for more vegetables instead of any meat. He even told the woman he would pay extra even. She give him attitude and say we really don't do that. He asked for the manager and finally she did. Well he boycotted there from then to the time he went to a different branch. This also reminds me of the time I was in Mc Donalds and I wanted some Expresso in my frappe and 3 times the blasted girl bawl: "Expresso, in Frappe??" as if she is dumbfounded. So I said, "miss, I like to try new things and tonight I really need some Espresso.". Finally after that she said "I know, I know, I know, some people are different." I thinking to myself: "so why the eff yuh keep repeating 'Espresso in Frappe'...'Espresso in Frappe'... Steupssssssssssssssssssssssss" __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-19-2012 at 05:48 PM.. Reason: change confirm to conform |
Bush Baby
Credits: 155,024
Girl I know how you feel.
As great as the food is, Best Bites service is de WORST! __________________ Marcus Garvey said you would not know yourself till your back is against the wall. It gone through the wall now. |
Unique woman
I love the friendliness of the server at Alis on Fulton Street by Nostrand though. Plus he is a cutey lol I must say I have boycotted a few Caribbean Restaurants thanks to the servers. I have no remorse though. Stickler for good customer service. Plus I do tip. I will boycott other stores too for poor customer service or if they try to not give me all my change (usually pennies). Anyone who owns a restaurant and have a sour server yuh affecting good customer experiences. Imagine I have a craving for some good food and yuh server sour??? Allyuh need lix! And what does grind me is I usually say Good morning or Good evening with a smile and these f-ers acting like they haven't got a proper ride in months steups or perhaps haven't prayed in ages. __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Got Kompa?
Credits: 84,722
Trust me it's not just NY. I find this problem in most Caribbean restaurants. I don't know who has a bigger attitude the server or the person behind the counter taking your order. They act like they're doing you a favor. The rolling of the eyes, kissing of the teeth, back talk, at this point I think I'm getting used to it. Its like they go out of their way to put up these people with no behavior. NO Customer Service!
__________________ Ti sourit, ti sourit se nan pèlen ou rete Rat ki rat se nan pèlen ou rete Tèt zozo men pa ou, zozo kale men pa ou M ap konyen fanm nan jis solèy leve Bwa m kale tou wouj Kon piman , kon piman, Langyèt madivinèz Ou pa bezwen chandèl pou ou klere l
Credits: 150,233
Its even worse in the caribbean. Nuffa them bring the same stink attitude with them from the islands to the US.
I see the best bites folks on Flatbush trying to act cheery but you could see its not in their nature...but they try to be nice now and then. The best bites right off church avenue always had stinkness in their servers. I've seen it over and over again. SMH. |
SAINTSational
Credits: 682,621
Customer service is lacking in a lot of Caribbean establishments unfortunately. They act like you doing them a favor by patronizing.
It's even worse on the islands. __________________ Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither www.cookingwithval.com http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval @cookingwithval @NicaBlack |
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Unique woman
Is like: "What yuh want now". As if you are interrupting their day No more silent boycotts for me. Going forward if I eh get good customer service is me and them going down the road. First some humane conversation but if that eh work then is ah different side of me. Enough is enough. Is not like I don't know how to cook or know better places with better service and food steups. You would think they would realized to keep me coming back they have to give me better treatment steups. Sometimes you might want to support the local business and when yuh hungry or your having too much going on to cook. __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
#8 (permalink) | ||
Cervical Cancer
Credits: 142,871
you should have said.....
That wud' have put her in her comfort zone...and, made the takeout experience more pleasurable for u. ![]() __________________ Girly boy why do you get such a kick out of dissing women?-Namey Namey You don't act proper, you just act angry. You act like a angry racist white new york cop.-Namey Namey Everyone knows insidious is a jackass, but a pedophile? - Namey Namey Insidious like women? The only thing insidious like more than hearing that a blackman was gunned down by cops, is a hairy man ass. - Namey Namey |
||
Unique woman
Trying to act cheery. What a sad thing.Wow... Praise the Lord I have met some decent servers back home and here otherwise dais it for them! __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Unique woman
Insiduous you think I want some ah that hot porridge flying straight in meh face steups
__________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
Unique woman
Ah question for allyuh...
Why do we put up with this? or should I say.... Why do most of us put up with this???? __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-19-2012 at 11:09 AM.. |
Credits: 150,233
My previous post i was referring to Bake and Things and Not Best Bites. I don't go to Best Bites anymore and one of the reasons is the service.....plus bake and things food just taste better.
SAINTSational
__________________ Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither www.cookingwithval.com http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval @cookingwithval @NicaBlack |
Unique woman
Think soup man from Seinfeld: "No money for you!" Cool. I edited the post so it is less generalizing since I meant we as in a lot of us. __________________ When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou) Be the change you wish to see in the world. Let us work with others to change our communities. |
SAINTSational
On the flip side, when I am the customer I am always polite and I don't act like an asshole to the staff. So I expect to be treated with respect in turn. If I cannot get that from an establishment, I will not return and I will tell others about it. We all know what word of mouth can do. If the service is great and the product is amazing as well I will also tell people about it and blog about it. I can cook almost anything, so I don't have to take crap from people with nasty attitudes. __________________ Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither www.cookingwithval.com http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval @cookingwithval @NicaBlack Last edited by Nica; 02-19-2012 at 11:41 AM.. |

11Likes