islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Old 02-06-2012, 07:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Mr Toppa Toppa

Credits: 236,516
"We’ve become a bunch of Facebook posers" - Fayann Lyons....

Fay Ann says stop ‘foreignising’… We Ting! | The Trinidad Guardian Newspaper

There’s no denying the fact that Carnival of yesteryear is truly a thing of the past. In recent years, the elements of Trini Carnival that made it outstanding and authentic to this country have somewhat disappeared, and in some instances, have been traded in for a more sophisticated Carnival atmosphere.
In a recent chat with former Road March and Power Soca Monarch champion, Fay Ann Lyons-Alvarez, she disclosed a level of concern regarding this reality, as she pointed out why the true sweetness of Carnival was fading away.

St Vincent people know how to party!
“We’ve become a bunch of Facebook posers. The rest of the islands still keep that authentic feting vibe,” said Lyons-Alvarez. Blatantly and without apology for her stinging words, the woman who has defeated other big names in the business, taking Road March titles in 2003, 2008 and 2009 and in 2009 winning both the Groovy and Power Soca Monarch titles, said she was bothered by what Carnival had become.
Lyons-Alvarez said her 2012 Road March contender, Miss Behave was geared toward people who loved to truly party. She explained that after analysing the market for sometime, she had realised that everyone’s hands had been in the air, thanks to the commands of her fellow entertainers. “I decided that since everybody up, I should just go down,” she said with a laugh. She said she then sat down and thought about the craziest thing she could do in light of this realisation, and recalled performing in St Vincent, where she had told the crowd to drop on the ground and roll. “The entire crowd dropped on the ground, because they
are people who know how to party,” she asserted.

The days of shorts and sneakers
Lyons-Alvarez said the reality is that people don’t have to drop on the ground and roll as the song says, but it is a call for true fete lovers to just be themselves, free-up and express themselves by being as crazy as their hearts desire. “It means enjoy yourself, relax. You don’t have to come to party in your best outfit. You don’t have to come in your best shoes, and please, leave your clutch and your handbags at home,” she urged. Lyons-Alvarez reminded women especially that fetes were not ceremonial functions, and short dresses, heels and clutches were not right items for feting. “The best dressed people in the venue supposed to be the artistes. They are creating a situation that will soon get them in trouble,” she retorted, adding, “I’m not saying don’t dress, but I’m saying if you look at the days of Superblue, Ronnie McIntosh and these artistes, when feters used to hit those fetes is short pants with T-shirts and vests. Now, I am seeing ladies in cocktail dresses with high heeled shoes and hand bags and when they get ‘bounce’, they vex,” said Lyons-Alvarez.

Why should foreigners come?
The soca queen pointed out that Trinbagonians were traditionally a jumping, waving, wining people that would feel the energy and jump with soca artistes, with big flags in hand. She lamented that slowly this tradition was fading away. Expressing sadness about this reality, Lyons-Alvarez called for Trinbagonians to wake up before it was too late. “I think there will even come a time when the tourists will say, ‘why are they giving us something that we are accustomed to.’ That’s like tourists coming to Trinidad to eat steak and potatoes,” she opined. “They come to Trinidad and Tobago to eat roti and doubles and pelau. We need to stop running from we, stop ‘foreignising’ ourselves,” she demanded.

Lyons-Alvarez said Trinbagonians were now trying to ‘foreignise’ themselves even in the way they partied and the way they ate and drank. The leading soca lady called for everyone to simply stop it. She said it made no sense for foreigners to spending so much money to come to T&T to get just what they were used to having in their countries. Sternly, the woman who is in the top three for the Road March title, said Trinbagonians must return to that authentic way of feting, where Carnival meant true revelry, freedom to express with no holds barred. She said if we remain on our current path, Carnival as we know it would soon be a distant memory.

"Anticipate the difficult by managing the easy"

Old 02-06-2012, 07:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Mr Toppa Toppa

Credits: 236,516
I agree with her to a point.

"Anticipate the difficult by managing the easy"

Old 02-06-2012, 07:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
IMIX BACCHANALIST

Credits: 463,186
waiting for VP to respond in

Affairs of the heart
Together we've grown
If ever apart
All I want you to know
Is your love is life changing
And I couldn't be the same without you dahling
Your love is life saving
you always catch me when I fall

www.urbandingolay.com

Old 02-06-2012, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Move Quick...Doh Stick

Credits: 33,996
I Agree With This 1,000,000 Percent.
The Vibes Definitely Took A Turn In The Wrong Direction.
Thanks To Artists Trying Their Hardest To Make Soca Mainstream, They Abandoned The Elements Of What Makes Soca Music We Ting, ... To Make It Their Thing I Must Say. With All De Debate Of Kevin Lyttle Being The King Of Mainstream Soca,....He Did Take It There..... w/o Watering It Down. Turn Me On Was Accepted In We Style.... Soca Music. No Gimmicks Or Outside Influence In De Music .... I Hear Some People Saying Is Kes Wah Start This Whole Popso Style .... But Kes BEEN Doing What He Do. Wotless Just Brought More Attention To Him And His Music And Other Artists And Producers Over Did It Trying To Jock De Style. Im Not Saying I Didnt Like It .. But Dred ... I Really Hope We Pick Up Where We Left Off And Nice It Up With No Chaser.

Cues Up ** New Machel Montano : ON THE AVENUE [2012 Trinidad Soca][Produced By London Future & Shaft] - YouTube

Pleanty Jammin In De Session .. Plenty Rum To Ease De Tension .. 20 Man Ah Hundred Woman Oh Gosh ..... De Vibes Cya Done

Last edited by TRINILI0N; 02-06-2012 at 08:21 AM..
Old 02-06-2012, 09:03 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 572,801
i agree.. i find things get so bougie now... i dont care though.. i will not be wearing heels to any carnival fete unless i dont plan to be there long.. otherwise its shorts and some cute flats..

Rich people have small TVs and big libraries, and poor people have small libraries and big TVs.

Old 02-06-2012, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,991

*bangs parliament desk in agreement*

A Queen went to sleep, her ppl left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 02-06-2012, 10:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Habitual Enabler

Credits: 103,348
Couldn't agree more. Soca fetes have become like dancehall parties. Bunch a posers dressed to the nines, holding up the wall too cute to wine down, texting and snapping their facebook profile pics.

Disclaimer:
Many of you can't keep Jamaica outa yuh mouth. Its ok, we understand you can't help it. Envy is a helluva thing. But let it be known. If you've never been to mi yawd your comments about mi yawd shall hereby be stricken as nuttin but verbal defecation. Walk good.

Yes I am a superhero. Sarcasm is my superpower.

Old 02-06-2012, 10:42 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 111,019
every genre is falling victim to this one by one... dancehall is worst off,

i hope soca can find its way back. because that part about woman getting vex when they get bounce in them expensive clothes is so true

EVERYBODY want to ACT like them RICH

oh and them need to STOP this VIP sh!t in the clubs... got some people thinking that they really above their fellow man. When the club over u still walking out with us.
Old 02-06-2012, 11:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,013,209
I agree to an extent.

Yes, Trinis were a jumping, waving, wining people more than anything, but people were complaining about that then too. Right here on imix, people complained and criticized Trinis for that and still do. Some people are never satisfied.

I got the sweetest love...can't nothing beat it...there ain't nothing sweeter...

Old 02-06-2012, 11:07 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 555,794
the whole mentality of carnival is crazy.

all inclusive prices are crazy vip vvip ridiculous
breakfast parties and all parties quoting prices in flickin us!!!!! i dont even pay 150US to go any fete in d US
o u payin fuh sushi and flickin ceviche at a breakfast fete in trini.... dem probably abandon dem food station to fete so is level food poisoning yuh gettin if u tek dem on
and that whole argument of doin things a certain way to exclude a certain element is rubbish cos dat element prob hadda rob more ppl to end up in the fetes dey wanna be in cos dey still all up in it. maybe gov't should get police to do dey job?
from trini to the various carnivals abroad this mentality is spreading and it makes many parties just pointless to be at ... d whole see and be seen scene.

Last edited by Taj; 02-06-2012 at 11:09 AM..
Old 02-06-2012, 11:08 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 2,117
I do not agree with this statement 100%. There is something out there for everyone. There are still fetes out there that caters to people that are not "posers". Most of the posh fetes are new and the fetes that you have came to know and love as "get-on fetes are still there. If you have an issue with how people behave in VIP, then stick to general admission. Everything changes and evolves, nothing stays the same. There are different things for different people. If Trinidad stayed the same, people will label it as a country that has no progression. If you have issues with certain things then stop patronizing. Without support change cannot be accepted.
Old 02-06-2012, 01:22 PM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 8,727
Fayanne Mah agree wit you gal 10,000 percent. Me min ah listen to the chune and dem for Trinidad Carnival 2012 and me nah lie you ah only fu you song "misbehave" have me a get on bad. The other songs temper temper. Me can already picture how the naygah ah go get on with the rest of them other songs on the road. CHIP CHIP CHIPPIN AND WE CHIPPIN, IN WE HEELS WE CHIPPIN AND WE CHIPPIN, WE TOO STOOSH SO WE CHIPPIN AND WE CHIPPIN. Well Fayanne knows she and Bunji can find work to do in the other islands for them Carnival. So nah worry girl we still love and appreciate you and bunji music. Oh mah almost forget iwer and machel. Dem more than welcome too. lol
Old 02-06-2012, 01:28 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 41,479
So much people are trying so hard to make it on fb pictures that they dont even have fun but they be the same ones that turn around and say the fete was boring. I was shock last year when I went some fetes and people where in heels and dress like they where going formal outing of the best fetes I went and no one really caring about how they was dress was UWI carnival

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-06-2012, 01:59 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 67,829
This topic is long overdue. When I go to a fete in Trinidad, I don't want to feel like I'm going to see Beyonce in Vegas.

But....these promoters are making money and the sheeple are willing to pay to stand up straight and let twitter know that they were there looking good.
Old 02-06-2012, 02:00 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 211,434
[QUOTE]This topic is long overdue. When I go to a fete in Trinidad, I don't want to feel like I'm going to see Beyonce in Vegas.

But....these promoters are making money and the sheeple are willing to pay to stand up straight and let twitter know that they were there looking good.[/QUOTE]

LOL

Im intoxicated and my speevg gettgdgget.... sorry. And my speech getting complicated