Credits: 21,586
Voodooists attacked at ceremony for Haiti victims
PORT-AU-PRINCE, Haiti - Angry crowds in a seaside slum attacked a group of Voodoo practitioners Tuesday, pelting them with rocks and halting a ceremony meant to honor victims of last month's deadly earthquake.
Voodooists gathered in Cite Soleil where thousands of quake survivors live in tents and depend on food aid. Praying and singing, the group was trying to conjure spirits to guide lost souls when a crowd of Evangelicals started shouting. Some threw rocks while others urinated on Voodoo symbols. When police left, the crowd destroyed the altars and Voodoo offerings of food and rum. "We were here preparing for prayer when these others came and took over," said Sante Joseph, an Evangelical worshipper in Cite Soleil, near the capital's port, who joined the angry crowd in a concrete outdoor civic center. Some Voodoo practitioners have said they've converted to Christianity for fear they will lose out on aid or a belief that the earthquake was a warning from God. "Much of this has to do with the aid coming in," said Max Beauvoir, a Voodoo priest and head of a Voodoo association. "Many missionaries oppose Voodoo. I hope this does not start a war of religions because many of our practitioners are being harassed now unlike any other time that I remember." "There's absolutely a heightened spiritual conflict between Christianity and Voodoo since the quake," said Pastor Frank Amedia of the Miami-based Touch Heaven Ministries who has been distributing food in Haiti and proselytizing "We would give food to the needy in the short term but if they refused to give up Voodoo, I'm not sure we would continue to support them in the long term because we wouldn't want to perpetuate that practice. We equate it with witchcraft, which is contrary to the Gospel. Voodoo, or Vodou as preferred by Haitians, evolved in the 17th century when the French brought slaves to Haiti from West Africa. Slaves forced to practice Catholicism remained loyal to their African spirits in secret by adopting Catholic saints to coincide with African spirits, and today many Haitians consider themselves followers of both religions. Voodoo's followers believe in reincarnation, one God and a pantheon of spirits. Voodoo leaders say that although they do not believe in evil spirits, some followers pray for the spirits to do evil." to read full-article:http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/35541950...ti_earthquake/ |
Credits: 8,296
harsh, but it sends de right message. dis is no time 2 be fukkin around wit obeah inna time like dis...
I don't blame them for doing that, because you did not hear nothing from them when the relief operations were going on now they want to honor the dead f$ck them.
Credits: 8,296
exactement
Are you a Obeah folk?
Night lover
Credits: 43,275
__________________ "Stress is part of life, you must embrace it " "A man who stands for nothing will fall for anything" -Malcolm X |
Credits: 2,280
even though i do not agree with the teachings of Vaudou, Christians do not have the right to attack followers of another religion and missionaries sending food to Haiti should not force Haitians to give up Vaudou to get help, that is not how you show people the love of Christ.
Voodoo is poor practicing in rural area Haiti not dominantly in Port-au-Prince if they went to Leogane or Gonaive area I bet you noone would attack them
Credits: 137,041
Most people do not like the voodoo thing at all. Jamaica has obeah but it is a minority thing, not "many" people follow that, it is looked at as a deviant practice (except of course by the people doing it), and it is, in fact, against the law. Haiti seems to embrace their version as a viable option...and I don't see how it is helping them. __________________ Who has eyes to see, let them see... |
so don't think Haiti is a unique case, yesterday it was and earthquake for them tomorrow it might be a Hurricane or tsunami for you. It does not matter if Vaudoux is helping them or not MY GOD the God of the missionaries as well as Haitian Christians would not condone violence as a way of removing the influence of Vaudoux on Haiti. It has been there for centuries and it will take time, it is a part of them and their culture just like Carnival is part of Trini culture. |
Credits: 83,505
The MudderfuKKKing Pope gave his blessings to the White Ruling Class.........
....to STEAL and RENAME EVERYTHING on Planet Earth: The Treaty of Tordesillas - Geography |
Credits: 137,041
this that i quoted above is a main reason why. whether it should or should not be why, it IS a main reason why. and even before the earthquake i did not see how the intertwining of the two religions helped them. __________________ Who has eyes to see, let them see... |
even though you did not say anything about the quake the attack was related to the victims of the quake, and many people even if the will not say it they believe that god has it in for Haiti because of the vaudoux, and what do you mean you don't see how the religion has helped them? people could say the same thing about Islam and Iraq, Iran, Afghanistan, or Hinduism in India ect should people who follow these religion stop doing so because they still live in poverty and war, what does religion have to do with the PHYSICAL BETTERMENT OF A PEOPLE?