Old 03-22-2011, 03:27 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 2,293,829
Lightbulb Travel Agencies

people still use them..........ah starting to realize after a certain time frame yuh cah get no more good deals online.....might have to run back to old reliable

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

Old 03-22-2011, 03:28 PM   #2 (permalink)

Somehow I feel they using the same tools..
Old 03-22-2011, 03:32 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 135,143
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
Somehow I feel they using the same tools..
Pretty much.

"Those who are able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses." -Plato

"god is the deification of a culture."
-Dr Yosef ben-Jochannan

Old 03-22-2011, 03:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Warrior Queen

Credits: 16,380
how would a travel agent make a profit if they don't tack on a little extra for themselves?

never pay someone to do something you can EASILY do yourself, unless you just don't have the time...but if you are looking for a deal and to save money, i just can't see why you would pay someone to do it cause you not saving anything that way

and i agree with t-makaa

i'd rather be hated for who i really am, than loved for who i'm not

honesty never loses

Old 03-22-2011, 03:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Peace Love n Pretty Tings

Credits: 234,807
depends on the caliber of travel agent and where u are going. Basic trips no I dont use them at all. No need with all the access u have online.

But if I am going somewhere I havent been before and/or has multiple legs to it then a good travel agent will have access to vendors that u wont necessarily have. Meaning, if the agent has a good relationship with a vendor in ur destination they can get u packages and deals that u wouldnt get on ur own. Plus if they are an agent that travels alot they can give u tips about ur destination as well.

So it really depends on what u are planning if its worthwhile to use one.

"Twats you people be" - Chinks

"Don't try to win over the haters, you're not the jackass whisperer."

Some people get you and some people don’t, and to spend your life trying to make people understand how deep and complex and varied you are — I think that way lies madness - K. Blanchett

"The leopard's stealthy gait is not a result of cowardice; it is simply stalking a prey." (Do not mistake people's gentle nature for spinelessness) - Yoruba Proverb

Old 03-22-2011, 03:40 PM   #6 (permalink)

I was always under the assumption that travel agencies get 1st dibs at airline tickets..........bought them early and would have to return the tickets/reservations to the airlines if they were not sold by a certain date..............

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

2nd Annual JOUVERT FLAG FETE

Central Florida Fair Grounds

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48
Old 03-22-2011, 03:41 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
I was always under the assumption that travel agencies get 1st dibs at airline tickets..........bought them early and would have to return the tickets/reservations to the airlines if they were not sold by a certain date..............
I worked for an airline long ago and that used to be the case. I dont know if that is true now since so much has changed over the years.

Some people get you and some people don’t, and to spend your life trying to make people understand how deep and complex and varied you are — I think that way lies madness - K. Blanchett

"The leopard's stealthy gait is not a result of cowardice; it is simply stalking a prey." (Do not mistake people's gentle nature for spinelessness) - Yoruba Proverb

Old 03-22-2011, 04:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 136,219
the travel agency game is a good one to follow if ur keen to the going ons

if carib airlines sell tickets for carnival for 550 to the general public, and a travel agent buy in bulk for 400 each, and sell for 500 they still make a profit.... best believe that 400 they pay for each they could probbaly get twice that, so if u know people in that field of work, you might be able to get some great deals....

people seem to dash way the travel agents and run to www.coms of the world but if they look carefully , they will find deals
Old 03-22-2011, 04:07 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ladybug View Post
I worked for an airline long ago and that used to be the case. I dont know if that is true now since so much has changed over the years.
yeah i think it changed and is a free for all now........airlines not having no kinna deals for peak season......they sticking to their prices and looking tuh dig yuh eyeballs out without anesthesia........dis last carnival i only hear bout 1 deal and it end up being thru a travel agency.......

Old 03-22-2011, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Qadamawi View Post
the travel agency game is a good one to follow if ur keen to the going ons

if carib airlines sell tickets for carnival for 550 to the general public, and a travel agent buy in bulk for 400 each, and sell for 500 they still make a profit.... best believe that 400 they pay for each they could probbaly get twice that, so if u know people in that field of work, you might be able to get some great deals....

people seem to dash way the travel agents and run to www.coms of the world but if they look carefully , they will find deals
that's why I say it depends on the caliber of travel agent. A really good one with connections will score you deals u cant get on your own even on the www.

yeah i think it changed and is a free for all now........airlines not having no kinna deals for peak season......they sticking to their prices and looking tuh dig yuh eyeballs out without anesthesia........dis last carnival i only hear bout 1 deal and it end up being thru a travel agency.......

Old 03-22-2011, 04:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
sharkie

it really depends, because with the timing of things, you may not have the most luck with an agent when they throw their $25 deal on it.

but to ladybug's point, if you want to organize a 2 week trip to greece, then you probably want a little more bang for your buck. the travel agent may be able to get you passes to other islands or packages that may include day trips, things that cost $100+ when you get to your hotel.
Old 03-22-2011, 07:50 PM   #12 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,282,472
I definitely will use them. I went through a travel agency for my tour of Europe and it was great...
Old 03-23-2011, 08:18 AM   #13 (permalink)
Mr. BALTIMORE

Credits: 38,736
Having a travel agent helps when you have a cancelled flight or a missed
connection, but when someone is compensated based upon how much you
spend it probably isn't in their best interest to get you the best deal.

Think For Yourself

Old 03-23-2011, 09:53 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 184,507
people still use them..........ah starting to realize after a certain time frame yuh cah get no more good deals online.....might have to run back to old reliable
I am too lazy to be using the net.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend- Arabic proverb