islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree6Likes

Old 02-08-2012, 11:41 AM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 67,829
It was close about 10 years ago between Imix and Toronto-lime...but since then Imix stood alone.

I think Imix is the best Caribbean site on the net, with dhr being a bit behind.
Old 02-08-2012, 11:57 AM   #17 (permalink)
Yardie fi life!

Credits: 35,233
Originally Posted by RotiKing2004eva View Post
It was close about 10 years ago between Imix and Toronto-lime...but since then Imix stood alone.

I think Imix is the best Caribbean site on the net, with dhr being a bit behind.
Imix and DHR should not be mentioned in the same sentence...
Old 02-08-2012, 12:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Moderator

Credits: 93,038
Hmmmn oh really...
Old 02-08-2012, 12:25 PM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 642,739
The format change is what did them in many years ago. But given the owner's outlook he is simply happy that "caribbean, soca, calypso" when searched on google these days can lead to an abundance of useful hits which is certainly a far cry from a decade ago.
theunknownone likes this.

I distubin de peace, I gettin on like ah beast!!!
Lave no evidence. DESTROY EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING, EVERYTHING!!!!!

Old 02-08-2012, 12:53 PM   #20 (permalink)
War Is Upon Us

Credits: 744,948
Originally Posted by YardieMon View Post
Imix and DHR should not be mentioned in the same sentence...
+ Wonnnnnnn
Old 02-08-2012, 02:05 PM   #21 (permalink)
VINCY VIXEN

Credits: 446,548
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
If they didnt change their format in the way the music was laid out..i wud have still been on there daily.
i agree...i used to be a big fan of toronto lime years ago...islandmix.com running things now

before you work on artificial intelligence why don't you do something about natural stupidity?

Instagram: dolcevivaa

MZ. VIVAA LA'BEAUTEE
http://www.facebook.com/originalvivaa

FOLLOW ME @VIVAA_ISLANDMIX
YOUTUBE.COM/EMPRESSPRIA
>SWQ SOCA DEMON<

add JULIANS PROMOS on fb!!
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Julianspromos/120452304696597

Old 02-08-2012, 02:15 PM   #22 (permalink)
IMIX BACCHANALIST

Credits: 463,186
Originally Posted by vivaa View Post
i agree...i used to be a big fan of toronto lime years ago...islandmix.com running things now
+1

Affairs of the heart
Together we've grown
If ever apart
All I want you to know
Is your love is life changing
And I couldn't be the same without you dahling
Your love is life saving
you always catch me when I fall

www.urbandingolay.com

Old 02-08-2012, 02:56 PM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 9,317,665
I was reading on FB and Twitter people saying they sorry to see the site go. If these fockers supported the site it would be around.
Old 02-08-2012, 06:26 PM   #24 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 57,292
Originally Posted by Dragon View Post
As a so-call promoter I get pissed when I read their reviews. Two yrs ago my event had over 3K with HD and a few big names at ah outdoor venue and they claim TRIBE fete with 300 in ah night club was the best fete for Miami Carnival

I hope this is ah lesson to all the people who take OUR sites for granted. We can be here today and gone tomorrow. Running a website is not cheap. Server fees and paying people to take pics cost money. 97% of the money we make goes back into the site. Without support we can’t operate. BUY tickets, support advertise events. Promoters need to stop being CHEAP or Deadbeats. Currently we are doing 225K unique visitors monthly 10 times better than any other site in our class. All with the help of our Staff and members.

Remember, Yuh doh buy tickets or support ah FETE promoter don’t advertise, we can’t pay the bills. Doh pay yuh bills shit get shut down
Don't it make sense now to switch gears and expand... That is the corner stone should be based on ad dollars coming in now that you can claim the #1. W. I. Portal. And incorporate breaking news like TMZ. Or like Black Voices back in the days, this would make more sense, as much as a lot of us would like to support all Imix functions, you have a lot of unprofessional so call promoters giving you business that even if I was getting a free ticket, i wouldn't go due to their unprofessionalism over and over...... And you know the issues!

It's time to expand and move from a mom and pop operation!
Old 02-08-2012, 06:29 PM   #25 (permalink)
Weakness fuh Sweetness

Credits: 69,529
I was reading on FB and Twitter people saying they sorry to see the site go. If these fockers supported the site it would be around.
People feel that web sites run on air...
Old 02-08-2012, 06:34 PM   #26 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Yankee Doodle View Post
People feel that web sites run on air...
A lot of them think so , AD money pays the bills and keep the site running . no money = no pics or server
Old 02-08-2012, 06:36 PM   #27 (permalink)

Credits: 925,420
As a so-call promoter I get pissed when I read their reviews. Two yrs ago my event had over 3K with HD and a few big names at ah outdoor venue and they claim TRIBE fete with 300 in ah night club was the best fete for Miami Carnival

I hope this is ah lesson to all the people who take OUR sites for granted. We can be here today and gone tomorrow. Running a website is not cheap. Server fees and paying people to take pics cost money. 97% of the money we make goes back into the site. Without support we can’t operate. BUY tickets, support advertise events. Promoters need to stop being CHEAP or Deadbeats. Currently we are doing 225K unique visitors monthly 10 times better than any other site in our class. All with the help of our Staff and members.

Remember, Yuh doh buy tickets or support ah FETE promoter don’t advertise, we can’t pay the bills. Doh pay yuh bills shit get shut down
yeah they are strongly tied to TRIBE and its affiliates.........thats the 1% Trini clan behavior.........but there shelf life might not be much longer

*Recalibrating*

Old 02-08-2012, 06:39 PM   #28 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Don't it make sense now to switch gears and expand... That is the corner stone should be based on ad dollars coming in now that you can claim the #1. W. I. Portal. And incorporate breaking news like TMZ. Or like Black Voices back in the days, this would make more sense, as much as a lot of us would like to support all Imix functions, you have a lot of unprofessional so call promoters giving you business that even if I was getting a free ticket, i wouldn't go due to their unprofessionalism over and over...... And you know the issues!

It's time to expand and move from a mom and pop operation!

We are trying our best to improve the site, but it’s hard when you don’t have the money and some of our members don’t support the site or the people who pay for Ad’s … I will let the cat out the bag . Currently we are working on ah iPhone/android app for the site but funds are low ... Don't worry in five yrs Mark Z and the other billionaires who own FB will have all the latest SOCA
Old 02-08-2012, 07:02 PM   #29 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 57,292
We are trying our best to improve the site, but it’s hard when you don’t have the money and some of our members don’t support the site or the people who pay for Ad’s … I will let the cat out the bag . Currently we are working on ah iPhone/android app for the site but funds are low ... Don't worry in five yrs Mark Z and the other billionaires who own FB will have all the latest SOCA
OK, fair enough, I think the emphasis should be on ad $, at the end of the day no promoters will have deep pockets like a corp to fund a site like Imix on a regular basis, if you guys interest I will email you someone that can give you insight on how to expand, increase traffic flows, and to go after Big Ad $........ Either way, the logical step or emphasis should be on that, not promoters.
Old 02-08-2012, 09:49 PM   #30 (permalink)

Credits: 22,456
So what you think make people WANT TO support a site ?

I would think its about getting traffic and advertisers...isn't it about how comfortable advertisers feel....