islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree6Likes

Old 02-08-2012, 06:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imix News

Credits: 0
Post TORONTO-LIME.com closes its doors

TORONTO-LIME.com closes its doors

Toronto, ON, Canada - Wednesday February 8, 2012 -: Founder and president, Jef Lo announced today that TORONTO-LIME.com will be no more after 16 years online. After being touted the number one Caribbean website for so many years the question is why?

"It's time for me to move on" says Jef. "In the initial start-up, the mission was to give Caribbean content a place on the worldwide web. Back in 1996, the only information that would appear in a search engine for the keywords 'Soca/Calypso' was about Harry Belafonte. Over the years TORONTO-LIME.com has inspired many to post their knowledge and content online. Today there’s nothing Caribbean you cannot Google. I think I've reached my goal."

When asked if this was a move to early retirement, Jef said laughingly, "Business was good, but not that good." According to Mr. Lo, his immediate plans are to take some time off before returning to his other business (Soca Bookings), where his focus will now lie in artist management and public relations.

TORONTO-LIME.com is now officially off-line. The highly prominent domain name will be up for sale within the next few weeks and speculation on how high bidding will reach for the heavily sought-after brand is anyone's guess

+++ END +++
Old 02-08-2012, 06:43 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 255,464
Originally Posted by iReporter View Post
TORONTO-LIME.com closes its doors

Toronto, ON, Canada - Wednesday February 8, 2012 -: Founder and president, Jef Lo announced today that TORONTO-LIME.com will be no more after 16 years online. After being touted the number one Caribbean website for so many years the question is why?

"It's time for me to move on" says Jef. "In the initial start-up, the mission was to give Caribbean content a place on the worldwide web. Back in 1996, the only information that would appear in a search engine for the keywords 'Soca/Calypso' was about Harry Belafonte. Over the years TORONTO-LIME.com has inspired many to post their knowledge and content online. Today there’s nothing Caribbean you cannot Google. I think I've reached my goal."

When asked if this was a move to early retirement, Jef said laughingly, "Business was good, but not that good." According to Mr. Lo, his immediate plans are to take some time off before returning to his other business (Soca Bookings), where his focus will now lie in artist management and public relations.

TORONTO-LIME.com is now officially off-line. The highly prominent domain name will be up for sale within the next few weeks and speculation on how high bidding will reach for the heavily sought-after brand is anyone's guess

+++ END +++
The real reason is "islandmix.com. The number 1 source for music out of the Caribbean... Keep it locked!"

http://www.facebook.com/triniboi11

for expedited music uploads: 1. Dattriniboi1@aol.com
2. Julianspromos@gmail.com
3. music@islandmix.com

i is a badman... doh cross d border

Old 02-08-2012, 07:38 AM   #3 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,013,209
That's too bad. I loved Toronto-Lime and it was my source for music for years.

I got the sweetest love...can't nothing beat it...there ain't nothing sweeter...

Old 02-08-2012, 07:53 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 86,182
imix should buy it
Old 02-08-2012, 08:22 AM   #5 (permalink)

Credits: 4,945
ahhhh i loved toronto-lime ... but honestly have been spending my time fooling around on here...
Old 02-08-2012, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 41,479
Toronto lime was good my only problem as for many sites and lot people say the same thing is the amount of flyers you had to click on to get to the main site but all in all the site was great.

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-08-2012, 09:36 AM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 14,833
Imix is next lol
Old 02-08-2012, 09:39 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 555,794
damn yea the chorus of "i used to go there" is what sink it... actually forgot about em a bit. I just think artists got better putting their music out there getting it online, then there's youtube. the music just got easier to find.
So by closed that means all the music files are gone?
Old 02-08-2012, 10:00 AM   #9 (permalink)

Credits: 399,871
This is strange
Old 02-08-2012, 10:01 AM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 399,871
If they didnt change their format in the way the music was laid out..i wud have still been on there daily.
Old 02-08-2012, 10:08 AM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 98,605
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
If they didnt change their format in the way the music was laid out..i wud have still been on there daily.
Agreed! I used to go on there to check out the music before the change....which made it more cumbersome to find what you were looking for.
At any rate good luck to him and thanks for his contribution.
Old 02-08-2012, 10:27 AM   #12 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,013,209
Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
Same here. The new format was terrible, and that's the real reason i stopped going on there as well.
Nickyan likes this.

I got the sweetest love...can't nothing beat it...there ain't nothing sweeter...

Old 02-08-2012, 10:32 AM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 41,479
Originally Posted by Mrs. Vega View Post
Same here. The new format was terrible, and that's the real reason i stopped going on there as well.
Yea same here I liked the old way you click on year and songs for that year came up

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-08-2012, 10:36 AM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 925,420
that is what happens when businesses to solicit and listen to feedback from their consumers.........other shit site is TJJ.......only thing they have going for them is they have their Carnival section and picture galary set up nice........but all their fete reviews are bias

*Recalibrating*

Old 02-08-2012, 11:06 AM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 9,317,665
Originally Posted by iPicong View Post
that is what happens when businesses to solicit and listen to feedback from their consumers.........other shit site is TJJ.......only thing they have going for them is they have their Carnival section and picture galary set up nice........but all their fete reviews are bias
As a so-call promoter I get pissed when I read their reviews. Two yrs ago my event had over 3K with HD and a few big names at ah outdoor venue and they claim TRIBE fete with 300 in ah night club was the best fete for Miami Carnival

I hope this is ah lesson to all the people who take OUR sites for granted. We can be here today and gone tomorrow. Running a website is not cheap. Server fees and paying people to take pics cost money. 97% of the money we make goes back into the site. Without support we can’t operate. BUY tickets, support advertise events. Promoters need to stop being CHEAP or Deadbeats. Currently we are doing 225K unique visitors monthly 10 times better than any other site in our class. All with the help of our Staff and members.

Remember, Yuh doh buy tickets or support ah FETE promoter don’t advertise, we can’t pay the bills. Doh pay yuh bills shit get shut down