#61 (permalink) | ||
100% Overproof
Credits: 26,277
That's what you're assuming..I didn't jump at a conclusion I read every sentence and action you typed very carefully...From the very first time you typed that she called his direct line and then called the switchboard immediately afterward...what if he was in the bathroom? what if he had stepped into the cafeteria for a snack? I never disputed people's patterns but there is a simple rational explanation for many things. It was the girl's overall behaviour that led me to make a conclusion.
Again..this isn't the heart of my discussion..everyone has a pattern in their relationship..it's what happens to us when we don't know what cards are being dealt that reveals alot...The mere fact that despite being off work all day at no point he thought that maintaining the routine was incremental to validating his relationship. he was just doing what was needed. She was the only idiot (like so many women) who was sitting by the phone waiting for him to call...I'm sure he saw her missed calls too and he doesn't appear to be as shaken as she is by his '1 day' absence from the relationship.
"We should take care not to make the intellect our god; it has, of course, powerful muscles, but no personality"... .Albert Einstein Last edited by Appleton; 11-05-2009 at 07:43 PM.. |
||
#62 (permalink) |
Will work for Sushi
Credits: 3,627
Makka i ent mean tuh quote you eh...is the quote you did of Col thread ah answering
Mr. Blue....that 'I eh go in today...Sheryl had problems blah blah blah" forget all the explanations...he lied. full stop and that to me is worse than anything else he could have done. As his woman he should have been able to come to me and say...babes..this is the scene... if he can't be that honest then we don't need to be in that relationship |
#63 (permalink) | |
Will work for Sushi
#64 (permalink) | |||
Better than Ever!
Credits: 8,865
So, what was he gonna say to u..."Babes, Sheryl my best friend & Ex'...have a secret appointment on Tuesday. Thanks for understanding" and you're not going to want to know what this appointment is about?
Well, think about it again.... Your man is taking a day of from work to go sit up and be a shoulder to cry on to another woman, that is not his family? I thought those things were reserved for you, his SO'. But i guess ur no special that his female friends. ![]()
#65 (permalink) |
100% Overproof
Maybe, her behavior is disturbing...because she is way to involved in relationship compared to most. this why many people fear truly loving a person, or exposing their feelings. They are going to come off looking like an idiot. Maybe I'm wrong, for saying this...but I think anybody who can say they were truly in love, can say they have went the extra mile. Whether it was in a positive or negative way is usually judge after the action.
Col..you keep using words like neurotic and disturbing to describe her behaviour ..Why? I didn't say any of those things. If you're secure and happy in your relationship you don't need to call your partner so many times during the day or be so phased by it when you haven't established contact. This is not about taking the plunge or investing feelings or going the extra mile..This is how a woman who is unsure of herself in a relationship reacts. Why was she so quick to assume something was wrong with him just because she called a few times during the day and didn't hear from him? If you don't live with someone it is natural that you may not see/talk to them everyday...why is she so bothered by that? if her first call to his office was at 10am and she called his 'friend' at 8pm..That's 10 hours...Not seeing/hearing from your partner for 10 hours does not warrant you calling three different locations to 'find' him. But, she's no exception...a great deal of people do. If we didn't have that security of some kind of predictability we wouldn't commit in the first plce...but hear ur point, clearly. Maybe this is why a great deal of people have issues in their relationships? Because if the other half isn't following the 'script' everything goes off kilter? what kind of relationship is that? If you depend on hearing from your partner in order to feel confident that all is well in your relationship something is wrong. There are many women out there who would have been so busy with things they've got to do..it would not occur to them that they haven't spoken to their SO all day until late after things settled. Similarly, if you're the type of man who starts to fret after 3 unanswered calls then.......... Well, no...there was no miss calls if your phone was turned off...that's why it was going to straight to voicemail. plus, he did explain why he totally shut her out, the whole day. 1)he's not a good liar. 2) he wanted to just go thru the day, uninterrupted. Lol..Col..from the beginning..my response was not about the guy or the technicality of the situation..It was about the woman's reactions/behaviour...The fact that you've added more details to the story doesn't change that. It just confirms why she is insecure. She treats him like a priority but he treats her as an option. Busy people switch their phones off all the time...sometimes you just need a breather...Why didn't this occur to her? Or maybe it did?...that could have been why she was calling so much... If she only had his cell phone number she would have had to wait until he called her wouldn't she? women like these are agents of their own unhappiness.
#66 (permalink) |
Above and Beyond
Credits: 42,656
#67 (permalink) |
CTA VP of Local Affairs
Credits: 37,833
Look how dis focka trap Appleton
![]() Apps why yuh doin it to yuhself? lol |
#68 (permalink) |
Flopic Saver
Credits: 147,803
#69 (permalink) |
100% Overproof
![]() lol...I think Col is the woman in the story
#70 (permalink) | |
Better than Ever!
Credits: 8,865
LOL@Killa..... It's not like that, well maybe a little bit... ![]() Through all this back & forth I haven't diagreed with appleton. I just trying to understand whay she is defining the woman's actions as "Insecure" behaviour, oppose to legitimate "Concern" behaviour. As, far as the words like "neurotic", yes it's me that brought up this word, and i take responsibility for trying to throw this word in ur mouth. So, Appleton your ultimate point is that women behave this way because they are insecure and disguise it as legitimate concern. Also, you're faulting her for making him a priority in her life...because the thoughts/actions are not mutual. If it was there, clearly there would be nothing to criticize about her behavior?
#71 (permalink) |
Life like temperature
Credits: 737
#72 (permalink) | |
Life like temperature
Credits: 737
#73 (permalink) | |
Will work for Sushi
#74 (permalink) | |
100% Overproof
Legitimate concern is manifested differently..If you think about it from a legal standpoint..an adult isn't technically considered 'missing' until 24 hours..From your scenario..it is logical that she would be concerned by the evening if it is their routine to talk to each other throughout the day and they haven't. It's still not serious enough grounds to call a third party especially given the fact that they don't live together.. I haven't made any generalisations. My opinion was based on the scenario presented and the girl's reaction to it..Someone could react the same way under different circumstances so the same conclusions won't necessarily be made. The direct line exists so that people don't have to go through switch boards No?..If you called someone's direct line and didn't get them why would you think you would have gotten them through the switchboard? She left messages...then why keep calling? Isn't the whole point of messages is so that the other person can call you back when they've become available? Let's switch genders for a minute: If a man was calling a female like this what conclusions would we draw? Nothing is wrong with talking to your partner several times for the day but calling someone repeatedly after you've left messages is a control tactic. It assures one that the person is where they say they'll be. Again nothing is wrong with making your partner a priority but an underlying factor in her need to be calling him so much is because she sensed she isn't a priority to him...ie if she was he would be available to take her call. There would be no anxiety if she didn't feel otherwise Remember..women buy into this whole ' if he's not calling he doesn't care mentality'..and unfortunately many women carry this belief throughout their marriages..Women complain most about men not calling, how frequently they are calling and what is being said when they call..How many men you hear complain that their woman is not calling them enough?..Her calling so many times does not spell calm and assured woman. Particularly given the fact that they don't live together. No one is so predictable that their partner knows exactly where they are every minute of each day.. My perception of her behaviour is independent of the guy though Col....She's not being rational. Why was it so hard for her to wait until he got back to her?
"We should take care not to make the intellect our god; it has, of course, powerful muscles, but no personality"... .Albert Einstein Last edited by Appleton; 11-07-2009 at 11:32 AM.. |
#75 (permalink) |
Credits: 160,086
Hmmmm sad world when ppl endorsing that SO's tell their friends business to their bf/gf.
lol what if ppl go thru 3 SO's in a year dais a whole setta random ppl knowing your friend business. Learn to keep confidences your friend don't want to worry everytime they tell you something it becomes dinner convo between you and your SO. steups
**Life is short. Too young; too soon. Love everyone!** be careful of who you pretend to be, you are who you pretend to be - kurt vonnegut "Mommy, stop waking me up for Kindergarten. You don't see me waking you up for work. You do that because you want to." Ahhh, the joys of parenting :-) - RNH (too funny) :

: Music is my passion : http://www.imeem.com/airmanpromo