islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By dedetriniking
  • 2 Post By Chinks
  • 1 Post By dedetriniking

Old 02-22-2012, 08:44 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 98,605
So the carnival is over

...and i tell you from up here in the cold, it looks like it was all good. Vow not to miss another one. As usual memorable moments every where but for me it was all about the fantastic music this year. Classic Tune:

Socapro and Doctor's Daughter like this.
Old 02-22-2012, 08:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 23,178
Brass at its best from Ed Watdson & The Brass Circle in this Kitchener classic!

Love it!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!

Old 02-22-2012, 09:42 AM   #3 (permalink)

Any thoughts about the Carnival this year? Stand out moments? General observation?

So true what you said about the great brass arrangement in this song. You know we just have to accept that our sensibilities are probably different from others.

To some a good brass arrangement is one hook in the chorus but to me a good brass arrangement should be heard in nooks and crannies throughout the song.

Last edited by dedetriniking; 02-22-2012 at 09:44 AM..
Old 02-22-2012, 09:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,991
Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
[B]Any thoughts about the Carnival this year? Stand out moments? General observation?

So true what you said about the great brass arrangement in this song. You know we just have to accept that our sensibilities are probably different from others.

To some a good brass arrangement is one hook in the chorus but to me a good brass arrangement should be heard in nooks and crannies throughout the song.
[/B]
People trying to down play Fay's chune Misbehave. I observed many of masqueraders dropping and roll. The most surprising was an older gentleman in the amazing sailor band All Stars. D man drop and give ah lil ole man roll. lol
triniameri and TriniTrini like this.

A Queen went to sleep, her ppl left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 02-22-2012, 12:09 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
People trying to down play Fay's chune Misbehave. I observed many of masqueraders dropping and roll. The most surprising was an older gentleman in the amazing sailor band All Stars. D man drop and give ah lil ole man roll. lol
Tune definitely caught me by surprise. I just thought that the lyrics were asking people to do something so stupid that most would dismiss it....and ergo the song...but that was not the case. People ended up being into the song.....probably because the alternative was PYF....which really was Machel's weakest song of the season.
Old 02-22-2012, 06:04 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 572,801
i know one thing for sure.. back to Tribe next year! YUMA is not for me LOL..

Rich people have small TVs and big libraries, and poor people have small libraries and big TVs.

Old 02-22-2012, 06:30 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 111,019
looks like a good time be had by all
Old 02-22-2012, 11:35 PM   #8 (permalink)

One highlight for me was this performance. Play this performance all the way to the end and listen to the emotion in her voice at the end when her father joins her on stage. Look at her face. The message here is such a powerful one eh. This is how deep and effective calypso can be. I was totally moved by this performance.

TriniTrini likes this.

Last edited by dedetriniking; 02-22-2012 at 11:37 PM..
Old 02-23-2012, 12:00 AM   #9 (permalink)

For me a clear winner from the soca monarch competition with the yuth erphaan (sp). The dude sang his song honestly....and he sang his heart out.
Really enjoyed this.

Old 02-23-2012, 12:03 AM   #10 (permalink)

Yeah yeah yeah ...i know she has her detractors....and her voice was shot on this performance....probably because of all the work she was putting in at the fetes. But i feel as though this was an honest performance....she left it all out there on the stage. She put down wuk.....and I appreciate that. Despite her voice I very much liked this performance.

P.S. They've got to kill the prominance of the recorded vocals in these competitions.