Old 08-09-2007, 10:56 AM   #46 (permalink)

Credits: 56,863
Originally Posted by DJ View Post
wow
nazi germany of carnivals

So what they consider "indecent behaviour"?
how will any violations be enforced?
citation or arrest for whining ?
oh please, the first time they said this what 2 years ago and everybody had a good laugh. Yuh hear about anybody getting fined for indecent behavior? Yuh think there was any less winin, gyrating, juking, climbing on necks and man/woman falling to the ground on top man/woman than in any previous years?
Old 08-09-2007, 11:07 AM   #47 (permalink)
Having A Time

Credits: 307
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Get rid of the Lezama's and then what? Do you have potential candidates in mind to take the place of the present heads of WIADCA? Do you know for a fact that anyone else even wants the headache? For all that you may have all the complaints about WIADCA how can you be so sure that their work/connections are not why we have what we do, no matter how little you may think that is? For instance I see ppl complain about heavy police presence but no one comments on how polite, friendly and helpful those police are...not at all what one expects from NYPD. I always smile when I see them out there for kiddy mas, there is something heatwarming about hearing NYPD say "come on everybody, get in your section" then watching them helping some parent find their kids section. They're just as helpful and nice on Monday...did it ever occur to you that maybe when all the extra police and regulation were added, WIADCA couldnt protest cause with the things that had happened on the pkwy they didn't have a leg to stand on but they insisted that any forces out for the parade were taught to be polite and friendly and SERVE rather than being a menacing presence? This is just one example but if you're not on the inside then you have no way of knowing what WIADCA has accomplished or the reasons for anything yet you're here shooting them down.
Both of you guys have good points. I hear VP in saying he doesn't want the true Carnival Spirit to die....but what BD saying is true. Restircitions are put on because we as a people cant come out and enjoy ourselves without making a scene. We usually blame the Black Americans and say they the one shooting up the place and causing all kind of confusion, which might be true, but we cant ban them from Carnival. I rather be able to buss a whine with a few restrictions and make it home in one peice.
Old 08-09-2007, 11:11 AM   #48 (permalink)

Credits: 2,963

Yes, a SUPPORTER of the STATUS QUO.

This is why the CARNIVAL will DIE, because you want THINGS ot REMAIN the SAME.

You will see THINGS CRUMBLING around the WIADCA and your MINDSET is to do NOTHING about it.

Get wid of the LEZAMA CLAN is a START in the RIGHT direction
100% correct.
Old 08-09-2007, 11:17 AM   #49 (permalink)

Originally Posted by ~Ragga~ View Post
NO ARTIST ON THE TRUCKS!!!!!?????

LOL We all know who this law is going to effect the most. Can you guess???

The Jamaican truck.....lol.....just think about it. You think people follow it for the music...lol Barely.
Some of us refuse to see or want the Haitians and the Jamaicans on the PKWY, this is a fact.

The size, the respect for the artists, the music , the following, etc. is enough to scare alot who want to keep the STATUS QUO ( The Parkway is only for costume bands) in place.

Last edited by trinifrombx; 08-09-2007 at 11:30 AM..
Old 08-09-2007, 11:21 AM   #50 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,317
Some of you do have a point but, aside from all the politics, the parade really should be moved. It is a great central point where ppl can get to easily but, it has become just to big and out of control. They need a bigger place, where? I dont know. To me I think the safest more comfortable spot is actually in a mas band. Madness does be going on on de side streets, all streets lmao, Its hard for me to see small kids out deh.

Brooklyn does be locked down on labor day, and the restrictions are going to be heavily inforced even aside from the parade, they will be hot on the whole streets surrounding the parade because of all the killing and stupidness dat does go on.

I wonder if they ever thought about just moving it where people would enjoy better...
Old 08-09-2007, 11:27 AM   #51 (permalink)

Get rid of the Lezama's and then what? Do you have potential candidates in mind to take the place of the present heads of WIADCA? Do you know for a fact that anyone else even wants the headache? For all that you may have all the complaints about WIADCA how can you be so sure that their work/connections are not why we have what we do, no matter how little you may think that is? For instance I see ppl complain about heavy police presence but no one comments on how polite, friendly and helpful those police are...not at all what one expects from NYPD. I always smile when I see them out there for kiddy mas, there is something heatwarming about hearing NYPD say "come on everybody, get in your section" then watching them helping some parent find their kids section. They're just as helpful and nice on Monday...did it ever occur to you that maybe when all the extra police and regulation were added, WIADCA couldnt protest cause with the things that had happened on the pkwy they didn't have a leg to stand on but they insisted that any forces out for the parade were taught to be polite and friendly and SERVE rather than being a menacing presence? This is just one example but if you're not on the inside then you have no way of knowing what WIADCA has accomplished or the reasons for anything yet you're here shooting them down.

So I guess you disagree with the Hawks position on Boycotting the parade ?

Isn't that you calm is working what the Hawks have a problem with ?
Old 08-09-2007, 11:29 AM   #52 (permalink)

Originally Posted by SUGABUMBUM View Post
Some of you do have a point but, aside from all the politics, the parade really should be moved. It is a great central point where ppl can get to easily but, it has become just to big and out of control. They need a bigger place, where? I dont know. To me I think the safest more comfortable spot is actually in a mas band. Madness does be going on on de side streets, all streets lmao, Its hard for me to see small kids out deh.

Brooklyn does be locked down on labor day, and the restrictions are going to be heavily inforced even aside from the parade, they will be hot on the whole streets surrounding the parade because of all the killing and stupidness dat does go on.

I wonder if they ever thought about just moving it where people would enjoy better...

Weak point, moving would not fix any of the problems.
Old 08-09-2007, 11:30 AM   #53 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,935
You know Diva it is not so much for knowing the insides of what they do or what they are trying to do because what ever happens on the inside will come out in the light as the reflection of their work. When it comes to organizing this event, it’s terrible. Lack of business sense, Lack of organization and lack of respect. You cannot have over 3 million people attending one of the countries biggest parades, let me remind you, the COUNTRY not the city, have people controlling and telling you what to do. It is not to say that they can’t tell you what to do but as an organization, certain agreements to what WE AS CARIBBEAN PEOPLE want should be respected and taken seriously. The saying goes, power is ruled by those with many numbers and as far as I see it, we have the numbers but a terrible leader. For this event that has been going on for so many years helping this city generate so much money in one day I think they owe us RESPECT.

For the police, I have no issue with “SOME” of them, but when they start to act violent and mistreat people for no reason, now that is a problem. Suppose a person who may have a hearing problem that cannot hear so clearly but is just enjoying the scenes, would it be fair for that person to receive a night stick to the back to move forward if that hearing impaired person did not hear or see an officer behind them? Do the police treat the Italians, Iris people when it comes to their parade in this kind of fashion? You are talking about Kiddy Carnival but there are bigger fish to fry for what your “EYE do not see behind the lines.

And it is not that people do not want to take on the headache, shit I will do it, and who knows, there maybe other people who can do a way better job than those at the WIADCA but if you have a monopoly that does not want to listen to reasoning and give up some control then you know what, let them crash n burn.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586
Old 08-09-2007, 11:34 AM   #54 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,317
Originally Posted by trinifrombx View Post
Weak point, moving would not fix any of the problems.
Old 08-09-2007, 12:04 PM   #55 (permalink)
Will work for credits

Credits: 4,884
BOMBOCLARRRRRRRRRRRT!!!! BACKSIDE!!!!!!!!!!!! RAAAAAAAAAAAHTID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I ent even read the thread give some reasonable insight but yeah labor day this year look like it going to be dry but then again it's all depends on who you hang out with.

*excuses self to go and read up on the political aspect of this thread*
Old 08-09-2007, 12:18 PM   #56 (permalink)

Credits: 140,556
Get rid of the Lezama's and then what?
Are you SERIOUS....what do you mean by and THEN WHAT?

Get SOMEONE who is COMPETENT to RUN the WIADCA....someone who has BUSINESS and POLITICAL EXPERIENCE...and who also possess the kind of LEADERSHIP SKILLZ to GALVANIZE the COMMUNITY to PUT PRESSURE on CITY HALL and the NYPD whenever they're LAYING down RULES that are UNFAIR.

Do you have potential candidates in mind to take the place of the present heads of WIADCA?
You put out ADVERTISEMENTS about LQQKING for a PERSON with a CERTAIN KIND of SKILL SETS to RUN the WIADCA. There will be MANY QUALIFIED people APPLYING for the POSITION. You do the INTERVIEWS and then you TAKE it from there.

It is that SIMPLE....that is the NORMAL BUSINESS PRACTICE, be it in the PUBLIC or PRIVATE sector.

Do you know for a fact that anyone else even wants the headache?
Stop being RIDICULOUS!

Yes, I am 101% CONFIDENT that there are HIGHLY MOTIVATED INDIVIDUALS, with the EDUCATIONAL, BUSINESS and POLITICAL background, out there, who will JUMP at the OPPORTUNITY to TURN this ORGANIZATION around.

For all that you may have all the complaints about WIADCA how can you be so sure that their work/connections are not why we have what we do, no matter how little you may think that is?
Based on what we have SEEN, over the YEARS on EASTERN PARKWAY, during the LABOR DAY weekend and on LABOUR DAY, it is QUITE OBVIOUS that the LEADERSHIP has been FAILING the COMMUNITY. Whoever is in CHARGE and whoever the LEADERSHIP has HIRED to deal with CITY HALL (if ANY at all), based on what we have seen, has FAILED MISERABLY.

For instance I see ppl complain about heavy police presence but no one comments on how polite, friendly and helpful those police are...not at all what one expects from NYPD. I always smile when I see them out there for kiddy mas, there is something heatwarming about hearing NYPD say "come on everybody, get in your section" then watching them helping some parent find their kids section. They're just as helpful and nice on Monday...
Who is STOPPING the COPS from DOING their JOB....who wants to NOT let them do their JOBS? Surely not de POWA of de VINCY.

Frankly, the ISSUE is not the POLICE OFFICERS on the BEAT. They're just doing what they're TOLD to do. In other words, they're doing their JOB.

did it ever occur to you that maybe when all the extra police and regulation were added, WIADCA couldnt protest cause with the things that had happened on the pkwy they didn't have a leg to stand on but they insisted that any forces out for the parade were taught to be polite and friendly and SERVE rather than being a menacing presence?

Gyel, DOH MEK me LAFF.

If you see this as being some sort of GROUNDBREAKING decision by the WIADCA (telling police COMMANDERS that they should act POLITE, when at the PARADE route, doing their JOB), then this GOES BACK to EXACTLY what I am saying.

It is time for the LEADERSHIP of the WIADCA to go. The PARADE is FALLING apart RIGHT BEFORE your EYES and you're here YAPPING about NOTHING.

If it was LEFT up to U, the CANBOULAY RIOTS in TRINIDAD would not have TAKEN PLACE, because you would have WANTED the STATUS QUO to REMAIN.

Therefore, the CARNIVAL as we KNOW it today in TRINIDAD would not have EXISTED.

This is just one example but if you're not on the inside then you have no way of knowing what WIADCA has accomplished or the reasons for anything yet you're here shooting them down.
I do not HAVE to KNOW what is GOING on, on the INSIDE. I see the RESULTS of what is going on, on the INSIDE, taking SHAPE on the GROUND.

We the REVELLERS can see the CHANGES right before our EYES, so we do not need to know what is going on the INSIDE.

Based on what has taken shape over the years, we can EASILY CONCLUDE that the LEADERSHIP has been a FAILURE.

For instance, over the years, more and more RESTRICTIONS have been placed on the PARADE, and from the LOOKS of it, the WIADCA has FAILED MISERABLY at STOPPING the TIDE.

Where are the LEADERS of our COMMUNITY in all this? Where are the POLITICAL LEADERS of our COMMUNITY in all this?

It is OBVIOUS that the LEADERSHIP of the WIADCA doesn't have the LEADERSHIP SKILLS, the MANAGERIAL SKILLZ and the POLITICAL SKILLZ to DEAL with CITY HALL, the NYPD and the JEWISH COMMUNITY in CROWN HEIGHTS.

Come on, OPEN YOUR EYES and MIND!! The WIADCA cannot DEAL with these PEOPLE in its CURRENT STATE, POINT BLANK.

But, like I said, U R COMFORTABLE with the STATUS QUO. As long as you see the "NICE POLICE" saying "NICE THINGS" to the KIDS at the JUNIOR CARNIVAL, to you that is PROGRESS of the HIGHEST ORDER.

In other words, WE REACH.

Sorry to tell U, we nuh REACH. We reach when we can put POLITICAL and ECONOMIC PRESSURE on CITY HALL to STOP putting all these RESTRICTIONS on our PARADE.

LOOK at the PUERTO RICAN PARADE, when all that RAPING and SEXUAL HARRASSMENT took place, did the NYPD make the KIND of DRASTIC CHANGES to that PARADE as they have done over the YEARS with LABOUR DAY on the PARKWAY?

The LIKELY ANSWERS are no.

The reason being, the PUERTO RICAN COMMUNITY has POLITICAL CLOUT....they have EXCELLENT LEADERSHIP at the HEAD of that ORGANIZATION....that is why the PUERTO RICAN PARADE is being BROADCAST on NETWORK TV.

In other words, the LEADERSHIP of the PUERTO RICAN PARADE is working hand in hand/in CONCERT with their BUSINESS and POLITICAL LEADERS to ENHANCE the VIABILITY of the PARADE.

And they have also made sure that CITY HALL doesn't ERODE the CULTURAL PLEASANTRY of the PARADE.

The WIADCA has FAILED this COMMUNITY, MISERABLY, in this REGARD.

But someone like yourself would want the LEADERSHIP to REMAIN, because you're one of these INDIVIDUALS who LOVEEEEEEEEEEE the STATUS QUO.
Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhh

Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-09-2007 at 01:28 PM..
Old 08-09-2007, 12:33 PM   #57 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,935
Don't forget the house negro and the field negro.

You know, i think it is safe to say that African Americans and Afro Caribbean Nationals are not that different in respects to leadership. Why is it that we always have the worst to worthless set of leaders in our communities that talks the game but put out worthless results? And my biggest question of them all is, WHY THE HELL DO WE STILL SUPPORT THESE PEOPLE? WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY? Anyhow, as much as i love my Black Skin, the people. SMH. i dunno. At times i does think, something is really wrong with us, its not a chemical imbalance, its not torture, but seriously. The black skin is a curse to many.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586

Last edited by Bago20; 08-09-2007 at 12:38 PM..
Old 08-09-2007, 12:37 PM   #58 (permalink)

Credits: 8,190
Originally Posted by SUGABUMBUM View Post

FLOYD BENNETT Field that's the best place
Old 08-09-2007, 12:39 PM   #59 (permalink)

Credits: 8,190
Ohhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhh
your royal blue gives me a headache
Old 08-09-2007, 12:42 PM   #60 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)state of statue of liberty
Credits: 5,806
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
I feel your pain Hawks, I feel your pain.

I like the part about the "Bands" regulations. Way to go WIADCA you guys are the best

lol. i saw this same artice in the west-indian newspaper

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans,Louisiana with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne and lil' Fizz (b2k),Fleur-de-lis (imix creole,homegirl) .Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.