Old 08-13-2007, 11:42 PM   #226 (permalink)

Credits: 3,378
Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
So spending anywhere from 60k-200k should just be done for a jump? Besides the cultural aspect, can you explain to me how that is worth it? If it is about the culture, there is a frigin carnival just about in every city world wide...No need for us to keep losing $$, the celebrations conintue, just not off of our sweat any longer.
first of all, the bands dont spend anywhere from 60k-200k.

secondly, not everything is done for money. some things are done for love. the cultural aspect is the aspect that makes it worth it. initially when the parade first started, our founding fathers DID NOT get the parade started as a money making venture. i think there needs to be a distinction between doing things for money and doing things for the community/culture

for example, if i come out of my pocket to by sneakers for my track team members it is not done as an investment, instead it is done for the love of the sport and my team. the money i spend could be invested for a better financial return but to me, the social return is more than worth it.
Old 08-13-2007, 11:45 PM   #227 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,268

It appears that again speak from a position of arrogance and ignorance, a recipe for being clueless. Why whould we want to come back to that? I think what you will see is other bands following our lead.

Bokor Tov... In case you did not know, that is Hebrew for good night.. Your statement about public support made me chuckle, you probably thought you were referring to a Jewish community that support each other, better go check the

Mr. Hawks...you are making me laugh now, and on a serious note i think the Hawks Management problems boil down to poor management !

re : The Series 7, yes i do have it...that is why NASD require you every 3 years to take a continuing ed course so you are in-line with the changes in the industry.

I notice you totally diss me by ignoring my suggest to fix your problems will post it again !

You have a member list...right ?

I am a member, or better yet I am on your mailing list, now if you you guys are a true 501 c3, how come you don't solicit funds or donation by that mailing list and send out a form to use with your taxes with your tax deduction contributions, how Come ?

I respect you for trying, but not so fast my friend;

If everyone had our mentality of supporting each other, I would say you have valid point. However that is not the case, this is from experience. We tend to want to cut each other down than prop each other up.

This will kill all the objections about lack of funding NOT!

So again I have given you another great idea....send out Tax Deduction contribution starting at $25, $50, $100, $ 500, etc.... I will personally bring my tax deduction contribution to you if you send me a form to claim it on my taxes....

Do the math, min 1000 ppl on the list, if you get 500 to send you $25, tax ded contribution, it is a start right ? ....instead of sending out that cd with the boat ride video, etc ...send a contribution request...

Please answer suggestion.

Thanks
Old 08-13-2007, 11:48 PM   #228 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 24,953
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
first of all, the bands dont spend anywhere from 60k-200k.
I don't know why this is so hard for you to believe..to me this is a low estimate...but unless you're on the inside why are you questioning it?
secondly, not everything is done for money. some things are done for love. the cultural aspect is the aspect that makes it worth it. initially when the parade first started, our founding fathers DID NOT get the parade started as a money making venture. i think there needs to be a distinction between doing things for money and doing things for the community/culture
The "fore fathers" weren't dealing with the same issues and you know it! The days of a mom and pop mad band are over! Between running a mas camp, producing over a thousand costumes, getting trucks, paying for insurance. YOu know the old timers were not dealing with these same dynamics and on the same level. You're smarter than that..for example, if i come out of my pocket to by sneakers for my track team members it is not done as an investment, instead it is done for the love of the sport and my team. the money i spend could be invested for a better financial return but to me, the social return is more than worth it.
You're comparing apples and oranges. You doing something for your track team is no where on the same level. The level of time and dedication and money required to bring a band cannot be compared.
Old 08-13-2007, 11:53 PM   #229 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
You're comparing apples and oranges. You doing something for your track team is no where on the same level. The level of time and dedication and money required to bring a band cannot be compared.
rina, check out the sesame thread to see why i say the numbers that they post are bogus. sesame claims to have 1500 people playing mas at a cost of $80/ costume. you and i know that you cant get a mas costume for 80 bucks. the mas costumes are closer to 180 bucks retail...which bring net profits from mas costumes alone to 70,000
Old 08-13-2007, 11:55 PM   #230 (permalink)

i definately can be compared. the amount of hours i put in and the amount of out of pocket money spent probably outweights the time and money to bring a mas band on a percentage basis
Old 08-13-2007, 11:58 PM   #231 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

rina, check out the sesame thread to see why i say the numbers that they post are bogus. sesame claims to have 1500 people playing mas at a cost of $80/ costume. you and i know that you cant get a mas costume for 80 bucks. the mas costumes are closer to 180 bucks retail...which bring net profits from mas costumes alone to 70,000
NOw way!!! 180 bucks???? Uh Uh you're getting too used to those inflated all inclusive prices!! This year for Caribana Toronto Revellers costumes were about 140 dollars CDN so i doubt Hawks charging 180 US. We haven't even considered the kiddies carnival and those expenses. Ras this thing is bigger than we can put a figure on. Unless ur on the inside i don't think its fair to assume costs are inflated..
Old 08-14-2007, 12:00 AM   #232 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

DOn't be offended..

i definately can be compared. the amount of hours i put in and the amount of out of pocket money spent probably outweights the time and money to bring a mas band on a percentage basis
What u do is done on a much smaller scale is what i meant to say....
Old 08-14-2007, 12:02 AM   #233 (permalink)

NOw way!!! 180 bucks???? Uh Uh you're getting too used to those inflated all inclusive prices!! This year for Caribana Toronto Revellers costumes were about 140 dollars CDN so i doubt Hawks charging 180 US. We haven't even considered the kiddies carnival and those expenses. Ras this thing is bigger than we can put a figure on. Unless ur on the inside i don't think its fair to assume costs are inflated..
here are sesame prices Sesame Carnival
Old 08-14-2007, 12:07 AM   #234 (permalink)

Credits: 98
Ras..that is cost price to make them not retail..
Old 08-14-2007, 12:10 AM   #235 (permalink)

i understand that but MOST of the costumes will be sold for the retail price which will make the mas costumes aspect of the band profitable to the amount of about $70,000. since the mas portion of the band is most of the cost then it is fair to assume that the 70,000 from the mas will more than cover the other expenses associated with bringing the band
Old 08-14-2007, 12:50 AM   #236 (permalink)

Credits: 696
Fella...at the end of the day I don't think you need to come here and justify your band's decision to the two or three people who grilling you over it. Islandmix likely didn't factor much into Hawks success before the decision was made, likely Islandmix similarly wouldn't have much impact on Hawks Int'l now that the decision has been made. I think you've been more than fair in presenting your Band's side of the issue, and your rationale for your decision.

Ras_Apache cool wid me, but more and more this discussion taking the shape of an IRS audit and I have to give you credit for even coming back here as often as you have to answer these questions.
Old 08-14-2007, 01:57 AM   #237 (permalink)
L O S T

Credits: 43,372
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
Fella...at the end of the day I don't think you need to come here and justify your band's decision to the two or three people who grilling you over it. Islandmix likely didn't factor much into Hawks success before the decision was made, likely Islandmix similarly wouldn't have much impact on Hawks Int'l now that the decision has been made. I think you've been more than fair in presenting your Band's side of the issue, and your rationale for your decision.

Ras_Apache cool wid me, but more and more this discussion taking the shape of an IRS audit and I have to give you credit for even coming back here as often as you have to answer these questions.
X1000
Old 08-14-2007, 10:25 AM   #238 (permalink)

Credits: 2,965
Put another way, you guys are making a profit but someone is tiefing the funds.
Old 08-14-2007, 10:28 AM   #239 (permalink)

Credits: 2,965
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post

Post after post you are confirming what a dumbass you are.

Who was it who call for a boycott ?

Who was it who is looking for support ?

You cannot be a non-profit and want to run it like a for -profit and expect folks not to ask questions.

When we get on the subject about bullas and losers, we will call you to offer your expertise.
Old 08-14-2007, 10:24 PM   #240 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinifrombx View Post
Post after post you are confirming what a dumbass you are.

Who was it who call for a boycott ?

Who was it who is looking for support ?

You cannot be a non-profit and want to run it like a for -profit and expect folks not to ask questions.

When we get on the subject about bullas and losers, we will call you to offer your expertise.
bakes, you cool wid me but he got ya that time