Old 08-12-2007, 03:43 PM   #211 (permalink)

Credits: 3,381
Originally Posted by DeSocaPrincess View Post
but what i want to see is all the Mas and Steel leaders and members along with all the concerned like you and others come to a meeting and CONSTRUCTIVILY!!! (sp) hash out what needs to happen and and make a solid plan for those steps to take place. also for those concerned but not directly invloved to understand from an inside view of what it takes to put this show on. also
for the most part ive been busting unfair chops in this thread...

but on the real.....the thing that i dont like is the way hawks is playing with the numbers painting a picture that looks like they have been LOSING 60k a year out of their pockets to put a band on the road and have been getting nothing in return while the city is making 300 million in profits.

im not saying that WIADCA and the CITY are treating the bands completely fair but at the same time i dont think their abuse is as bad as they make it seem.

The tone of HAWKS thread is that it basically comes down to money. basically, what they are saying is that they arent going to participate unless they get paid because without their participation and the participation of other bands there will be NO parade. If i am reading into this correctly, HAWKS doesnt want the city to capitalize on them.

i know alot goes into putting on this "show" MOST people work for free or a very VERY small fee to make the parade go on. most folks do it for the LOVE of our west indian culture.

With regards to the cost of the costume, the money you mentioned is start up cash needed that gets made back once the costume is completed and sold. Why not take the deposit money and BUY all the needed supplies for the costume instead of buying the materials up front? yeah you will need to buy the samples but once you start getting orders you will be fine. A big band like hawks is experienced enough to know how many costumes they will need to make and by this point should know how to make them without losing money from unsold costumes. if the costume costs 200 retail, it probably costs about 100 to make. the extra hundred should be used to offset unsold costumes, costumes that need extra material, etc.
Old 08-12-2007, 03:59 PM   #212 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,270
Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
Bwoy yuh like fi spar e?

Explanation of funds..no need to even go into such a low level discussion, what is the point?

Fiscal conversation over my head..lol..lets see... Double BSEE, MSEE, MBA and numerous industry certifications in my feild..the very programs you are using on your trading desk..were probably written by me..so any time yuh ready king mon..we can go deep into derivatives or we can keep it at your level...”Hawks money situation...”We go buck up and have a zeen.

One other thing….sponsors have been tripping over themselves to work with us in the past few years and this year as they saw our withdrawal as an opportunity to further divide us (community). In fact we waited for the most opportune time to make our voice heard. Another one for you…WIADCA has been losing sponsors every year. You know where they have gone? Directly to the bands! All of them. Hawks would not backdoor WIADCA as bad as they are because these very sponsors take the same approach of divide and conquer, so the door get shut in their face too. Yuh a numbers man zeen…if dem spend 25 – 40 k on a billboard in said community for a week or so, den want to turn around and pay we 5k-8k to pump my people with dem poison. It going to take a lot more $$ to go that route and even then it will be done our way! Check the level of the consciousness… Fighting a losing battle? Never, you fight small battles to win the WAR. You feel this is only about a few costumes. Yuh sound somewhat educated…what are wars fought over…MONEY & POWER… Mi tired….gawn ah sleep..

Cheers

Man...the truth of the fact is that you guys at Hawks Management lack the business sense to execute a plan of action to cover your expenses ....that is my conclusion from reading into what you have written.

You have a member list...right ?

I am a member, or better yet I am on your mailing list, now if you you guys are a true 501 c3, how come you don't solicit funds or donation by that mailing list and send out a form to use with your taxes with your tax deduction contributions, how Come ?

This will kill all the objections about lack of funding !

So again I have given you another great idea....send out Tax Deduction contribution starting at $25, $50, $100, $ 500, etc.... I will personally bring my tax deduction contribution to you if you send me a form to claim it on my taxes....

Do the math, min 1000 ppl on the list, if you get 500 to send you $25, tax ded contribution, it is a start right ? ....instead of sending out that cd with the boat ride video, etc ...send a contribution request...

So, in summary, if you and the others mas bands fail again to do this...all you are saying is that just like the WIADCA, you guys want sponsorship without accountability, hence you which to continue to tief ppl funds !

So don't come crying about boycott next year..

BTW, I was just driving down Eastern PKWY, WIADCA just put up their banners on every other light pole with each sponsors name...very impressive ! Delta, American Airlines, Citibank, Western Union....check it out !

We will miss you, regroup and come again...clearly, you guys have the Mas ting down but lack the business sense to execute a plan !

Last edited by socapineman; 08-12-2007 at 04:02 PM..
Old 08-12-2007, 04:13 PM   #213 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 7,270
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
for the most part ive been busting unfair chops in this thread...

but on the real.....the thing that i dont like is the way hawks is playing with the numbers painting a picture that looks like they have been LOSING 60k a year out of their pockets to put a band on the road and have been getting nothing in return while the city is making 300 million in profits.

im not saying that WIADCA and the CITY are treating the bands completely fair but at the same time i dont think their abuse is as bad as they make it seem.

The tone of HAWKS thread is that it basically comes down to money. basically, what they are saying is that they arent going to participate unless they get paid because without their participation and the participation of other bands there will be NO parade. If i am reading into this correctly, HAWKS doesnt want the city to capitalize on them.

i know alot goes into putting on this "show" MOST people work for free or a very VERY small fee to make the parade go on. most folks do it for the LOVE of our west indian culture.

With regards to the cost of the costume, the money you mentioned is start up cash needed that gets made back once the costume is completed and sold. Why not take the deposit money and BUY all the needed supplies for the costume instead of buying the materials up front? yeah you will need to buy the samples but once you start getting orders you will be fine. A big band like hawks is experienced enough to know how many costumes they will need to make and by this point should know how to make them without losing money from unsold costumes. if the costume costs 200 retail, it probably costs about 100 to make. the extra hundred should be used to offset unsold costumes, costumes that need extra material, etc.

Again, you are making way too much sense for most to understand....at the end of the day, Hawks, and any other bands need to point back the finger at their management...they have dropped the ball !
Old 08-12-2007, 06:36 PM   #214 (permalink)
....::RIP Fay::....

Credits: 1,923
WTF..no performers on the floats...the the thing about nudity which makes no damn sense...labor day is known for near naked people..im supposed to be in the parade this year and if its wack im gonna be vexed till de end...and that day is my birthday so if anything is ruined i will be pissed.
Old 08-12-2007, 06:57 PM   #215 (permalink)

Credits: 202
The major difference between the puerto rican day parade and the carnival is that U CAN ACTUALLY SEE THE PARADE AT THE PUERTO RICAN PARADE BUT U CAN SEE SH*T AT THE CARNIVAL. For those of us that are spectators behind the police line this is a problem at the carnival. It is very annoying having to constantly move over so that people can jump over the police line to go jump in a band. I've seen enough arguments and fights break out when the uncivilized jumper wants to jump over the bar but the spectator wont let them through. With too many people on the parkway its hard to see any of the costumed bands. sometimes u cant even see some of the large ones.

There were instances where someone would come and stand right in front of me knowing damn well i can't see through them. i dont have superman vision.
this is where i have to get vocal and tell them to move. first i ask kindly but when i see dont dont want to move or listen, thats when an argument is going to start. WHAT HEAVY POLICE PRESENT?? when i need them to move these people they're no where to be found but if i shoot a gun in the air, all of a sudden they would appear.

JUMPERS NEED TO STOP BEING FRIGGNG RUDE AND LET OTHERS WATCH THE PARADE WITHOUT BEING HARRASS TO LET THEM THROUGH TO JUMP OVER THE BAR. DO THAT SH*T AT THE END OF THE BLOCK. THE JUMP UP ZONE IS AT FLATBUSH AVE. GO DOWN THERE AND WAIT FOR THE FRIGGING BAND TO COME DOWN TO JUMP UP IN. THE CARNIVAL ASSOCIATION NEED TO WORK ON CROWN CONTROL. IN MY OPINION THE POLICE SLACK OFF OVER THE YEARS. MAYBE POLICE PRESENCE IS HEAVY ALONG CERTAIN PARTS OF THE PARKWAY CAUSE WHERE I BE, ITS NOT THE HEAVY. WHEN THE PARADE FIRST START, WE SEE POLICE BUT GIVE IT ABOUT AN HOUR, WE DONT SEE NONE.

That's the only beef I have with the carnival. Sorry but I had to vent.
Old 08-12-2007, 08:19 PM   #216 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,939
Originally Posted by Socakay View Post
The major difference between the puerto rican day parade and the carnival is that U CAN ACTUALLY SEE THE PARADE AT THE PUERTO RICAN PARADE BUT U CAN SEE SH*T AT THE CARNIVAL. For those of us that are spectators behind the police line this is a problem at the carnival. It is very annoying having to constantly move over so that people can jump over the police line to go jump in a band. I've seen enough arguments and fights break out when the uncivilized jumper wants to jump over the bar but the spectator wont let them through. With too many people on the parkway its hard to see any of the costumed bands. sometimes u cant even see some of the large ones.

There were instances where someone would come and stand right in front of me knowing damn well i can't see through them. i dont have superman vision.
this is where i have to get vocal and tell them to move. first i ask kindly but when i see dont dont want to move or listen, thats when an argument is going to start. WHAT HEAVY POLICE PRESENT?? when i need them to move these people they're no where to be found but if i shoot a gun in the air, all of a sudden they would appear.

JUMPERS NEED TO STOP BEING FRIGGNG RUDE AND LET OTHERS WATCH THE PARADE WITHOUT BEING HARRASS TO LET THEM THROUGH TO JUMP OVER THE BAR. DO THAT SH*T AT THE END OF THE BLOCK. THE JUMP UP ZONE IS AT FLATBUSH AVE. GO DOWN THERE AND WAIT FOR THE FRIGGING BAND TO COME DOWN TO JUMP UP IN. THE CARNIVAL ASSOCIATION NEED TO WORK ON CROWN CONTROL. IN MY OPINION THE POLICE SLACK OFF OVER THE YEARS. MAYBE POLICE PRESENCE IS HEAVY ALONG CERTAIN PARTS OF THE PARKWAY CAUSE WHERE I BE, ITS NOT THE HEAVY. WHEN THE PARADE FIRST START, WE SEE POLICE BUT GIVE IT ABOUT AN HOUR, WE DONT SEE NONE.

That's the only beef I have with the carnival. Sorry but I had to vent.
I guess your vexation got the best of your speed typing. Anyhow, i do agree with much you have said, the one thing i do not like about it also is seeing the ghetto NYPD helicopter flying really low as if its Vietnam or some shit, i also ask my self the question, if those idiots in that very same helicopter should hit a air pocket or get hit by a strong cross wind that can push them into the buildings or even worst, experience as sudden hydrolic failure, how are they going to do an emergency landing? Are they going to land on the peoples heads? and is flying so low really that neccassary, i don't care if your the police, the FAA rules and regulations applies to all airborne aircraft that they must remain at least 1,000 ft above the highest obstacle in a congested area and these idiots do not be at a 1,000ft. I think that matter should also be addressed. Anyhow, to think they are going to move this thing on FLATBUSH ave where EASTERN PKWY is not even that wide enough to hold so much people, its a disaster in the making.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586
Old 08-13-2007, 10:40 PM   #217 (permalink)

Credits: 98
Carnival Financing 101

how could that be? i thought all you needed were some costumes that the people pay for, the truck and the dj. what else is needed? whats the breakdown?
Here it is in a nutshell:

Truck (Float): $15k Per Truck
Driver
Gas
Flatbed
Construction (Labor)
Material (Studs etc)
Generator
Gas for generator (Diesel)
Banners
DJ
Sound System
Liability Insurance
Refreshments for Masqueraders (Customer Service)
$3k
Marketing Cost: Lets just say if you do not have a name, this component will sink you even further!
Permit Cost to WIADCA % of monies of whatever sponsor you bring in, essentially extortion. According to them, they have the right to the parkway for that day, thus they insist that they can censor what goes on.

Ok, sum it up: $60k. Keep in mind we did not include the over head that you will have to endure in having a MAS camp (Stipends for workers, Electricity & Rent/Mortgage, Phone etc). Also realize that whatever sponsorship you get will be taxed by WIADCA. The year we had two trucks was a tremendous cost.

Let take it a step further, depending on how you manage your business, once you engaged in a contract for the aforementioned, you are $60k in, folks want to be paid. At the beginning of the season, you drop 30K to start.

Now people in this thread that consider themselves an authority without going through this exercise and not ask as you have done, will tell you the following, ok sponsorship + selling costumes should cover your cost. So let me answer that before they even ask... What investment will you make in such a product as carnival with that kind of money, knowing that you have a 85% chance of coming up significantly short, and a 10% chance of breaking even and 5% chance of ending up in the black? So ask your trading desk friend what he will do in that situation. It would appear to the logical person that you have better ways to make your investment, like perhaps something for the community.

Lastly, our approach is simple, those who benefit from activities who wish to see it thrive should incur some of the work and become a partner in the development and sustaining of the infrastructure. Even if the City makes $1 off this carnival some % should be reinvested back into the communities that produce it. Does that make some sort of sense. The notion that we should send out letters and request monies from supporters is bewildering to me, when they support us in so many ways already (purchasing the costumes, events etc). That approach is the equivalent of asking the actors of a Broadway show to stand outside of 42nd street day after day and beg for public support while the show promoters are rolling in the cash. The last time I checked, slavery was over some 400 years ago. "Release the chain"

Yuh still want to bring a band? If you do, I would tell you, take that 30K and go buy some real estate, there is plenty of blood on the streets.

Respect
Old 08-13-2007, 10:59 PM   #218 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post

Man...the truth of the fact is that you guys at Hawks Management lack the business sense to execute a plan of action to cover your expenses ....that is my conclusion from reading into what you have written.

You have a member list...right ?

I am a member, or better yet I am on your mailing list, now if you you guys are a true 501 c3, how come you don't solicit funds or donation by that mailing list and send out a form to use with your taxes with your tax deduction contributions, how Come ?

I respect you for trying, but not so fast my friend;

If everyone had our mentality of supporting each other, I would say you have valid point. However that is not the case, this is from experience. We tend to want to cut each other down than prop each other up.

This will kill all the objections about lack of funding NOT!

So again I have given you another great idea....send out Tax Deduction contribution starting at $25, $50, $100, $ 500, etc.... I will personally bring my tax deduction contribution to you if you send me a form to claim it on my taxes....

Do the math, min 1000 ppl on the list, if you get 500 to send you $25, tax ded contribution, it is a start right ? ....instead of sending out that cd with the boat ride video, etc ...send a contribution request...

IT would be a hell of a lot more!

So, in summary, if you and the others mas bands fail again to do this...all you are saying is that just like the WIADCA, you guys want sponsorship without accountability, hence you which to continue to tief ppl funds !

Your definition of failure please? 40 years of doing this hardly qualifies as failure. Its called transcending of time, if your model does not coincide with the changing dynamics you are doomed. Please refer to your basics for the series 7 you have probably taken.So don't come crying about boycott next year..

Nothing to get upset about, we do not consider this a lost, in fact the financial bloodletting of the organization will finally stop. A large % if not all of the funds go into to proping this carnival up..

BTW, I was just driving down Eastern PKWY, WIADCA just put up their banners on every other light pole with each sponsors name...very impressive ! Delta, American Airlines, Citibank, Western Union....check it out !

Perhaps you should ask WIADCA how much $$ they received from these institutions? Or better yet, look up their books online and look at corporate donors ..then lets see how impress you will be.

We will miss you, regroup and come again...clearly, you guys have the Mas ting down but lack the business sense to execute a plan !

It appears that again speak from a position of arrogance and ignorance, a recipe for being clueless. Why whould we want to come back to that? I think what you will see is other bands following our lead.

Bokor Tov... In case you did not know, that is Hebrew for good night.. Your statement about public support made me chuckle, you probably thought you were referring to a Jewish community that support each other, better go check the

Last edited by Hawks; 08-13-2007 at 11:04 PM..
Old 08-13-2007, 11:06 PM   #219 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
Here it is in a nutshell:

Truck (Float): $15k Per Truck
Driver
Gas
Flatbed
Construction (Labor)
Material (Studs etc)
Generator
Gas for generator (Diesel)
Banners
DJ
Sound System
Liability Insurance
Refreshments for Masqueraders (Customer Service)
$3k
Marketing Cost: Lets just say if you do not have a name, this component will sink you even further!
Permit Cost to WIADCA % of monies of whatever sponsor you bring in, essentially extortion. According to them, they have the right to the parkway for that day, thus they insist that they can censor what goes on.

Ok, sum it up: $60k. Keep in mind we did not include the over head that you will have to endure in having a MAS camp (Stipends for workers, Electricity & Rent/Mortgage, Phone etc). Also realize that whatever sponsorship you get will be taxed by WIADCA. The year we had two trucks was a tremendous cost.

Let take it a step further, depending on how you manage your business, once you engaged in a contract for the aforementioned, you are $60k in, folks want to be paid. At the beginning of the season, you drop 30K to start.

Now people in this thread that consider themselves an authority without going through this exercise and not ask as you have done, will tell you the following, ok sponsorship + selling costumes should cover your cost. So let me answer that before they even ask... What investment will you make in such a product as carnival with that kind of money, knowing that you have a 85% chance of coming up significantly short, and a 10% chance of breaking even and 5% chance of ending up in the black? So ask your trading desk friend what he will do in that situation. It would appear to the logical person that you have better ways to make your investment, like perhaps something for the community.

Lastly, our approach is simple, those who benefit from activities who wish to see it thrive should incur some of the work and become a partner in the development and sustaining of the infrastructure. Even if the City makes $1 off this carnival some % should be reinvested back into the communities that produce it. Does that make some sort of sense. The notion that we should send out letters and request monies from supporters is bewildering to me, when they support us in so many ways already (purchasing the costumes, events etc). That approach is the equivalent of asking the actors of a Broadway show to stand outside of 42nd street day after day and beg for public support while the show promoters are rolling in the cash. The last time I checked, slavery was over some 400 years ago. "Release the chain"

Yuh still want to bring a band? If you do, I would tell you, take that 30K and go buy some real estate, there is plenty of blood on the streets.

Respect
thanks for the breakdown. it seems like most of the cost comes from making the mas. doesnt the price people pay for their costume more than cover the cost to make the costumes?
Old 08-13-2007, 11:12 PM   #220 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,129
thanks for the breakdown. it seems like most of the cost comes from making the mas. doesnt the price people pay for their costume more than cover the cost to make the costumes?
I think the cost of the costume may pay for the costumes, but what about the trucks, the DJ's, maintaining the mas camps (rent, con ed,) all a day costs money dred...
Old 08-13-2007, 11:20 PM   #221 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
I think the cost of the costume may pay for the costumes, but what about the trucks, the DJ's, maintaining the mas camps (rent, con ed,) all a day costs money dred...
dont get me wrong...i dont think Hawks and the other big bands walk away with any big profits. i just dont think that they lose as much as we are led to believe. should they lose anything.....NO! at the end of the day i am willing to bet that they ATLEAST end up even.

from an investment point of view i dont think bringing a band is the best way to go. As far as celbrating our culture and enjoying carnival i think it is MORE than worth it!

i dont think bringing a band should be considered an investment.
Old 08-13-2007, 11:24 PM   #222 (permalink)

Of the ones that are purchased yes, remember all your manufacturing is done up front, you make 1000 costumes and 1 sell you have 999 collecting dust...a sunk investment. Not to mention that it will not cover all other infrastructure cost. Any way you slice and dice it, it is a difficult craft to make it work!
Old 08-13-2007, 11:28 PM   #223 (permalink)
T-dot I gine miss yuh!

Credits: 25,129
dont get me wrong...i dont think Hawks and the other big bands walk away with any big profits. i just dont think that they lose as much as we are led to believe. should they lose anything.....NO! at the end of the day i am willing to bet that they ATLEAST end up even.

from an investment point of view i dont think bringing a band is the best way to go. As far as celbrating our culture and enjoying carnival i think it is MORE than worth it!
Worth it to whom? Those of us who come out once a year jump up have a good time with money still left in our pockets?? Of course to US its worth it, but to those who put their blood, sweat, and tears into this all year round, its a slap in the face to know how much $$ being generated and yet you're still forced to be begging and throwing bar b ques just to get some cash..

Check out the thread Hawks just posted on Sesame Flyers..
Old 08-13-2007, 11:32 PM   #224 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
Worth it to whom? Those of us who come out once a year jump up have a good time with money still left in our pockets?? Of course to US its worth it, but to those who put their blood, sweat, and tears into this all year round, its a slap in the face to know how much $$ being generated and yet you're still forced to be begging and throwing bar b ques just to get some cash..

Check out the thread Hawks just posted on Sesame Flyers..
it is more than worth it for the people the make the mas and participate in the carnival. these people do it because they LOVE what they do.
Old 08-13-2007, 11:34 PM   #225 (permalink)

So spending anywhere from 60k-200k should just be done for a jump? Besides the cultural aspect, can you explain to me how that is worth it? If it is about the culture, there is a frigin carnival just about in every city world wide...No need for us to keep losing $$, the celebrations conintue, just not off of our sweat any longer.