Old 08-10-2007, 06:20 PM   #181 (permalink)

Credits: 7,922
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
this whole thing is facked and the city isnt gonna give allya your way. first of all, allya asking for a cut of the money that the city makes on the event. if thats the case, then when i start my own joe shmo band then i will be entitled get piece of the pie also. when the bands start participating for money its den you go see madness!
im gonna go to bobbies and get some swimsuits, glue a few feathers on it and call dat george, then ill PAY 200 people 100 bucks to play mas wid my band...meanwhile back at the ranch ill be getting 60 thousand from my piece of the pie. Ill end up making 30k just like dat! count me IN!

*dies LMFAO* You got jokes.lol You really think NY section leaders making $30-$60K in profit off of selling and making costumes for the bk parade. Yuh better off selling doubles, snow cone and red solo on the side of de road for Labor day babe.lol Some of allyuh jokey in here.
Successful people work on themselves! While the "over-night wonders" become arrogant and quickly disappear, really successful people work on their personality, their leadership skills, management skills, and every other detail of life. When a relationship or business deal goes sour, they assume they can learn from it a...nd they expect to do better next time. Successful people don’t tolerate flaws; they fix them!

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-10-2007 at 06:26 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 06:35 PM   #182 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 20,990
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Why do ppl play mas in Trinidad or anywhere else? Do their families get some benefit from the $700+ USD they put in them band leaders pockets? Be happy the event generates cash which encourages the gov't to want to see the thing continue. I can't believe you said why do ppl participate. So we should all throw up our hands and say well if we're not getting paid just let OUR CELEBRATION die?

You're missing the point and i don't think you should compare Trinidad and Tobago Carnival for which is a NATIONAL EVENT and it CELEBRATES THE CULTURE of the people of the COUNTRY. It is totally different, for where the GOVERNMENT EARNS THE PROFITS from the event to be applied to services to serve the needs of the TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO nationals. Do these same earnings benefit the Caribbean Community? Answer that question. Where does any part of the $300 Million dollars go too? In which community has seen any of this $300 million dollars?

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Sweetheart, every year I put about $1,200 into bandleader’s and promoter’s hands to play mas in Trini not to mention the money I give to american airlines to get me there. I have no idea if any of them bandleaders care about the culture or simply running and business and looking to make some dollars and I know damn well AA doesn't give a rats ass. Do you see the point I'm making? Allyuh taking this somewhere else completely. WE want the thing not them. The fact that it generates money is good because that is a bargaining chip...an incentive to them to keep it going. Let's be real...when this thing had shootings, gunfire in the air, stabbings etc they coulda very easily said that this thing required to much manpower etc to keep it safe and just done the whole thing....this even is a privilege and I don't wanna hear anything about the Irish parade. P.R. Parade etc, they getting a privilege to but allyuh feel allyuh should get money too. You talking about schools and roads and all of this....what does that have to do w/ anything? Vote for officials that will address the things you mentioned, go out and advocate etc or run for local office yourself but none of that has a thing to do w/ the Labor Day parade.
What what what? DIVA, it is a privilege for them to have Caribbean people help make the city and them MONEY. And as for the band leaders wanting some money from this thing, why not? America itself revolves around money, NEW YORK operates with money, it is not like back home, yeah yuh can put on a ting and everybody feel good and nice, up here to get certain equipment , from trucks, speakers, DJs, Drivers, Insurance for the truck for the driver and having it up to code to pass inspection and registering with the WIADCA the list goes on, THESE THINGS COST MONEYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY DIVA, and plus to manufacture the costumes from importing certain fabric, pay for customs shipment orders again THESE THINGS COST MONEYYYYYYYYYYYYYY so your damn right, if the CITY CAN make a whopping $300 million dollars from this thing, WHY THE BAND LEADERS can get a percentage of that. If they have no money to put all these things together then that means, NO BAND+NO CARNIVAL= NO #300 MILLION DOLLARS for the city. At least give them something in return for their efforts to put aside for NEXT YEAR PREPARATIONS to make the event even more bigger and more spectacular and everyone will be HAPPY. Thats it.,

I'm good.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gf1zzbC90uI

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586.

Last edited by Bago20; 08-10-2007 at 06:54 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 06:47 PM   #183 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
Change can only come from the micro level. In essence if the masqueraders boycott the bands that prop up this foolishness on the parkway demand change the bands will listen, no $$ no participation. Unless yuh's like Bush and Cheney and your vote dont matter..
Well to have the masqueraders boycott the band will be hard hawks, remember these are individuals that have traveled from across the globe and around the country to participate in this event and the majority that are not New Yorkers do not know the working politics of this situation. Only the band leaders do. So some form of round table have to form and talks will have to commence like a U.N Conference btw all BAND MEMBERS including HAWKS Intl.

The WIADCA is the enforcer and the BAND LEADERS are the SOURCE.

I'm good.

Old 08-10-2007, 06:54 PM   #184 (permalink)
IMIX H.N.I.C

Credits: 1,824
wait they wanna move the parade to flatbush next year?? That would be hot then the hebes wouldnt complain and there is a longer parade route. i support that.
Old 08-10-2007, 07:00 PM   #185 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Originally Posted by sankofaa View Post
wait they wanna move the parade to flatbush next year?? That would be hot then the hebes wouldnt complain and there is a longer parade route. i support that.
I am very reluctant to agree with that move in a sense, because there are certain blocks on FLATBUSH AVE that are not civilized in terms of who resides on those blocks. So it all depends where the starting point will be. Plus FLATBUSH AVE is seriously smaller than the PKWY in terms of WIDTH.

I'm good.

Old 08-10-2007, 07:28 PM   #186 (permalink)
IMIX H.N.I.C

Credits: 1,824
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
I am very reluctant to agree with that move in a sense, because there are certain blocks on FLATBUSH AVE that are not civilized in terms of who resides on those blocks. So it all depends where the starting point will be. Plus FLATBUSH AVE is seriously smaller than the PKWY in terms of WIDTH.
yeah but those uncivilized people will be at the parade regardless, and the width of flatbush is still enough for the floats and mas camps and prob easier to control. Then maybe set up the venodrs all along church so that splits the crowd to an extent.
Old 08-10-2007, 07:35 PM   #187 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Originally Posted by sankofaa View Post
yeah but those uncivilized people will be at the parade regardless, and the width of flatbush is still enough for the floats and mas camps and prob easier to control. Then maybe set up the venodrs all along church so that splits the crowd to an extent.
Hmmm what i am concerned about is crowd control, the thing is, if an incident should happen and people start pushing and running, it is going to be disaster. Just one truck can take up 2 lanes on the BUSH for which FLATBUSH is a One way, opposite direction street. You will have the masqueraders on both sides plus the people. NAH man, its not going to work. If you are to attend if they should go with that method, ha! best to leave your wallet home, but the CONS to it, at least you can have a sexy ting turn around and ask you, IS THAT A FLASH LIGHT thats poking me.

I'm good.

Old 08-10-2007, 08:19 PM   #188 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 10,271
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
if hawks has been participating for all these years without making money on the parade what changed this year to make you guys boycott?

Again, you are making way too much sense.

ou know what they say about ignorance and arrogance?

1. So let me continue to try and enlighten you, if participating in the carnival cost $60k with no assistance from the city, where do you think event profits go. Hence why should all the profits go to prop up something that does not benefit us or the community in the long run? Don't bother answer!

2. Inner war? Perhaps you should check out Hawks International for the latest?

3. Further your knowledge Carnival Breakout Page Hawks International

4. When you can do what we have done for the past 40 year..then we will have our attention, until then...humble yourself breds...

ignorance and arrogance!

My statements are far from that....they are very much on point, just like how you feel your statements are on point !

I can tell you this, Hawks and the family run WIADCA are in no position to take on City Hall .

Again, your boycott is pointless just like it was four years ago.... it is clear that you have no sense of the chain of command and how to implement changes.....i gave you numerous suggests in my very first post to you .

You know where to begin, Rogers Ave. between Sullivan Place and Montgomery St. ....

I will now book mark this thread, so 4 yrs from now when you cry boycott again, like you did a few years back on IMIX..I can get another good laugh.

you know the issues and the problems, address them as such....you are the one missing the beat if you think NYC or any Big City give too shit about any W.Is. and their parades!
Old 08-10-2007, 08:19 PM   #189 (permalink)
Custom User Title

Credits: 2,312
only one man can save us

Old 08-10-2007, 10:01 PM   #190 (permalink)

Credits: 118
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
Again, you are making way too much sense.

ignorance and arrogance!

My statements are far from that....they are very much on point, just like how you feel your statements are on point !

I can tell you this, Hawks and the family run WIADCA are in no position to take on City Hall .

Again, your boycott is pointless just like it was four years ago.... it is clear that you have no sense of the chain of command and how to implement changes.....i gave you numerous suggests in my very first post to you .

You know where to begin, Rogers Ave. between Sullivan Place and Montgomery St. ....

I will now book mark this thread, so 4 yrs from now when you cry boycott again, like you did a few years back on IMIX..I can get another good laugh.

you know the issues and the problems, address them as such....you are the one missing the beat if you think NYC or any Big City give too shit about any W.Is. and their parades!
Easy to play Monday am quarterback. Your suggestions are appreciated however they make no sense. The reason they make no sense is because you have to be in the midst of it to have a solid understanding. Thus remain on the outside and keep trying to portray yourself as an authority on the subject. You keep exposing how clueless you really are. I will say it again...walk a mile in our shoes for 40 years then talk. Also in the previous years when we withdraw from the carnival, it indeed in fact did effect change, perhaps you should ask the other bands what change did take place that they all benefited from the leadership we displayed. Concessions were made, however time has once again made those concessions obsolete. I guess we will agree to disagree, however my position comes from experience, where is yours born from? It is great to know that you are in fact book marking this thread, Rome was not built in a day. The benefits of what we do now will be felt for years to come. When you check back, perhaps your ignorance would be somewhat abated by then.
Old 08-10-2007, 10:04 PM   #191 (permalink)

Credits: 118
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
Well to have the masqueraders boycott the band will be hard hawks, remember these are individuals that have traveled from across the globe and around the country to participate in this event and the majority that are not New Yorkers do not know the working politics of this situation. Only the band leaders do. So some form of round table have to form and talks will have to commence like a U.N Conference btw all BAND MEMBERS including HAWKS Intl.

The WIADCA is the enforcer and the BAND LEADERS are the SOURCE.

It will be hard to set at the table with other bands who sell themselves out for 5k in sponsorship $$ with 5 cases of beer. Someone forgot to tell them colonialism and handouts are not accepted and not needed.
Old 08-10-2007, 10:08 PM   #192 (permalink)

Credits: 41
Easy to play Monday am quarterback. Your suggestions are appreciated however they make no sense. The reason they make no sense is because you have to be in the midst of it to have a solid understanding. Thus remain on the outside and keep trying to portray yourself as an authority on the subject. You keep exposing how clueless you really are. I will say it again...walk a mile in our shoes for 40 years then talk. Also in the previous years when we withdraw from the carnival, it indeed in fact did effect change, perhaps you should ask the other bands what change did take place that they all benefited from the leadership we displayed. Concessions were made, however time has once again made those concessions obsolete. I guess we will agree to disagree, however my position comes from experience, where is yours born from? It is great to know that you are in fact book marking this thread, Rome was not built in a day. The benefits of what we do now will be felt for years to come. When you check back, perhaps your ignorance would be somewhat abated by then.
yo hawks dude, tap di fackery and bring hunna mas! if you really not gonna bring the band then let me know for sure so that i can launch my band named Hawk National. im sure i can trick a few hundred people into playin wid me. ill even use the same sound company from boston that you guys use...it will look official!
Old 08-10-2007, 10:12 PM   #193 (permalink)

Credits: 41
It will be hard to set at the table with other bands who sell themselves out for 5k in sponsorship $$ with 5 cases of beer. Someone forgot to tell them colonialism and handouts are not accepted and not needed.
5 k in sponsorship, a sponsored truck with generator, a fund raising fete or 2, a big boatride.. the mas costumes pay for themselves and then some. how much more cash do you really need?
Old 08-10-2007, 11:09 PM   #194 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Well since that is the case then the serious band leaders need to seperate themselves from those who are not serious. Hopefully the serious ones will be a majority. I really don't know or can say much about this situation because i do not know the full 100 on the details of everything, if i did, maybe my stance and comments would be a little bit more informative as to say what you guys should do. The ones that do sell out quickly, it is an issue. If i had the money and the resources, i would create a new organization. But before if i do so, the main thing is to build links with the local politician, and build links with City HALL. THAT IS THE LOCAL POLITICIANS JOB. is to do exactly that, speak for the people. If they don't, we just votes their asses out of office next term, Business is Business but black people are not consistant at all when it comes to matters such as that.

You know people can say what ever they want to say about HAWKS, i still feel you guys made a right decision still. Because a warrior has to stand beyond the relm of cowards and set and example. Because as time progress, more and more outside sources are going to gain more and more control over the Carnival and pretty soon the WIADCA would completely have no say what so ever to the function of the event.

It was the same mistake the 13TH dynasty King of Eypt made, when he did not take yield to the advice of his cousin who said to him, you must get rid of the Asians and the Europeans that are settling on the out skirts of the kingdom, they will soon become a threat. And you see what happen.

Hmm.

I'm good.

Old 08-10-2007, 11:47 PM   #195 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 10,271

From Common sense and running a trading desk.

Well...I see you refuse to address two of my main concerns regarding your so call boycott !

1) Address If you think NYC will miss W.Is. on The Parkway if we boycott it .

2) You can't want changes and talking about boycott without calling for a shake-up in management at WIADCA.

Remember, you said it, : "Yolanda is not the problem, her supporting cast is. Once again, talking from experience and being in the "inner circle." Yolanda has progressive ideas, if you cannot get your agenda passed in your own organization and get marginalized, then you have issues. Also, do not be so quick to asses blame. Follow the $$ train and see who benefits the most from what we do. You will then clearly see that WIADCA is in the food chain but not at the end. In my opinion the ones to blame are the entities that are benefiting the most and the entities that are not benefiting it but supporting it, City<-->Bands. WIADCA is in the middle. Study it!"

my answer :

To me, that is a foolish statement, so she is the President, thinking out the Box, progressive ideas...yet, her supporting cast members are holding her back....well, it is common sense to me here that we have either a President that LACKS LEADERSHIP ABILITY, OR A NO CONFIDENCE VOTE BY HER STAFF, WHICH ONE IS IT ?

There is nothing to study.... NYC and a few Businesses will always have the upper hand !

Correct, I am not in the inner circle, but you don't need a MBA from Harvard to realize that if the organization that is suppose to represent the General Members lack any political clout, or accountability of the financial books... it is only clear that the shake up needs to begin there.

Your Reasons to Boycott:

"To our many friends & supporters who have participated and enjoyed our Labor-Day Carnival presentation over the past 30 + years, and to the general public as a whole, we wish to thank you for your support during this period. Unfortunately we have come to the decision that we can no longer participate in the West Indian Day Carnival presentation because of the increasing cost, lack of funding, inability to host fund raising events, the inconvenient and excessive restrictions imposed by the NYPD and the inability of WIADCA (West Indian American Day Carnival Association) to properly represent the producers of this significant event, perhaps the largest of it’s kind in the USA."

Please explain to me your inability to host a fund raising event...or lack of funding ?

It also seems to me that a shake-up and accountability of funds need to be address in the inner circle of Hawks Mang. clearly you have people on the board that can't get the job done also !

Fund Raising...please spare me the BS, what events Hawks put on that didn't make money ? ...unless of course someone in there is tiefing the money.... I know for a fact that i HAVE ATTENDED ALMOST ALL OF YOUR BLACK TIE AFFAIRS AND BOAT RIDES ....GO ASK RUDY OR LISA WHO BUY THE MOST TICKETS FROM THEM THEN GET BACK TO ME.

Last edited by socapineman; 08-10-2007 at 11:50 PM..