Old 08-10-2007, 06:01 PM   #166 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,935
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
A huge amount of those million of ppl are ppl that have no true regard for w. indian culture...they're out there because its something to do and its free and the trouble causing riff raff are part of that. Those who care about and appreciate the culture are the ones that will pay for the seats. Quality over quantity.
So Diva dear, i don't want to make it seem as if i am picking on you but, would it be comforting to you to know that the very same ppl that are making money from this event, dont give a rats ass about our culture?

Anyhow i am heading home now so my input will be later.

PEACCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEE AAAUUTTTTTTTTTTTT.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586
Old 08-10-2007, 06:06 PM   #167 (permalink)

Credits: 56,863
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
Well shit if that is really the case then why are these bands participating in this thing still? You know the damn roads on flatbush needs to fix, roads on Bedford ave Ffranklin ave Rogers ave and Nostrand ave much less Utica and Church ave, so with all the profit that is earned from this event which i know can clearly fix these minor problems on these streets and also add more community youth centers and also used to save the ROLLER SKATING RING which is no longer possible. WHY ARE THESE BANDS AND U PPL PARTICIPATING IN THIS THING WHEN WE NOT GETTING SHIT BACK IN RETURN?

AMAZING HOW THE HOUSE NEGRO THINKS. JUST AS LONG THEY ENJOY THEMSELVES THAT IS ALL THAT MATTERS RIGHT? SHIT I AM SURE THAT SOME OF THESE PEOPLE WHO ARE IN AGREEMENT TO THESE REGULATIONS and what else going on are not even from the community. I could be wrong but overall, it makes no sense.
Why do ppl play mas in Trinidad or anywhere else? Do their families get some benefit from the $700+ USD they put in them band leaders pockets? Be happy the event generates cash which encourages the gov't to want to see the thing continue. I can't believe you said why do ppl participate. So we should all throw up our hands and say well if we're not getting paid just let OUR CELEBRATION die?
Old 08-10-2007, 06:08 PM   #168 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Not true dahlin. If its done correctly people should be able to apply for grants and have a real budget that can reflect showing how they are impacting the community with several different educational/cultural programs. That's why WIADCA have those surveys on their website that folks often don't take the time to fill out. Those are assessment tools use for funding not public forums with ten people blowing hot air.lol
Old 08-10-2007, 06:10 PM   #169 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,201
CT have carnival? Look how I'm your "neighbor" and I ent even get invite or info.
Yeah it's supposely their 45th year and it's call the West Indian day Celebration. But that's another long story. To my understanding Seasme Flyers is also suppose to be up here tomorrow as well in the parade. The radio stations that they advertising as sponsors are hot 97 and 93.7FM so it's going to be more of a tourist type carnival I think.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-10-2007 at 06:13 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 06:13 PM   #170 (permalink)

So what is your solution. Do you plan to print out this thread and take it to a corporate sponsor and say I have ten vex imix members. So you should give me $60,000 or else me and my two imix pm friends boycotting the parade that brings in over 4 million people.lol
Have you ever written a Federal, State or City grant before and how much money did they give you after you wrote the grant? Did you have to turn in Quartly reports for the grant with outcome statements and how did you gather and collecting your information? You have to be creative and show effective ways of collecting information for your funding source because they will be holding you accountable in the end for taking tax payers money.
I see you on a roll today
Old 08-10-2007, 06:18 PM   #171 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
I personally think this is a good thing! You will have the "parade of the bands" aka Eastern Parkway and the "showcasing of the bands" aka the stadium real MAS men would love this! Could you imagine talents of a Pter Minshall and the bands really competing in fornt of a crowd that will pay to see it (VIPs). The stadium will turn into a carnival city all week long. If we the bands listen to and learn from the Toronto bandleaders we will demand a piece of the gate $$ which can assist in putting on the production. There is enough $$ flying around based on our slavery...excuse me sweat. Thus...the time to dig in is now. It is only hoped that 2008 we will see significant change. It is only hoped that those who decide to bring their production this year seize the opportunity to have their voice heard on the parkway whilst crossing the stage. It is only hoped that the carnival revelers demand of there band of choice a better time for the money being spent without all the restrictions mentioned in this thread. Otherwise this carnival is doomed.
So that's basicly what it boils down to? Doesn't sound unreasonable to me at all but I don't understand why that request can't be made up front w/out a boycott but only you on the inside know what means are truly necessary. Anyway, you gave me a fabulous visual talking about the stadium as a carnival city for a week and Minshall and them competing...LAWD that would be something!
Old 08-10-2007, 06:20 PM   #172 (permalink)

Yeah it's supposely their 45th year and it's call the West Indian day Celebration. But that's another long story. To my understanding Seasme Flyers is also suppose to be up here tomorrow as well in the parade. The radio stations that they advertising as sponsors are hot 97 and 93.7FM so it's going to be more of a tourist type carnival I think.
What time does all this jump off? I'll see if I can talk the mista into taking the lil drive. Yuh know I not coming if I have to drive myself lol
Old 08-10-2007, 06:30 PM   #173 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
So Diva dear, i don't want to make it seem as if i am picking on you but, would it be comforting to you to know that the very same ppl that are making money from this event, dont give a rats ass about our culture?

Anyhow i am heading home now so my input will be later.

PEACCCCCCCCCCEEEEEEEEEE AAAUUTTTTTTTTTTTT.

Sweetheart, every year I put about $1,200 into bandleader’s and promoter’s hands to play mas in Trini not to mention the money I give to american airlines to get me there. I have no idea if any of them bandleaders care about the culture or simply running and business and looking to make some dollars and I know damn well AA doesn't give a rats ass. Do you see the point I'm making? Allyuh taking this somewhere else completely. WE want the thing not them. The fact that it generates money is good because that is a bargaining chip...an incentive to them to keep it going. Let's be real...when this thing had shootings, gunfire in the air, stabbings etc they coulda very easily said that this thing required to much manpower etc to keep it safe and just done the whole thing....this even is a privilege and I don't wanna hear anything about the Irish parade. P.R. Parade etc, they getting a privilege to but allyuh feel allyuh should get money too. You talking about schools and roads and all of this....what does that have to do w/ anything? Vote for officials that will address the things you mentioned, go out and advocate etc or run for local office yourself but none of that has a thing to do w/ the Labor Day parade.
Old 08-10-2007, 06:30 PM   #174 (permalink)
Cover Girl

What time does all this jump off? I'll see if I can talk the mista into taking the lil drive. Yuh know I not coming if I have to drive myself lol
Well American time I heard 12:30 but if they running on West Indian time that should be about 2:30-8pm they having some concerts at the end of the parade I think. It use to be really good a couple years ago because Beenie man and others will do a free concert but not sure who they booked this year. I'll just be happy to find and be able to buy roti in CT tomorrow.lol
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 08-10-2007, 06:33 PM   #175 (permalink)

Well American time I heard 12:30 but if they running on West Indian time that should be about 2:30-8pm they have some concerts. It use to be really good a couple years ago because Beenie man and them will do a free concert but not sure who they booked this year. I'll just be happy to find and be able to buy roti in CT tomorrow.lol

wait wait wait...is this a more jamaicanish kinda carnival? I almost forget Norwalk & Bridgeport is JA town. Any soca artists does come?
Old 08-10-2007, 06:42 PM   #176 (permalink)
Cover Girl

wait wait wait...is this a more jamaicanish kinda carnival? I almost forget Norwalk & Bridgeport is JA town. Any soca artists does come?
LOL Yeah gyal but don't tell nobody because you know dem Trinis will stay home.. Hartford has over 60,000 West Indians and 58K are Jamaicans. But first prize is $2,500 so I going up for Individaul hopefully nobody make a real King/queen costume so I can win.
Old 08-10-2007, 06:58 PM   #177 (permalink)

Credits: 3,375
this whole thing is facked and the city isnt gonna give allya your way. first of all, allya asking for a cut of the money that the city makes on the event. if thats the case, then when i start my own joe shmo band then i will be entitled get piece of the pie also. when the bands start participating for money its den you go see madness!

im gonna go to bobbies and get some swimsuits, glue a few feathers on it and call dat george, then ill PAY 200 people 100 bucks to play mas wid my band...meanwhile back at the ranch ill be getting 60 thousand from my piece of the pie. Ill end up making 30k just like dat! count me IN!
Old 08-10-2007, 06:59 PM   #178 (permalink)

LOL Yeah gyal but don't tell nobody because you know dem Trinis will stay home.. Hartford has over 60,000 West Indians and 58K are Jamaicans. But first prize is $2,500 so I going up for Individaul hopefully nobody make a real King/queen costume so I can win.

Do yuh thing Hun, I'll keep my fingers crossed for you but I'll pass on that one.
Old 08-10-2007, 07:02 PM   #179 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
this whole thing is facked and the city isnt gonna give allya your way. first of all, allya asking for a cut of the money that the city makes on the event. if thats the case, then when i start my own joe shmo band then i will be entitled get piece of the pie also. when the bands start participating for money its den you go see madness!

Yup. yuh hear ppl now crying bout the cost of Trini mas, wait till the great land of capitalism joins in.
im gonna go to bobbies and get some swimsuits, glue a few feathers on it and call dat george, then ill PAY 200 people 100 bucks to play mas wid my band...meanwhile back at the ranch ill be getting 60 thousand from my piece of the pie. Ill end up making 30k just like dat! count me IN!
Old 08-10-2007, 07:15 PM   #180 (permalink)
schupidy bill n sensible

Credits: 163
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post

shit, where do i sign up, since it look look my precious camo is R.I.P
I wan play mas but mi en able go around searchin fuh a next band 2 jump wid.