Old 08-10-2007, 05:27 PM   #151 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,077
Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
it doenst matter who gets the money....the community wont see a dime of it either way
Not true dahlin. If its done correctly people should be able to apply for grants and have a real budget that can reflect showing how they are impacting the community with several different educational/cultural programs. That's why WIADCA have those surveys on their website that folks often don't take the time to fill out. Those are assessment tools use for funding not public forums with ten people blowing hot air.lol
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-10-2007 at 05:32 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 05:32 PM   #152 (permalink)

Credits: 43,452
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post
Not true dahlin. If its done correctly people should be able to apply for grants and have a real budget that can reflect showing how they are impacting the community with several different educational/cultural programs. That's why WIADCA have those surveys on their website that folks often don't take the time to fill out. Those are assessment tools use for funding not public forums with ten people blowing hot air.lol

Old 08-10-2007, 05:34 PM   #153 (permalink)

Credits: 3,216
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
Well shit if that is really the case then why are these bands participating in this thing still? You know the damn roads on flatbush needs to fix, roads on Bedford ave Ffranklin ave Rogers ave and Nostrand ave much less Utica and Church ave, so with all the profit that is earned from this event which i know can clearly fix these minor problems on these streets and also add more community youth centers and also used to save the ROLLER SKATING RING which is no longer possible. WHY ARE THESE BANDS AND U PPL PARTICIPATING IN THIS THING WHEN WE NOT GETTING SHIT BACK IN RETURN?

AMAZING HOW THE HOUSE NEGRO THINKS. JUST AS LONG THEY ENJOY THEMSELVES THAT IS ALL THAT MATTERS RIGHT? SHIT I AM SURE THAT SOME OF THESE PEOPLE WHO ARE IN AGREEMENT TO THESE REGULATIONS and what else going on are not even from the community. I could be wrong but overall, it makes no sense.

the parade has been going on for years and not only are the schools in need of repair but so are the underfunded schools in the same districts that the parade goes through.

who ever has been getting money for the parade certainly hasnt been using it to help the community. people are greedy.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:35 PM   #154 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,322
Not true dahlin. If its done correctly people should be able to apply for grants and have a real budget that can reflect showing how they are impacting the community with several different educational/cultural programs. That's why WIADCA have those surveys on their website that folks often don't take the time to fill out. Those are assement tools.
Surveys don't mean a damn thing if the funding is sourced somewhere else other than the programs listed in a survey. PPl don't take the time to fill out the survey is because they either know that the WIADCA is full of shit? And plus, what ever e-mail you send them you are sure to never hear back from them. And how is an outside source (such as myself) is able to see the direction of those funds if they are not willing to open their books?

Its like being taxed for federal and state tax when ever you get your pay check. You pay taxes but you don't have a damn clue what the money is being used for.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586
Old 08-10-2007, 05:35 PM   #155 (permalink)

Credits: 94
Well shit if that is really the case then why are these bands participating in this thing still?
Ahhhh this is a question for the other elite bands. They will soon step into the light..the spotlight is moving in there direction slowly but surely, and a lot of dirty laundry will soon be exposed if they do not act. You cannot have 1 of the 3-4 bands take a position that is the obvious while the others sit on the sideline and settle for the short term small benefits. This is for the long haul.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:43 PM   #156 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
Ahhhh this is a question for the other elite bands. They will soon step into the light..the spotlight is moving in there direction slowly but surely, and a lot of dirty laundry will soon be exposed if they do not act. You cannot have 1 of the 3-4 bands take a position that is the obvious while the others sit on the sideline and settle for the short term small benefits. This is for the long haul.
Well i really hope those other band leaders have sense, because you spending all this money in preparation for this event and you have a community center that has a leaking roof top, need more desk and books and a program to take the kids out to the theme park and out of the city to experience life outside of the city and they KNOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW they are not getting much or even anything in return and someone else can sip on a martini under the sun and they still participating.

WAW, FRIGGIN AMAZING.

Its like your working for FREE and making someone else RICH. Some of you people are REALLLY REALLY SMART. I would sure luv to have some of those band leaders run mu business if i am out of the country.shit i would probably have no business to return too.

I'm good.

Last edited by Bago20; 08-10-2007 at 05:45 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 05:45 PM   #157 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Surveys don't mean a damn thing if the funding is sourced somewhere else other than the programs listed in a survey. PPl don't take the time to fill out the survey is because they either know that the WIADCA is full of shit? And plus, what ever e-mail you send them you are sure to never hear back from them. And how is an outside source (such as myself) is able to see the direction of those funds if they are not willing to open their books?

Its like being taxed for federal and state tax when ever you get your pay check. You pay taxes but you don't have a damn clue what the money is being used for.

So what is your solution. Do you plan to print out this thread and take it to a corporate sponsor and say I have ten vex imix members. So you should give me $60,000 or else me and my two imix pm friends boycotting the parade that brings in over 4 million people.lol

Have you ever written a Federal, State or City grant before and how much money did they give you after you wrote the grant? Did you have to turn in Quartly reports for the grant with outcome statements and how did you gather and collecting your information? You have to be creative and show effective ways of collecting information for your funding source because they will be holding you accountable in the end for taking tax payers money.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-10-2007 at 05:52 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 05:46 PM   #158 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Ok its Friday so maybe I'm a bit slow. The route will get longer, the "stage" will be the stadium and ppl will be able to buy tix to sit in stadium seats and enjoy the parade of the bands instead of being jostled in an unruly and sometimes dangerous crowd, which would probably encourage ppl like my mom and her friends to return to labor day since they can sit in comfort and safety and enjoy...and who knows, we may even get some kinda real stage to cross. This is bad why?
I personally think this is a good thing! You will have the "parade of the bands" aka Eastern Parkway and the "showcasing of the bands" aka the stadium real MAS men would love this! Could you imagine talents of a Pter Minshall and the bands really competing in fornt of a crowd that will pay to see it (VIPs). The stadium will turn into a carnival city all week long. If we the bands listen to and learn from the Toronto bandleaders we will demand a piece of the gate $$ which can assist in putting on the production. There is enough $$ flying around based on our slavery...excuse me sweat. Thus...the time to dig in is now. It is only hoped that 2008 we will see significant change. It is only hoped that those who decide to bring their production this year seize the opportunity to have their voice heard on the parkway whilst crossing the stage. It is only hoped that the carnival revelers demand of there band of choice a better time for the money being spent without all the restrictions mentioned in this thread. Otherwise this carnival is doomed.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:47 PM   #159 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

So what is your solution. Do you plan to print out this thread and take it to a corporate sponsor and say I have ten vex imix members. So you should give me $60,000 or else me and my two imix pm friends boycotting the parade that brings in over 4 million people.lol

YES YOUR DAMN RIGHT

Have you ever written a Federal, State or City grant before and how much money did they give you after you wrote it? Did you have to turn in Quartly reports for the grant with outcome statements and how did you gather amd collecting your information?
Sweetness there is no need to swamp me with your financial expertise. Talk to my accountant. Anyhow. Someone is getting rich and the community is not.

I'm good.

Old 08-10-2007, 05:51 PM   #160 (permalink)

Well i really hope those other band leaders have sense, because you spending all this money in preparation for this event and you have a community center that has a leaking roof top, need more desk and books and a program to take the kids out to the theme park and out of the city to experience life outside of the city and they KNOWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW they are not getting much or even anything in return and someone else can sip on a martini under the sun and they still participating.

WAW, FRIGGIN AMAZING.

Its like your working for FREE and making someone else RICH. Some of you people are REALLLY REALLY SMART. I would sure luv to have some of those band leaders run mu business if i am out of the country.shit i would probably have no business to return too.
Change can only come from the micro level. In essence if the maquraders boycott the bands that prop up this foolishness on the parkway demand change the bands will listen, no $$ no participation. Unless yuh's like Bush and Cheney and your vote dont matter..
Old 08-10-2007, 05:56 PM   #161 (permalink)

Credits: 267,220
I eh read d tread but dese are my thoughts, becuz tis is the same thing we discuss over and over and over and over. I dohgivearatsassbout Labor day. Have passport will travel and participate in other Carnivals. Until they revamp that board and pull out of NY Shitty, its a total waste.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:56 PM   #162 (permalink)

Credits: 55,359
Originally Posted by socatrain View Post
Bad why? How about the fact that no stadium can accomodate the millions of ppl that come to the pkwy every yr. While ur "mom and her friends' will have a comfy seat, what about the other ppl who will be left out?
A huge amount of those million of ppl are ppl that have no true regard for w. indian culture...they're out there because its something to do and its free and the trouble causing riff raff are part of that. Those who care about and appreciate the culture are the ones that will pay for the seats. Quality over quantity.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:58 PM   #163 (permalink)

Yuh lie. But I coming down to Borokeete mas camp tonight to pick up my costumes because I going Connecticut carnival tomorrow to wink at all the rich sponsors. So I'm changing gears again. One big name sponsor came in to help save Borokeetes already however.
CT have carnival? Look how I'm your "neighbor" and I ent even get invite or info.
Old 08-10-2007, 05:59 PM   #164 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Sweetness there is no need to swamp me with your financial expertise. Talk to my accountant. Anyhow. Someone is getting rich and the community is not.
Who is this "someone" that is getting "rich" and that's only your personal opinion that the community is not benefiting from the parade. For example, when Machel performed two weeks ago in BK for FREE the same community did not benefit by having a FREE public Concert in their own community that promoters will charge close to $150USD for at MSG?

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 08-10-2007 at 06:02 PM..
Old 08-10-2007, 06:00 PM   #165 (permalink)

Originally Posted by laFemmeChaude View Post
are the bands going to be bussed in secret to the stadium or something? Longer parade route + Stadium seating = more room for spectators to check out the parade.

But what do I know, you guys carry on.
Get out the thread w/ yuh sensible logic, yuh ent see we trying to protest. Fire bun NYShitty *shakes fist in air.