Old 11-07-2009, 12:25 PM   #76 (permalink)
100% Overproof

Credits: 26,313
Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
funny how no one had a problem with CB telling his side to the media for months. Why can he talk but she has to remain silent? Maybe she's telling her side now b/c she's ready to tell her side now. Maybe she had some issues to deal with first before she felt comfortable speaking publicly? Finally, she's releasing an album and is going to have to do press to promote it. People are crazy if they think reporters aren't going to ask about the incident. Maybe she just wants to get it over with so she doesn't have to keep talking about it.
Please read what I post before you make assumptions about what I think, feel and know. I did state clearly that nothing is wrong with her choosing to use this route as part of her own healing...But clearly by your response you're unable to see any objectivity. Just because I question someone's motive for doing something doesn't mean I can't understand the need to behave in a particular way.

Did I say anything about what I would have done in the situation? You're throwing all these snippets in to make a point that was not the focus of my argument. But clearly that's what you want to talk about.

It's funny that you mentioned that she was only 20 yet 6 year olds know that they call 911 when they witness a crime....But again I guess for you critiquing information someone gives means critiquing that person...*smh*

Whether y'all like it or not the FACT is that she is a role model for many young girls. She may as well take the opportunity to speak on the issue and encourage young women to leave the situation.Which is what she advised in the interview. What else is she supposed to do? She has the forum to do so
No one has disputed that she is a role model to many young girls..No one questioned the opportunity to speak on the issue..it's the timing of the issue that makes her efforts appear less than genuine. This is not a critique of Rihanna as a person and it's quite amazing that you're treating it as such. Do you think this is the first opportunity that she has been given to tell her side of the story?

who is she hurting by doing this? You may not feel she's genuine but so what? Her words and her story may actually help some 16 or 17 year old girl going through the same thing, and there are many out there. If it happens to help her sell records to...oh well so be it.
You have missed the point Rina..you are merely focused on making yours..You are pointing out the obvious in order to be persuasive..

FYI:..Not all of our opinions are driven by antagonism towards men. I do not need to state my views on Chris Brown's interview in order to formulate an opinion about Rihanna's. My views on the Rihanna Interview are based only on the interview.... I'm sorry if you were unable to see that.

Last edited by Appleton; 11-07-2009 at 01:06 PM..
Old 11-07-2009, 12:27 PM   #77 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Credits: 62,523
Originally Posted by Nica View Post
She said they had an argument over a text message. She did not hit him.
OK. I didn't imply or never thought that she hit him. Suh he beat her up dat bad over a text message? damn dat lil boy got issues yes.

I also saw where she was saying that her father used to beat her mother really really really bad. She used to be breaking stuff and doing things just so that they can stop fighting and her dad hitting her mother. Then she said that she would never get involved with someone like that ever.

Now she goes and gets abused and when Diane asked her if she would ever go back, she still says she doesn't know what the future holds.

Take away a man's son, you have truly given him nothing to loose
Old 11-07-2009, 12:30 PM   #78 (permalink)

Credits: 160,093
Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
i think i saw more than 8 minutes Taj
there are links to the other 4 parts.

Old 11-07-2009, 12:32 PM   #79 (permalink)
Will work for Sushi

Credits: 3,674
She said they had an argument over a text message. She did not hit him.

you see it too
girl i laugh like i live out when i read that

only you eh?
: as if you didn't think it lololol
Old 11-07-2009, 12:36 PM   #80 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,778
OK. I didn't imply or never thought that she hit him. Suh he beat her up dat bad over a text message? damn dat lil boy got issues yes.

I also saw where she was saying that her father used to beat her mother really really really bad. She used to be breaking stuff and doing things just so that they can stop fighting and her dad hitting her mother. Then she said that she would never get involved with someone like that ever.

Now she goes and gets abused and when Diane asked her if she would ever go back, she still says she doesn't know what the future holds.
Yup she said she is not God and she cannot predict the future.

Originally Posted by Jinjer View Post
girl i laugh like i live out when i read that

When I saw it I just shook my head.
Old 11-07-2009, 12:44 PM   #81 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Originally Posted by Jinjer View Post
You know i did but sometimes i like lef people yuh know dat

Yup she said she is not God and she cannot predict the future.
Righttttttttttttt.

Old 11-07-2009, 12:50 PM   #82 (permalink)

Credits: 160,093

i think u need to watch the interview clips sequentially cos the 2 3 min clips they revealed on thurs and fri some of the answers weren't for the particular question that preceeded it they did a cut and paste job.

As a kid thats waht she told herself ... then look what happened she ended up with someonelike her father when she promised herself she never would

clickon the video in the other thread then follow on to the others from the interview not the promotional clips.

Old 11-07-2009, 12:57 PM   #83 (permalink)
Will work for rum

Credits: 57,212

Who is "we"? I never thought she was weak or pathetic. Why is she weak and pathetic? Because her boyfriend pulverized her face?
how bout she went on vacation w/ the idiot not too long after for starters.
Old 11-07-2009, 01:01 PM   #84 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Originally Posted by Spranga View Post
how bout she went on vacation w/ the idiot not too long after for starters.
Do you know that over 90% of Domestic violence victims go back to their abuser? Do you know the mindset of people who has been abused or witnessed DV in their household from a young age? Do you know the M.O of an abuser?

Go research those things before you refer to anybody in this situation as pathetic and weak.

Most women who are abused never leave the 1st, 2nd or even 3rd time after. We on the outside can say all what we would do but until you are in the situation, you are in no position to judge.

Last edited by Nica; 11-07-2009 at 01:03 PM..
Old 11-07-2009, 01:08 PM   #85 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Do you know that over 90% of Domestic violence victims go back to their abuser? Do you know the mindset of people who has been abused or witnessed DV in their household from a young age? Do you know the M.O of an abuser?

Go research those things before you refer to anybody in this situation as pathetic and weak.

Most women who are abused never leave the 1st, 2nd or even 3rd time after. We on the outside can say all what we would do but until you are in the situation, you are in no position to judge.
Why do they go back?

Old 11-07-2009, 01:09 PM   #86 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

i think u need to watch the interview clips sequentially cos the 2 3 min clips they revealed on thurs and fri some of the answers weren't for the particular question that preceeded it they did a cut and paste job.

As a kid thats waht she told herself ... then look what happened she ended up with someonelike her father when she promised herself she never would

clickon the video in the other thread then follow on to the others from the interview not the promotional clips.
no thanks taj, i saw it on TV, my dial up don't have time to wait on the videos of riri to load.

Old 11-07-2009, 01:12 PM   #87 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Why do they go back?
Love essentially clouds people's judgement. I've heard firsthand from a woman, "if he didn't love me he wouldn't beat me." Then there is the part where the victim blames themself.

Abusers then to be very charming. They will buss your ass and then they will come and grovel at your feet and apologize, tell you how much they love you and they will never do it again. Some men even cry, begging for forgiveness.

It becomes a ritual of some sorts, until the abusee becomes able to see the situation for what it really is and then make a move. Often times it's toolate by then.
Old 11-07-2009, 01:14 PM   #88 (permalink)
100% Overproof

Credits: 26,313
FACTS ABOUT DOMESTIC VIOLENCE - UK

* Up to one woman in four is affected by domestic violence at some stage in their life.

* More than 500,000 women are affected each year.

* Domestic violence results in the murder of more than a hundred women each year.

* Violence within same sex relationships and from women to men is not unheard of, but the vast majority of domestic violence (estimated at over 80%) is perpetrated by men on women.

* The police receive an estimated 360,000 999 phone calls each year connected with domestic violence by men against women.

* Domestic violence occurs across all ages, ethnic groups and social classes.

* 54,000 women and children are given protection in refuges each year.

* Despite the number of incidents reported, according to the latest figures prosecutions undertaken by the Crown Prosecution Service only numbered 13,000.

* This number represents only about 15% of the estimated arrests in suspected cases of domestic violence.

* Disabled women are twice as likely to suffer domestic violence and more likely to endure abuse.
Old 11-07-2009, 01:14 PM   #89 (permalink)
Walking Hormone

Love essentially clouds people's judgement. I've heard firsthand from a woman, "if he didn't love me he wouldn't beat me." Then there is the part where the victim blames themself.

Abusers then to be very charming. They will buss your ass and then they will come and grovel at your feet and apologize, tell you how much they love you and they will never do it again. Some men even cry, begging for forgiveness.

It becomes a ritual of some sorts, until the abusee becomes able to see the situation for what it really is and then make a move. Often times it's toolate by then.
Ok so riri is blaming herself or is CB groveling?

Old 11-07-2009, 01:14 PM   #90 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Oh I forgot to add, there is the embarrassment/shame. Nobody wants outsiders to know that their S/O is beatig them up behind closed doors. That's why men and women will take their stick and then cover up the bruises or say they feel down or some bs to cover up.