Old 11-26-2008, 07:49 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 1,018,066
Cool Randolph Burroughs Flying Squad Reunion in T&T

The Trinidad Guardian -Online Edition Ver 2.0

The Flying Squad, the unit within the Police Service which brought fear to the lives of criminals for 16 years, is back.

A reunion is being held at 5 pm today at the Police Service Mess at Long Circular Road, St James. But the members are coming together to make recommendations to the Commissioner of Police as to how he should deal with the criminals and the crime situation.

Mervyn Cordner, who retired as an inspector, said during an interview yesterday that he had been looking at the crime situation in the country for sometime.

Based in Orlando, Florida, Cordner decided to get in touch with his former colleagues, including attorney Thomas Cunningham and Rudolph Leach.

“I think about 40 of my colleagues will be there on Wednesday,” Cordner said.

He said invitations were sent out to acting Commissioner of Police James Philbert and Deputy Commissioner Gilbert Reyes, a former Flying Squad member, but he could not say if they would attend.

“But we will let the Commissioner know what we decide,” Cordner said.

He confirmed that some of his former colleagues flew in from abroad to attend the reunion.

As one of the key members of the squad which was led by the late Commissioner of Police, Randolph Burroughs, Cordner said it hurt him and other colleagues to see the state of T&T and the dramatic increase in murders each year.

“We are tired of what is happening, and based on what we achieved in the past, I think we can offer some solutions to the present Commissioner,” Cordner said.

“We have experienced personnel who came out of that squad, some went on to become executive members in the Police Service.”

He pointed out that the Flying Squad was formed in 1970 after a number of soldiers staged a mutiny. He said it was the brainchild of late prime minister Dr Eric Williams to form the Flying Squad to look at the national interest.

He said the squad got the real test in 1973 when the National Union of Freedom Fighters (NUFF) threatened to take control of the country by unlawful means.

According to Cordner, “that was where the Flying Squad was really tested...We managed to bring the situation under control under the supervision of Mr Burroughs.”

The retired officer said the squad was disbanded in 1986 after Burroughs was arrested and charged with conspiracy to murder, and conspiracy to traffic cocaine.

He said the release of the Scott Drug Report also contributed to the Flying Squad being disbanded.

As a result, several members of the squad, who were suspended as a result of the report, retired or resigned from the Police Service after the suspensions were lifted.

“They were not happy with what happened and they left...Now, this is their country and they are very concerned at what is happening,” Cordner said.

“I think we have a great contribution to make, first to tackle gang warfare, and to assist in reducing the number of murders in the country...My colleagues are very upbeat about the reunion.”

Today’s meeting comes days after Reyes told the media that the Police Service had asked the Los Angeles Police Department to assist in combating gang violence.

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

Old 11-26-2008, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 16,467,451
How come I did not get an invitation
Old 11-26-2008, 08:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Moderator View Post
How come I did not get an invitation
dey kno yuh have "travelling issues"

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

Old 11-26-2008, 08:10 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 699,458
u obsessessed wid dem police chiefs eh

Old 11-26-2008, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)

u obsessessed wid dem police chiefs eh

Old 11-26-2008, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
dey kno yuh have "travelling issues"
Trinidad police playing the ass. I would do the job for free. Let me run something like the flying squad / tactical.
Family secret: my mother worked with the police back in the days of flying squad. When they was at St Joseph police station. Criminals never fack around. As a youth I remember tactical aka jump out and beat. These MoFo don’t play. The streets was clean at night due to the fear of licks by tactical

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village

Atlanta Caribbean Unity Festival

Wade Walker Park
Old 11-26-2008, 08:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Girl Crush

Credits: 486,562
Trinidad police playing the ass. I would do the job for free. Let me run something like the flying squad / tactical.
Family secret: my mother worked with the police back in the days of flying squad. When they was at St Joseph police station. Criminals never fack around. As a youth I remember tactical aka jump out and beat. These MoFo don’t play. The streets was clean at night due to the fear of licks by tactical

Totally agree. How in d ass you makin raid at 11 in d friggin mornin, you suppose tuh kick in mankind door when dey dribblin on dey pillow and still dreamin wit yapee in dey eye.
Old 11-26-2008, 08:19 PM   #8 (permalink)

its not the police per se......its the current impotent laws and corrupt government dat acting like if they fighting crime when they are the criminals.......u know directives come from civilians for the Commish to follow or look for a new job

Old 11-26-2008, 08:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

Credits: 81,174
tacticle is like an SSU thing... those guys that wear the Army uniform like the Oecs islands?

Old 11-26-2008, 09:02 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 699,458

Originally Posted by Picong View Post

Old 11-27-2008, 09:47 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
tacticle is like an SSU thing... those guys that wear the Army uniform like the Oecs islands?

Yes . But in Trinidad . They wear black . The fassy government disband the unit . I am going to bring it back when I take over as minister of national security . Starting off with a 24 man unit each armed with Glock 22 / 40 caliber pistol and 12 FN P 90 . Plus Send them FLETC for training

Welcome to FLETC — Federal Law Enforcement Training Center

Old 11-27-2008, 09:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

lol.....

in SLU dey use 12 gauge,m16 & 9mm strap on dey legs or waist.

Dey does put rel lixx on de fellas when dey ready man

watch how dey blow an artist leg with a 12 gauge

Old 11-27-2008, 09:57 AM   #13 (permalink)

Insane why homeboy have all the mouth after the police left. He lucky I was not there it would have been licks
Old 11-27-2008, 10:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
dev

Credits: 75,611
Funny how bad man used to teef and cuss,at cropover, till de government unleash de DEF FORCE pon dem and wuking up became SAFE.

Trini need to look to Barbados for advice.AND corruption have to stop.
Old 11-27-2008, 10:08 AM   #15 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

Insane why homeboy have all the mouth after the police left. He lucky I was not there it would have been licks