Old 01-26-2012, 04:43 PM   #211 (permalink)

Credits: 33,698
btw big up Tortola

Old 01-26-2012, 05:08 PM   #212 (permalink)

Credits: 503,182
Originally Posted by Shabeel View Post
btw big up Tortola

You know Jalena?
Old 01-26-2012, 05:13 PM   #213 (permalink)

Originally Posted by TheEducator View Post

You know Jalena?
lol yeah

but not personally
Old 01-26-2012, 05:58 PM   #214 (permalink)
Habitual Enabler

Credits: 105,886
Originally Posted by OverLord Strum View Post
What's "bammie"?
Bammy is a grated cassava flatbread

Disclaimer:
Many of you can't keep Jamaica outa yuh mouth. Its ok, we understand you can't help it. Envy is a helluva thing. But let it be known. If you've never been to mi yawd your comments about mi yawd shall hereby be stricken as nuttin but verbal defecation. Walk good.

Yes I am a superhero. Sarcasm is my superpower.

Old 01-26-2012, 06:50 PM   #215 (permalink)

Credits: 43,293
Originally Posted by ladyrastafari View Post
lol hear di hexpert nuh..

Old 01-27-2012, 12:03 AM   #216 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,282,372
Jamaicans have different accents and there is not just one taak. People in the US especially (but also from other islands) are under the impression that "Patois" is one fixed language like Haitian Creole, when actually it can go from some deep country taak to something quite like today's English. Depending on who they grew up with, what school they went to, or who they hang out with now, people speak different.

Also, smh @ people from a certain island telling the boy from Tortola what his islands is ACTUALLY called by locals, when he - originating from those islands - has provided them with plenty of proof. Sounds like some kind of superiority complex.
Re: the bold - that discussion really missed you boy. LOL!

And what d arse @ the first paragraph...
Old 01-27-2012, 09:21 AM   #217 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Mrs. Vega View Post
Re: the bold - that discussion really missed you boy. LOL!

And what d arse @ the first paragraph...
whats wrong with it
Old 01-27-2012, 09:53 AM   #218 (permalink)

Credits: 184,507
whats wrong with it
what is right about it?? The official language of Jamaica is english, not patois. some of you people are surprised that a non black jamaican can speak patois, and only Blacks from certain classes can speak English. Smh.

The enemy of my enemy is my friend- Arabic proverb

Old 01-27-2012, 09:56 AM   #219 (permalink)

Credits: 18,662
Missmayling, you was born in Jamaica?
Old 01-27-2012, 09:57 AM   #220 (permalink)

Originally Posted by optimizm View Post
Missmayling, you was born in Jamaica?
no

Old 01-27-2012, 10:02 AM   #221 (permalink)

I'm sorry. What does this:

Originally Posted by Missmayling View Post
what is right about it?? The official language of Jamaica is english, not patois. some of you people are surprised that a non black jamaican can speak patois, and only Blacks from certain classes can speak English. Smh.
have to do with this:

Jamaicans have different accents and there is not just one taak. People in the US especially (but also from other islands) are under the impression that "Patois" is one fixed language like Haitian Creole, when actually it can go from some deep country taak to something quite like today's English. Depending on who they grew up with, what school they went to, or who they hang out with now, people speak different.

Where did I say Patois was the official language of Jamaica?

Where was I surprised that that man can speak the way he speaks?

Old 01-27-2012, 10:04 AM   #222 (permalink)

Credits: 18,662
Originally Posted by Missmayling View Post
no
So what you know about JA?

Old 01-27-2012, 10:17 AM   #223 (permalink)

Credits: 19,383
Originally Posted by optimizm View Post
So what you know about JA?

lol...she coulda grew up there....
Old 01-27-2012, 10:24 AM   #224 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Credits: 3,264,608
Old 01-27-2012, 10:35 AM   #225 (permalink)

I'm sorry. What does this:

have to do with this:

Where did I say Patois was the official language of Jamaica?

Where was I surprised that that man can speak the way he speaks?

Jamaican patois is not the same as Jamaican English.