Old 11-09-2009, 12:24 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 6,469
Life Imprisonment for Juveniles

High court justices to ponder life imprisonment for juveniles - USATODAY.com

WASHINGTON — Terrance Jamar Graham was 16 in 2003, when he and two accomplices broke into a Jacksonville restaurant and tried to rob the place. He pleaded guilty and got three years' probation on the condition he stay out of trouble.
A year later, Graham and another pair of accomplices forced their way into an apartment and robbed two men. That landed him in prison for life, without parole.

The sentence was unusually stiff for someone who was under 18 when he committed his crimes. Yet Graham is one of an estimated 111 youths nationwide serving life-without-parole sentences for crimes other than murder — a group of juvenile offenders with no chance to make a case for parole and rehabilitation.

CASE LOG: Major cases facing the Supreme Court

Although the number of young offenders imprisoned for life is small, juvenile law experts say their plight gives a face to a larger national debate over the wisdom of tough juvenile sentences in various circumstances. Now the Supreme Court is entering the debate — and will potentially influence juvenile sentencing trends nationwide. In arguments to be held Monday, the justices will use Graham's case and that of Joe Sullivan, who was 13 when he raped an elderly woman in 1989, to decide whether life-without-parole sentences for young criminals are unconstitutionally harsh.

Juvenile-justice experts siding with Graham and Sullivan, such as the Juvenile Law Center's Marsha Levick, say states went overboard in devising punishments for minors as part of the tough-on-crime era that began in the 1980s.

"These cases represent an opportunity for us as a society, through our laws and how the Supreme Court interprets them, to acknowledge the obvious and profound differences between kids and adults," Levick says.

Florida and 19 other states counter that such laws effectively deter juvenile offenses. Victims' rights advocates, including the National Organization of Victims of Juvenile Lifers, say the horror of a crime is not lessened by the youthfulness of a perpetrator.

The paired cases have drawn an array of "friend of the court" filings. Several backing Graham and Sullivan are from prominent people who got in trouble during their youth and straightened up, such as actor Charles Dutton — convicted of manslaughter after he was involved in a fatal knife fight — and former U.S. senator Alan Simpson, R-Wyo., who as a teenager helped set a fire at an abandoned war reclamation structure in Wyoming.

On Florida's side are the 19 states and groups such as the National District Attorneys Association. The district attorneys group emphasizes in its brief that many "already-hardened" youths commit heinous assaults "with full knowledge of the wrongfulness of their actions."

The question at the high court is whether the Eighth Amendment's ban on cruel and unusual punishment prevents confining a teenager for life without a chance of parole. The Florida cases specifically test whether the court should extend the rationale of a 2005 ruling in which it prohibited states from executing anyone who committed his crime when he was under age 18.

In that 5-4 decision scaling back capital punishment, the court's majority said offenders under 18 are less responsible for their crimes than adults, partly because they are less mature and more vulnerable to peer pressure. "The age of 18 is the point where society draws the line for many purposes between childhood and adulthood," Justice Anthony Kennedy wrote in Roper v. Simmons. "It is the … age at which the line for death eligibility ought to rest."

Law professors who specialize in juvenile justice, such as Columbia University's Elizabeth Scott, say that studies since that ruling have further documented the physical and psychological differences between adult and juvenile criminals. She says research on adolescent brain development reinforces arguments that minors are less responsible for their actions and that harsh sentences are unjustified.

The question before the justices is narrow, centering only on juvenile defendants who committed crimes in which no death occurred — such as those other than murder or manslaughter. Yet, by simply agreeing to hear the Florida appeals, the high court has put a spotlight on juvenile sentencing.

"These two cases may force state legislatures to confront the legacy of their policies over the past three decades," says New York University law professor Randy Hertz, who adds that many legislators are reluctant for political reasons to ease up on sentences.

Louisiana Attorney General Buddy Caldwell counters in a brief on behalf of the states backing Florida that states have rightly decided some crimes are so "morally reprehensible, so damaging to the victims … that the law's second most severe sentence should be available" even for offenders under 18.
Old 11-09-2009, 12:26 PM   #2 (permalink)

The Florida difference

An estimated 2,570 juvenile defendants in the United States are serving life-without-parole sentences — nearly all for homicide-related crimes. Of the 111 juvenile defendants who committed lesser offenses, such as Graham and Sullivan, 77 are in Florida prisons.

"Florida stands nearly alone in its punishment of juveniles," says Graham's attorney, Bryan Gowdy. Florida is one of just six states known to be incarcerating such offenders for life. The others, according to a 2009 report by the Florida State University's Public Law Center, are Louisiana (with 17); Iowa (with six); Mississippi (with five); California (with four) and Nebraska and South Carolina (one each).

Florida is rare among states in letting first-time juvenile offenders be sentenced to life imprisonment for armed burglary or battery. It also gives prosecutors great latitude to transfer a juvenile 14 or older to adult court.

"I don't think that anyone in Florida intended for us to be the leader in this area," Gowdy says. "This is the unintended consequences of a 'let's get tough on juvenile crime' attitude. In Florida, it has gone to the extreme limit. But obviously it's happening in other states, too."

Florida Attorney General Bill McCollum says in his brief that the state's juvenile sentences arose partly from a jump in juvenile crime in the 1990s. "Florida's problem was particularly dire, compromising the safety of residents, visitors, and international tourists, and threatening the state's bedrock tourism industry," he says.

McCollum dismisses studies that conclude young offenders are not as blameworthy as adults. "That juveniles as a class generally are less developed mentally than adults is (not) a novel idea …," he says. "Our society has accounted for juvenile status in virtually every aspect of our laws and traditions."

State data show the juvenile crime rate has been in flux since Florida approved tougher sentences for juveniles. There are no comprehensive studies on how often juveniles commit other crimes after they are released compared with adults, says Temple University's Laurence Steinberg, an expert in adolescent development and juvenile justice.

History behind laws

For most of the 20th century, defendants under age 18 were tried and sentenced under different laws than adults. That changed during the 1980s and 1990s, says Steinberg, whose work is cited by attorneys for Graham and Sullivan.

The new emphasis on harsher punishment for juveniles means that more young offenders were tried as adults and more received stiffer sentences. The proliferation of "life without parole" sentences — for adults and juveniles — was part of that pattern.

Amnesty International and other human rights groups contend that the United States is alone in allowing youths under 18 to be sentenced to life without parole. They have urged the justices to look to international norms, as the justices did when they struck down capital punishment for juveniles.

The American Medical Association and American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry have entered the Florida cases to highlight new scientific evidence about the adolescent brain.

"The adolescent's mind works differently from ours. Parents know it. This court has said it. Legislatures all over the world have presumed it for decades or more," the groups say in their filing, in support of neither side. "And scientific evidence now sheds light on how and why adolescent behavior differs from adult behavior."

They say studies during the past decade have "provided an understanding of the biological underpinnings for why adolescents act the way they do." For example, brain imaging studies find that adolescents exhibit more neural activity than adults in areas of the brain that promote risky behavior.

Bryan Stevenson, of the Alabama-based Equal Justice Initiative, representing Sullivan, offers a more down-to-earth comparison in his brief. "Like a car with a powerful accelerator but weak brakes, a young teenager's brain is fully developed in the part responsible for emotional arousal and sensitivity to peer pressure (the gas pedal), but the parts in the frontal lobes that control impulses and allow long-term thinking, planning, and resistance to peer pressure (the brake) are still developing."

Only two defendants who committed their crimes at age 13 — Sullivan and another Florida man — are serving life without parole. Stevenson argues that younger offenders, particularly, merit leniency. Sullivan's case, however, is procedurally more complicated than that of Graham, the older teen at the time of the crime, because Sullivan was sentenced nearly 20 years ago.

Florida state officials, represented by McCollum, say Sullivan is long past the deadline for challenging his sentence. A lower Florida court threw out Sullivan's case without considering the merits of his constitutional claim.
Old 11-09-2009, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)

I got mixed feelings about this....
Since "I" wasn't the one victimized by these kids, Im thinking.. give them another chance.
BUT i know if some of those SOB's jacked me or raped a good friend or family member... I'd want life for dey arses..

what say you?
Old 11-09-2009, 12:29 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 48,167
I wonder what happen to rehab.
Old 11-09-2009, 12:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Every Woman

Credits: 189,062
Originally Posted by swallow View Post
Amy Winehouse said: No, No, Noooo.

Chinkayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

-Thanx Taj
Old 11-09-2009, 12:50 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 20,587
everybody makes mistakes........im sure they can all change
Old 11-09-2009, 12:53 PM   #7 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Picong View Post
everybody makes mistakes........im sure they can all change
This is where the mixed feelings come in..
those kids ent do anything to "us" personally..
but when its yuh grandmudda that get rape, or you that get assaulted and robbed in your home by a multiple time juvenile offender.. you wouldnt be singing rehab and they can change. Its let that @$$ burn in hell.
Old 11-09-2009, 12:56 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bacchus View Post
This is where the mixed feelings come in..
those kids ent do anything to "us" personally..
but when its yuh grandmudda that get rape, or you that get assaulted and robbed in your home by a multiple time juvenile offender.. you wouldnt be singing rehab and they can change. Its let that @$$ burn in hell.
Since you have never been an offender you will never understand.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:02 PM   #9 (permalink)

Since you have never been an offender you will never understand.
I'm putting myself in the position of an objective person.. ie. jury member.
How would "I" as an individual feel, if I or a family member were victimized.
The person to never feel the pain caused by these kids say.. yes.. Rehab is good, they were young, let them out, they served their time. Last time i served jury duty, thats the position I took and I was one of the people that led the vote to let a low level teenage drug dealer off the hook. petty crime.... but these kids did commit some major violent crimes.. stopping short of murder. C'mon.. 13 YO boy Rape of a elderly woman? b/c she ent die, he deserve to get off? I don't know.....
Old 11-09-2009, 01:08 PM   #10 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Richard View Post
They should have been jailed from day one . I don’t feel sorry for these clowns
Such the republican..
Old 11-09-2009, 01:14 PM   #11 (permalink)

Credits: 8,498
Look at him... you think he learn after the first time though.

I say first time offender do yuh time ...try something for them...give another chance.
After that... too bad!!
Old 11-09-2009, 01:33 PM   #12 (permalink)
Tough2B soft;hard2Btender

Credits: 200,622
damn they didn't even let him get 3 strikes.(is that ca only?)

I say give them another chance in principle cos right now I'm thinking of the young girl doing life because she killed her pimp that turned her out at 12/13.

Instead of wondering why me ask what's next.

Everybody has a talent, but if you do not expose yourself you will not birth the talents within you. ---- Spike Lee.
Old 11-09-2009, 01:39 PM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bacchus View Post
I'm putting myself in the position of an objective person.. ie. jury member.
Look at it this way, we were all born with nothing.
Then so how do we get during our developing days, we let our animalistic take over.
I'm pretty sure if all of us take a look @ our developing years we did something out of extrodinary of society.
We may not have been caught, but the incident happen.

IE. for a couple of months in my youth I did some horrendous tings, when I look back I asked myself why did I do it, and I couldn't find an answer.
If I was caught and then imprisoned for the rest of my life, would that have change society or made an impact on your way of life.
Old 11-09-2009, 02:17 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 29,993
life in prison for theft? murders and phedophiles get less that is nonsense, let the punishment fit the crime.
Old 11-09-2009, 02:38 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 19,931
Typical Politicans. Temporary Spike in Crime and they counter it with wild legislation. Lack of Vision i tell you.