Registered Member
Credits: 1,177,062
KAMLA PERSAD-BISSESSAR'S VISIT TO NEW YORK WAS a MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT
PM Kamla Persad-Bissessar`s Visit A Major Disappointment – Editorial
[img]caribbeanworldnews.com/admin/bus_ent/trinidadpmatindianparade2.jpg[/img] The Trinidad PM, l, at the Indian Day Parade on Aug. 15. (Hayden Roger Celestin image/CWNN) CaribWorldNews, NEW YORK, NY, Fri. Aug. 20, 2010: Excitement preceded Trinidad and Tobago`s first female Prime Minister, Kamla Persad-Bissessar arrival for a 10-day visit to New York City last Friday. However, that enthusiasm in the Caribbean and Trinidadian American community has quickly dissipated since the PM it seems is more interested in the Indian community than West Indians. Ahead of the visit, a meeting of Diaspora nationals was promoted in Brooklyn by a local organization there, leaving many to assume that it was the PM`s first and only official New York meeting with her nationals and friends of the Caribbean. Imagine the surprise of many when it was also announced that the PM would be rushing off to two events in southeast Queens, NY, that same evening to meet with a different section of the Trinidad and West Indian community. In a nutshell – the Brooklyn meeting it seemed was for Afro-Trinidadians and the southeast Queens meeting for Indo-Trinidadians/Caribbeans. In a country that is not only multi-ethnic but has a history of an ethnic voting divide, this move was disturbing. Worst of all, with five ministers of government in tow at a $380,000 burden to the taxpayers of Trinidad and Tobago, the PM`s office and her handlers have refused to speak to the Caribbean media, blatantly ignoring the fourth estate, Caribbean or mainstream. Infact, Garvin Nicholas, who is listed as press secretary, seems to badly need a course in public relations as he has missed a major Page Ranking opportunity in this visit for both Caribbean and mainstream media publicity. Mr. Nicholas has no photographer documenting this historic visit and seems content to take the PM`s photos with his camera phone while standing aside and seeing no need to set up any real photo ops. Most importantly, real news photographers seeking access to cover the visit are being shut down and ignored while Nicolas complains of his email not working properly. Really now? And where is the consulate in all this? Shouldn`t they be the one guiding Mr. Nicholas on the media in NY and the community leaders? Well last we heard the sitting counsel general was trying to wrangle a flag away from a Trinidad and Tobago national on Sunday since he had none and neither did the PM until some smart Alec handed her one on the float in the Indian Day Parade. But let`s backtrack to the PM and her itinerary. While she has made no time to speak to Caribbean media, she certainly has taken time out to be interviewed by Indian television, which begs the question: is she the Caribbean-born PM of Trinidad and Tobago or of India? Can you imagine the PM of India visiting here and giving no media interviews to his media? Can you imagine the outrage this would cause? For those who may think this is too harsh please note that PM Persad-Bissessar not only participated in the Indian Day Parade, an unprecedented move, but she has had two fundraisers with the Indians, one in Long Island, NY and one in New Jersey. This is in addition to her exclusive meeting with the GOPIO on Monday at the New York Marriot, where she is shelling out the big bucks to stay with her entourage; and of course that Indian TV interview.#### And what about Caribbean American meetings? Nothing beyond a bunch of listings for attendance at several nondescript events in the Indo-Caribbean community in Queens.#### To make matters worse and to show the obvious ineptness of her Page Ranking person and handlers, the PM`s itinerary has not been provided beyond Monday. So her meeting with New York Police Commissioner Ray Kelly Wednesday was truly a surprise and it certainly went undocumented by media photographers here. A post-release issued by Nicholas said Persad-Bissessar and Kelly `discussed many strategies for preventing detecting and prosecuting criminal activity in Trinidad and Tobago.` Really now? So can we expect to see another foreigner added to the payroll of Trinidad and Tobago in its crime fight in the near future? The fact is that the PM`s visit here is a waste of time and money and Trinidad and Tobago nationals paying for this should take her to task on it. What exactly has she achieved? Certainly there has been no real return on investment in the form of public relations? And what about meetings with real investors and diverse groups of nationals and Caribbean Americans in power in this city? Has she met with members of the New York City Council or other city politicians to leverage power and investment opportunities? Or was this really a visit to India New York, the same Indians who hardly believe Indo-Caribbeans have any link to India and who consider many, `nigger coolies.` Their term not ours. These are the questions that need to be seriously asked especially as the PM gets ready to spend more mula to return here next month for the UN. A historic moment has been squandered and the PM has left many wondering if she is the head of state of the multi-ethnic twin-island Republic of Trinidad and Tobago or only of some of the people. What a shame, what a disappointment, what a lost opportunity! caribbeanworldnews.com/middle_top_news_detail.php?mid=3832 Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-24-2010 at 03:24 PM.. |
Registered Member
Aryo AFRO TRINIS CANNOT SAY that I DID NOT WARN ARYO.
I told aryo to take heed of this INDO COALITION party because it was created to end the STRONGHOLD of the Black power base in the governing of Trinidad and Tobago. Jack Warner is like the BOOGEY MAN of that coalition. He has SOLD his SOUL to the DEVIL at the EXPENSE of his own BLACK PEOPLE. I am not a Trini, yet I saw this a billion miles away. But it seems like the AFRO TRINIS allowed the PROPAGANDA and DEMONIZATION of PATRICK MANNING made them closed their eyes to the reality of what would take place if the INDO COALITION defeats the PMN. One would think that after MIGRATING to North America and so sees what goes on in the world beyond our LIKKLE SPACE in the Caribbean, one would be cognizant of how the world works. But it seems like aryo DOH HAVE a CLUE, even after watching what happened in Guyana, that those in power are who will dictate the policies of that nation. Therefore, when you have two ethnic groups fighting for control of power, one has to lose. I said, watch out for this INDO GOVERNMENT cemented DEEPER RELATIONSHIPS with India. All aryo FOOL FOOL Afro TRINIS, who like to DISMISS race as a factor as to how government policies work, will learn the hard way when Trinidad becomes a predominant INDO country. |
Registered Member
Mann, when yuh own people can call aryo that, well buoyyy, aryo are de LOWEST of the LOWEST LOW. DEM EAST INDIANS NUH E Z AN TAHL. MUDDERWUK Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-24-2010 at 03:27 PM.. |
Registered Member
ANANCI n MARABUTA, whey aryo dey?
Credits: 91,791
Credits: 86,598
tre trini indians are rated higher than th gt indians.
in either case, kamla is indian. whats wrong wth her going to the indian parade? afro trinis are a minority in trinidad. based on what i see on the news she is doing a god job. i see she helped out some folks that fell victim to major flooding |
| Sponsored Links | |||||||||
|||||||||
Registered Member
That said; Kamla needs a REAL CUTASS for this trip. Clearly she came to New York to engage in most things INDIAN and INDO and not much in regards to the PEOPLES of Trinidad and Tobago and the Caribbean leaders to a lesser extent. Her trip reminds me of the one I attended at Medgar Evers back at the beginning of the new millennium. Anyhow, it was the first meeting by the then new INDO President of Guyana, Mr. Jagdeo. And I can tell you, the atmosphere there was highly intense. What was clear to me, from walking the halls, this was a meeting to give lip service to the Afro Guyanese community in NYC, because there was ZERO INDOS in the room. As we sat in the auditorium, I made sure I sat in the middle of the action, because I did not want to miss anything. Shockingly, this was actually the second meeting Mr. Jagdeo had with Guyanese in the New York area. It turned out that his first meeting was with the INDO GUYANESE in Richmond d Hill, Queens. It so happened that this was when I found out where all the INDO Guyanese and TRINIS mostly live in NYC. I always wondered where they live, because I hardly saw any at any West Indian clubs in Brooklyn, and so that meeting revealed the answer to me. That same year, I attended a show in Queens to see Square One with Allison Hinds, Rupee and Kevin Lyttle. It was at a club called Caribbean something. It was off Jamaica Ave, and I believe it was located 150 or 160 something street. When I finally found the club, I thought that I was at the wrong place (no joke), because all I saw was pure INDO PEOPLE. I had to ask one of the security guards if I was at the right place, because I was looking for people of mostly African descent. That was the first time ever in my life where I was surrounded by so many people of Indian descent. Frankly, I was totally taken aback, because it was a first for me. Believe it or not, there were more Mexicans at the club than people of African descent. Anyhow, even after I was told that I was at the right club, I still did not believe. I parked my car so I could see if any people of African descent would show up. After all, this was square One, Rupee and Kevin Lyttle we talking about, not whatever the INDO artists names are. Mann, after observing for close to an hour, I realized that the one and two partygoers of African descent, who I saw went into the club, were all that I was going to see inside that club that night. I was going to leave and call it a night, but then the voice in my head said, 'hell no you are not going anywhere but inside that club.' And so I paid the entry fee and inside I went. Mann, the place was packed with INDOS from Guyana and Trinidad...mostly Guyanese though. To make a long story short, I had a good time. Please ignore my little back in the day party story and concentrate on the real issue at hand. ![]() ![]() YUHHHHHH seeeeeeeeee MEEEEEEE Last edited by VINCYPOWA; 08-25-2010 at 02:00 AM.. |
Registered Member
She is not a real EAST INDIAN. According to the real Indians (East Indians), the INDO TRINIS n Guyanese are N.C. So we are in AGREEMENT that the government of Trinidad and Tobago is an INDO GOVERNMENT and will do everything in its power to DEEPEN RELATIONSHIP with the INDO GOVERNMENT OF GUYANA and the East Indian government in India. So we basically can forget this INDO GOVERNMENT DEEPENING relationship with any of the African nations, NUH true? |
Manchester United
Credits: 561,313
Awaiting the indian posse response.
__________________ UNITED we stand divided they fall, Champ20ns 2012/13.
Girl Crush
Credits: 486,908
__________________ Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on. Long Live the Queen! |
Manchester United
Boy ah cyah wait for meh boy CroCro tuh buss ah chune fuh dem, I know he gonna bring de pepper in deh cunt.
![]() __________________ UNITED we stand divided they fall, Champ20ns 2012/13.
Registered Member
All their talk about the C-word being racist, poor me didn't know that INDO TRINIS were HIDING the FACT that they are called N.C. by the REAL Indians, the East Indians. Buoyyy, that is a real double wammy if I ever saw one. Anyhow, Kamla, doh think the Afro TRINIS are not watching your moves. You have shown your true colors. Too bad the Afro TRINIS did not see this coming before the general elections, like I did. Anyhow, Black people have this tendency to believe others before they believe their own people. I am always puzzled by that phenomenon. Many actually believe that others have their best interest at heart than their own people. They have your BEST INTEREST AT HEART alright. ONCE IN A BLUE MOON they will throw you a bone and all aryo can fight over it while they watch the spectacle. If you do not know your history and the history of the enemy, you will forever fall for the okie dokie every single time. YUHHHHHH SEEEEEEE MEEEEEEE |
Manchester United
__________________ UNITED we stand divided they fall, Champ20ns 2012/13.