islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree2Likes

Old 02-22-2012, 09:05 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 41,296
Iwer blast the judges

SOCA artiste Iwer George yesterday slammed the judges of the Internation- al Power Soca Monarch competition for allowing Machel Montano to bend the established rules to win the $2 million title.
For the second year in a row, George placed second best to Montano under controversial circumstances in the soca com- petition.
To highlight his grievances from last year, George penned his contender for this year's Soca Monarch title focusing in part on the circumstances of Montano's 2011 victory.
"If yuh know they rob me last year, put yuh two hands in the air," George states in the opening line of his 2012 composition entitled "No Pain".
The opening line references the view of some individuals that George was robbed by the judges in the International Power Soca Monarch competition last year.
Montano, on Friday, defended his 2011 Power Soca Monarch title with the song "Pump Your Flag". He also added the Groovy Soca Monarch title to his list of accomplishments for this year.
Sealing victory for Montano on Friday was a rocket man taking flight with a jet pack at the end of his performance.
Speaking to the Express at the Queen's Park Savannah in Port of Spain yesterday after performing with the Yuma mas band, George accused the International Power Soca Monarch judges of "playing games".
"Seven years ago, the International Soca Monarch competition placed a ban on the use of fireworks. All the competitors know this, so nobody uses fireworks anymore," George said.
"However, this year, an artiste used fireworks and won, but nobody at the competition announced a reversal of the ban," George said.
George also took issue with the duration of Montano's winning stage performance.
George ended his performance at the International Power Soca Monarch with more than three minutes left of the eight minutes allocated to contestants.
Montano, however, went over the stipulated time-frame for the competition, George claimed.
"Performers are expected to stay within the eight-minute time-frame or be penalised, but the person who won the competition did not abide by that rule," George said.
Montano and George are also competing for the title of this year's Road March champion.

Greenz till I die ( Pantonic panorama 2011 for me )

Old 02-22-2012, 09:30 AM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 106,275
if that is true...thats messed up

nude woman- "I am strong, independent, successful, liberated and I can show my bressssssss"

man watching nude women- "oh yeah girl I agree, more bress and poosy"

jesus christ and god' "oh black people"

devil- "no comment"--Carlos the Great!

Old 02-22-2012, 09:35 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BABYLOC View Post
if that is true...thats messed up
I was reading some the post from people and people were saying that is was true and I have realized that this year like everyone was rushing of stage and looking at the time

Old 02-22-2012, 09:38 AM   #4 (permalink)

Originally Posted by theunknownone View Post
I was reading some the post from people and people were saying that is was true and I have realized that this year like everyone was rushing of stage and looking at the time
if that is the case..then how come it was allowed?

fireworks violation
time violation

and still wins?...hmmmmm...that just dont sound quite right to me

nude woman- "I am strong, independent, successful, liberated and I can show my bressssssss"

Old 02-22-2012, 09:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wisdomologist

Credits: 41,951
Oh gosh man... is machel we talking about... is small thing

Old 02-22-2012, 09:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,715

fireworks violation
time violation

Double M like Tropicana, he got juuuuuuuuuuuuuice. Somebody say he has the PM on speed dial.

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-22-2012, 09:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
DCDB

Credits: 123,021
MM actually went over time for his groovy and power performances, and won both,,,, lol, so it go Devine order( munroe/kamla) i assume
Old 02-22-2012, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777

fireworks violation
time violation

U always up in our scandals lol

We let u have the ST case... gosh
Old 02-22-2012, 09:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Rebellicious

Credits: 145,803
Originally Posted by Chinks View Post
Double M like Tropicana, he got juuuuuuuuuuuuuice. Somebody say he has the PM on speed dial.

He real pimping de governmentmentmentment

F@(k U, you, uuu, & YOU! *middlefinger*

Old 02-22-2012, 09:55 AM   #10 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,715
Originally Posted by Audree View Post

He real pimping de governmentmentmentment
When his double win was annouced (especially groovy)...I sang/said the same thing. lol

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-22-2012, 09:55 AM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
U always up in our scandals lol

We let u have the ST case... gosh
whateves!!!! next year eveybody should boycott like bunji and fayanne! its redics they let that queen win when he is in obvious violation of the rules.

whats the ST case?

Old 02-22-2012, 10:14 AM   #12 (permalink)

Credits: 399,777
whateves!!!! next year eveybody should boycott like bunji and fayanne! its redics they let that queen win when he is in obvious violation of the rules.

whats the ST case?
Saucy
Old 02-22-2012, 10:17 AM   #13 (permalink)

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
Saucy
:::
i forgot all about that..lol

hmmmm....now that carnival over..wonders if she still too busy to check IMIX.....

*wonders if she was ducking when/if she came across dem ppl she rob

Old 02-22-2012, 10:37 AM   #14 (permalink)

So you all fell Machel getting his full 2 mill
Socapro likes this.

Old 02-22-2012, 10:50 AM   #15 (permalink)
Repect Our Soca Pioneers

Credits: 22,128
Originally Posted by theunknownone View Post
So you all fell Machel getting his full 2 mill
Its 2.5 million, 2mill for Power & 500k for groovy!

Aka Soca PhD your no.1 Soca music "Edutainer"
Catch me Every Saturday 2-4pm GMT from London
On www.GenesisRadio.co.uk (96.6FM)
www.facebook.com/socaphd
www.twitter.com/socaphd
email: projampro@yahoo.co.uk

Hailing from Trinidad & Tobago and very proud of it!!
Land of Calypso, Steelband, Limbo, Parang, Rapso, Chutney, Soca, Jamoo, Panjazz & the Original Best & Most Famous Caribbean Carnival in the World with no apology!
Together We Aspire & Together We Achieve!!