Like Tree39Likes

Old 05-06-2012, 02:13 PM   #136 (permalink)

Credits: 1,057,104
Originally Posted by Georgeflash View Post
If actions have consequences why are you making seem inconsequential that this man stepped out on his wife repeatedly.

On a scale of 1-10, with 10 being the worst act of betrayal, where does cheating on your spouse fall for you?
pause for a cause though... if he stepped out on his wife repeatedly and she chose to stay there repeatedly, then it's now her supporting that action, no? if he cheat once and you stay then i can understand forgiving but many times? come on now....

it'll probably rank as an 8... the circumstances could jack it to a full 10... i mean, most folks dont think about the circumstances of betrayal.. they just shoot first, make excuses after... when you doing your shit, you not thinkin about your family or your wife or your kids.. why think about them after? go with the flow, whether that flow leads to divorce court, family court or court ordered child support and alimony... go with the flow .. as i say.. start as you mean to go on...
Georgeflash likes this.

Old 05-06-2012, 04:14 PM   #137 (permalink)

Credits: 167,430
Originally Posted by ladyrastafari View Post
pause for a cause though... if he stepped out on his wife repeatedly and she chose to stay there repeatedly, then it's now her supporting that action, no? if he cheat once and you stay then i can understand forgiving but many times? come on now....

it'll probably rank as an 8... the circumstances could jack it to a full 10... i mean, most folks dont think about the circumstances of betrayal.. they just shoot first, make excuses after... when you doing your shit, you not thinkin about your family or your wife or your kids.. why think about them after? go with the flow, whether that flow leads to divorce court, family court or court ordered child support and alimony... go with the flow .. as i say.. start as you mean to go on...
I am glad we agree.

Humans Against Trade Embargoes Tactically Neutralizing Trinindad

Old 05-07-2012, 12:24 AM   #138 (permalink)

Credits: 1,057,104
but george.. most women are socialized to believe that having a man and "holding him down" are the end all and be all of adult female life.. fck that.. you cheat you get replaced... cos that one instance of cheating can end my life in one fell swoop... aids is no joke...

Old 05-07-2012, 12:11 PM   #139 (permalink)

Credits: 134,706
Originally Posted by Ananci_7 View Post
And you, young George are the child who learns Integrated Science and comes away from it feeling like he can now debate someone doing astrophysics.

All I've seen you do in that post is engage in a set of emotive responses none of which addresses the core issue.

So let me break it down for you: the principal thing Dr King is guilty of in the issue of his extramarital liaisons is that he failed to live up to the expectations and sexual codes of Euro-American society which was internalised by the African-American community more passionately than the Euros themselves. I do not dismiss the argument that he was essentially lying to his wife, his congregation and indeed himself. I do argue, however, that the greater fault is not Dr King or any man or woman who has a third-party relationship but that same moral code that is and has always been unrealistic; an image of perfection that cannot be reached or maintained by most people because it is not something that is natural among humans.

I am yet to see you put up one fact to show otherwise. I do not doubt that many people can and are living very happy, healthy monogamous lives but to tell me that this is the only legitimate sexual moral code is and has always been a lie and is utter egregious rubbish.

It doesn't take a university student to do some simple back-tracking to follow the origins of this moral ideal back to its beginnings to see that it had not one fuck to do with any god or respect for family or women. I've outlined it step-by-step already on Imix and in greater detail on Trinicenter.com so there's no need to repeat myself.
Nuh uh. If this were the case every cheating man or woman has an excuse. You asked what prominent, non monogamous men I'd heard of through history? The answer is none because I don't know that they were non monogamous. Obviously they weren't cheating; hence, no scandal...no one in their business, nothing to talk about. You're painting him as a poor soul trying aimlessly to live up to society's ideal of a good man...he didn't try to live up to society at the time's ideal of a good n**ga..he challenged it and changed it. Obviously he had enough intellect to realize if traditional marriage was or was not right for him...and if not, what kind of alternative might work that would NEITHER HURT NOR FORCE HIM TO DECEIVE THOSE HE WAS SUPPOSED TO HOLD DEAREST.
T-MAKAA, Lucianite and rayt2009 like this.

"Those who are able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses." -Plato

"god is the deification of a culture."
-Dr Yosef ben-Jochannan

Old 05-07-2012, 12:14 PM   #140 (permalink)

Credits: 134,706
Originally Posted by ladyrastafari View Post

I was thinking about this but it didn't really matter for purpose of this thread...who knows if the scenario wasn't something like this...relationship deteriorates, they decide to stay together...she gives her blessing to him to find his pleasure elsewhere...he's indiscreet and retarded as many men are in these types of matters...others find out and assume he's sneaking behind her back. In that case, he's not a cheater.
Lucianite likes this.

"Those who are able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses." -Plato

"god is the deification of a culture."
-Dr Yosef ben-Jochannan

Old 05-07-2012, 12:50 PM   #141 (permalink)

Credits: 10,097
Originally Posted by OverLord Strum View Post
Ok...so this man is king of kings for me & people of color. He helped sooo much with the progress for folks who look like me in America...just the fact that i can ride a non-segregated bus...or eat at a restaurant where a white man serves me is testament to his immortality.

But every man is not without his faults. The most powerful american fish in history...J. Edgar Hoover (Fishes Bureau of Investigation)...was said to have numerous illegal secret hotel recordings of MLK having sex with women who weren't his wife. Allegedly they have recordings of him with white prostitutes....and him supposedly beating one of them...the prostitute stuff is probably sensationalism.

I don't doubt that the white establishment tried to ruin him in an effort to curtail his fight for colored progress....and that they would've done anything to stop him...including killing him.

But his best friend Ralph Abernathy also details accounts of repeated adultery in his biopic "And The Walls Came Tumbling Down". I do not know if any of this is true.

MLK is probably the most important historical being to me because of the direct impacts his actions have had on my life.

But if any of this stuff is true...i cant help think just a little bit less of the man behind the legend.

But for you imix....does his infidelity tarnish his legacy?

Strum i can see why you would be questioning what you've come across but remember no man/woman is without fault or sin save one,take into consideration the era and turmoil that existed then....IMO it does not tarnish his legacy.....
Old 05-07-2012, 01:01 PM   #142 (permalink)

Credits: 10,097
Originally Posted by LB View Post
for all your reading about MLK HB, this is new to you? His rumours alleged infidelity has always been there. Even when he was alive. I am more surprised (kinda pleasantly so) that no one in his inner circle has come out earlier and explicitly stated it. But I think that they have waited this long to say anything shows the respect they had for him, and the desire not to say anything that would take away from his achievements. Its seems now, that since a lot of time has passed since he died, ppl are more willing to speak of his faults.

This is where to concept of "role model" gets dicey. You can admire someone's achievements in life, but that isnt always the same as admiring the man/human being that they are.

As a preacher he should be held to a higher standard because that is part of what you assume when you become one, but even pastors/preachers are mere mortals prone to fault and sin so.....
LB you may have hit the nail on the head by stating the obvious.... "RUMORS" is there concrete proof? or are we going off the recollections of a so called former friend,it makes me wonder why a friend would write this tell all tale??? money! recognition! fame! ....does it not make you wonder a bit.....
Lucianite likes this.
Old 05-07-2012, 01:21 PM   #143 (permalink)
IMIX Retiree

Credits: 253,759
Originally Posted by SKBai1991 View Post
So by virtue of the fact that people are whorish in general, we should give up Christianity? Should we also give up Christianity because people are badminded in general? Or because people are selfish in general? Or because people are liars in general? Or because people are violent in general?

Should we simply stop striving for better simply because others fail? Or should we strive to better ourselves in spite of our own failures and the failures of others?

They could keep on trying to be C
Sometimes I legitimately wonder if you have cerebral palsy. Wha di ass does marital fidelity have to do with whether or not someone should continue to strive for a Christian lifestyle?
You like many others on this site can't detect when some one is joking cause yall are too damn uptight.What I meant is that if people want to be legit and moral Christians is that it would be very difficult in this day and age,many Christians don't know what it means to be a Christian .Denominations constantly changing their theology (take the instance the debuting of many new versions of the Bible ) .Many have double standards. Many Christians think they can be moral when they join websites like adultfriendfinder and are flirting on twitter and FB lowkey.

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Nuh uh. If this were the case every cheating man or woman has an excuse. You asked what prominent, non monogamous men I'd heard of through history? The answer is none because I don't know that they were non monogamous. Obviously they weren't cheating; hence, no scandal...no one in their business, nothing to talk about. You're painting him as a poor soul trying aimlessly to live up to society's ideal of a good man...he didn't try to live up to society at the time's ideal of a good n**ga..he challenged it and changed it. Obviously he had enough intellect to realize if traditional marriage was or was not right for him...and if not, what kind of alternative might work that would NEITHER HURT NOR FORCE HIM TO DECEIVE THOSE HE WAS SUPPOSED TO HOLD DEAREST.
Are you sure he changed his idea of what a traditional marriage should be, he spoke out on many things but not on what entitles a traditional marriage.

''Destiny is a matter of choice, not a matter of chance.''

Old 05-07-2012, 01:23 PM   #144 (permalink)
Girl Crush

Credits: 486,565
Originally Posted by NaturalBornRidah View Post
You like many others on this site can't detect when some one is joking cause yall are too damn uptight.What I meant is that if people want to be legit and moral Christians is that it would be very difficult in this day and age,many Christians don't know what it means to be a Christian .Denominations constantly changing their theology (take the instance the debuting of many new versions of the Bible ) .Many have double standards. Many Christians think they can be moral when they join websites like adultfriendfinder and are flirting on twitter and FB lowkey.

Are you sure he changed his idea of what a traditional marriage should be, he spoke out on many things but not on what entitles a traditional marriage.
made me think of the commercial for christiandating.com.

Our Queen went to sleep, her people left to weep....in song she lives on.

Long Live the Queen!

Old 05-07-2012, 01:25 PM   #145 (permalink)

Originally Posted by NaturalBornRidah View Post

Agree
Old 05-07-2012, 01:31 PM   #146 (permalink)

Credits: 699,463
Originally Posted by Ananci_7 View Post
And you, young George are the child who learns Integrated Science and comes away from it feeling like he can now debate someone doing astrophysics.

All I've seen you do in that post is engage in a set of emotive responses none of which addresses the core issue.

So let me break it down for you: the principal thing Dr King is guilty of in the issue of his extramarital liaisons is that he failed to live up to the expectations and sexual codes of Euro-American society which was internalised by the African-American community more passionately than the Euros themselves. I do not dismiss the argument that he was essentially lying to his wife, his congregation and indeed himself. I do argue, however, that the greater fault is not Dr King or any man or woman who has a third-party relationship but that same moral code that is and has always been unrealistic; an image of perfection that cannot be reached or maintained by most people because it is not something that is natural among humans.

I am yet to see you put up one fact to show otherwise. I do not doubt that many people can and are living very happy, healthy monogamous lives but to tell me that this is the only legitimate sexual moral code is and has always been a lie and is utter egregious rubbish.

It doesn't take a university student to do some simple back-tracking to follow the origins of this moral ideal back to its beginnings to see that it had not one fuck to do with any god or respect for family or women. I've outlined it step-by-step already on Imix and in greater detail on Trinicenter.com so there's no need to repeat myself.
I truly do understand your stance but it comes with a result noone likes ... passing the buck. You're passing the buck all the way back to when the concept of marriage was initiated and iyo polluted. That "its society fault from way back when" argument never goes over well cos it excludes the personal responsibility most of us acknowledge we have to shoulder when we make decsions in life.
BacchanalDiva likes this.

Old 05-07-2012, 10:27 PM   #147 (permalink)

Credits: 31,485
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Oh please, gimme a damn chance. How do you know he had enough intellect? You know all what was going on in his head? If it's one thing Dr Morgan Job hit the nail on the head is the assertion that some of the most conservative, egregious nonsensical views and beliefs come from and are upheld by educated people: the one group you'd expect to be the opposite. Educated and intellectualism does not necessarily mean enlightened and common sense.

And I respectfully beg to disagree with the view that I'm merely passing the buck. I am merely examining it in a wider view because the problem should be looked at systemically as well as individually. If you read my many posts on the subject, I never try to dismiss the view that people have an ultimate individual responsibility and an ability to choose. However, that is too often touted and the fact that social and psychological pressures exert tremendous influence on people's thinking, especially concerning the issue of sexual moral codes, is flippantly ignored.

Create your own university; develop and encourage a culture of critical thinking and action