Old 10-30-2009, 01:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
MJ7

Credits: 66,851
Wink I Prefer My Men DARK!!!

There has been a lot of discussion in America regarding skin color issues and it's not something that many African Americans like to admit to, but the color of your skin can either open doors or close them in the community.

Skin bleaching was very popular in America through the 50's, but when the Black Power movement began to take shape in the 60's; the practice was abandoned.

However, do any of you remember the movie by Spike Lee back in the late eighties, School Daze?--Link:http://movies.nytimes.com/movie/revi...51C0A96E948260 The focus of the movie revealed the requirements for some sororities and fraternities, and one of those requirements had to do with skin tone and hair texture.

Black Americans have battled issues with skin color and hair texture, just like people in the Caribbean, but our fight now is the constant reemergence of self-hate and the insidious ways it is masked.

Light-skinned vs. Dark-skinned. One of the lasting pathologies from slavery.

I'll admit, my fiance is a beautiful dark-skinned man from Jamaica. He's tall, sexy as hell, and whenever we are out together, we both get stared at. My complexion is honey and there are lighter skinned men, who'll look at him and then me. It's as if they are trying to emit subliminal messages to me--with the attitude of, "why is she with him?" Why? Because he's one of the most intelligent men that I've met in a long time. He's very adventurous, well mannered, honest, and is ambitious. We talk about everything...and I love his company.

Did I say...He's sexy and handsome and yes,some ladies hate, but I've got him...and we will be getting married next year.

Truthfully, I've always preferred dark-skinned Black men. Not that I'm bigoted toward those who have lighter skin; it's just that dark skinned men are more of an attraction for me.

Most of the light-skinned ladies that I know seem to prefer dark-skinned Black men and are not shy about that.

So, if you are a dark-skinned man, I'll tell you: For some women, you're even more addictive than chocolate.

Last edited by MJ7; 10-30-2009 at 01:57 PM.. Reason: Changing text
Old 10-30-2009, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)

U should get a blog.
Old 10-30-2009, 01:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
17 61

Credits: 2,516,641
i though was mas a man...

After me tell dem run de marathon
dem couldnt run it!
after me tell dem bun dung de dance
dem couldnt bun it!!

Buju

Old 10-30-2009, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Plays Harder

Credits: 42,092
Originally Posted by Ingram_Gordon View Post

me 3

joie de vivre

carpe diem

I can tell you a story bout my dyck but
it would be way too long

Old 10-30-2009, 01:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
MJ7

Smile Now that you've mentioned it...

Originally Posted by T-MAKAA View Post
U should get a blog.
I have one, but I haven't been blogging a lot lately.

Old 10-30-2009, 02:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
MJ7

Red face Huh?

No. I'm all woman. And I introduced myself when I first came to IMIX.

Where were you?

Fantastic FOG Friday with Machel Montano

Pulse 48
Friday,July 12th

GOT ICE 2013, THE ULTIMATE COOLER FETE OF THE SUMMER

Pulse 48 Outdoor Complex
Saturday,June 29th
Old 10-30-2009, 02:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
God is my pilot

Credits: 83,078
U should get a blog.
Originally Posted by MJ7 View Post
I have one, but I haven't been blogging a lot lately.

I was here thinking "This lady mistaking Imix for blogspot!" LOL LOL

"Create the highest, grandest vision possible for your life, because you become what you believe." - Oprah Winfrey

"I find your lack of faith disturbing" - Darth Vader

Old 10-30-2009, 02:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
17 61

Credits: 2,516,641
No. I'm all woman. And I introduced myself when I first came to IMIX.

Where were you?

i dont normally go ova deh..

After me tell dem run de marathon
dem couldnt run it!
after me tell dem bun dung de dance
dem couldnt bun it!!

Buju

Old 10-30-2009, 02:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
MJ7

Smile Ok...

i dont normally go ova deh..
Well...that's why you didn't know that I was a woman.

Old 10-30-2009, 02:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Plays Harder

So, if you are a dark-skinned man, I'll tell you: For some women, you're even more addictive than chocolate.

This was all i read suh thanks.

joie de vivre

carpe diem

it would be way too long

Old 10-30-2009, 02:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
MJ7

Cool No. This is a messageboard, right?

Originally Posted by Shandy 2.0 View Post
I was here thinking "This lady mistaking Imix for blogspot!" LOL LOL
This is a messageboard, right? I keep forgetting that many people these days don't practice communication in the manner that I do. I don't text. I don't Twitter. And as long as I live, I will never have a MySpace or Facebook page.

Some people actually know how to THINK in full sentences and can convey thoughts clearly.

Old 10-30-2009, 02:19 PM   #12 (permalink)
Plays Harder

This is a messageboard, right? I keep forgetting that many people these days don't practice communication in the manner that I do. I don't text. I don't Twitter. And as long as I live, I will never have a MySpace or Facebook page.

Some people actually know how to THINK in full sentences and can convey thoughts clearly.

facebook and myspace and dem websites can be used for more dan jus saying two lines and stop. It can be used as your blog page, same way you type in full sentences on the message board.

But i like what you said though

joie de vivre

carpe diem

it would be way too long

Old 10-30-2009, 02:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
MJ7

Cool Not for me...

Originally Posted by cassette_craig View Post
facebook and myspace and dem websites can be used for more dan jus saying two lines and stop. It can be used as your blog page, same way you type in full sentences on the message board.

But i like what you said though
Yes, I know...but I'm not going to do it because employers are checking all of those sites now.

You've got to be careful these days. I like my anonymity on sites and why in the world do I need to post my entire biography to strangers?

It's just not safe.
Old 10-30-2009, 02:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Credits: 684,299
omg omg omg

Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither
www.cookingwithval.com
http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 10-30-2009, 02:39 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 136,673
U should get a blog.
OMFG get out of my head. I was just wondering how I could say that in a way that wouldn't sound rude but since you have no leash on yuh mouth its all good

"Those who are able to see beyond the shadows and lies of their culture will never be understood, let alone believed, by the masses." -Plato

"god is the deification of a culture."
-Dr Yosef ben-Jochannan