Old 07-13-2007, 12:24 PM   #121 (permalink)

Credits: 56,874
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
You know what, i think i may take an offer to head up to Toronto for Carnival because to be very honest, the New York Carnival is a total JOKE. Last year was the friggin worst when i hardly seen any kind of Trinbago representation on the Parkway. Bands taking all up to an hour to come down the street, on top of that, the amount of spacing between bands are ridiculous, is like i standing waiting to see what? a NYPD helicopter buzz over meh head all the time chuepss and i ask my self i came out ah my bed for this. The police is another issue, where they harass people for no reason and yes i have seen this happen with my own 2 eyes. Its like year after year the number of bands decrease, and pretty soon there would be so few of bands that people would not even bother come to NY carnival anymore. For what? to get beat up by cops and to stand up watching people walking up and down on an empty parkway. Sigh* why bother, You know i have always been loyal to NY Carnival but this year there is a possibility for change in my schedule.

I say the parkway is truly not big enough and i too feel with others, that this event should be hosted somewhere else other than the parkway. There is hardly any room to walk and i am talking about the sidewalks and onces your able to walk freely, you find out you have been pick pocketed, not to say it happened to me but the potential is there. You know people having to deal with the ignorant idiots of certain areas with there homo thug behavior from firing shots in the air or at some one in a crowd, to be harassed by police and disrespected, to having to stand in wait for 20 mins plus to see another band pass and its even more irritating when that one band looks like some 24 hour put together your own carnival band kit set, to being congested in crowds of people that don't want to even shift so you can pass to having to walk so far JUST to get on the other side of the street, to seeing a band that has a dozen people jumping and waving, its like WTF is that. having our ending time decrease from 8 or 9m cant remember the exact time down to 6 pm or 5. to me it over since 3. And why must there be a limit on the number of bands? if there is already a time limit on when the event suppose to end....

All this shows not only lack of leadership but lack of ORGANIZATION AND COORDINATION. And sad to say, My head is looking towards another direction other than towards the NY direction. Its not worth the headache, money, nor the time. Like some people want to say why HAWKS n this and that, and some may feel HAWKS calling for a boycott because they are not in it this year and other bands are, its not a jealousy bad mind situation, NOTHING what so ever for what has been stated is true, and as a participant of the NY CARNIVAL i too is in agreement that the ORGANIZATION AND COORDINATION of an event that is suppose to be indeed the biggest in the Country much less the city has serious problems on the way how this thing is conducted, you figure over so many years of this same event people would be more wise and more experienced but the evidences shows for its self that they have not grown up. Its sad and its pathetic.

I agree w/ the general sentiment of your post but want to touch on two things -the bad experience you're having each year on the pkwy can be easily solved and honestly this is wherever the parade is held -pay yuh money, put on a costume and play mas. When yuh playing mas you're completely unaware of things like how much space between each band and who have only a dozen ppl and how much room it have on the sidewalk. 2nd, I hear everybody crying about calling for WIADCA to step down -whatever the orgs faults, its because of them there is a even a ny carnival to cry about. Important fixtures in the community like that do deserve our respect and if they facking up then its to figure a way to make them work better and be held accountable by the community they're suppossed to represent.
Old 07-13-2007, 12:29 PM   #122 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
They are preparing a press release as I type this. They just called to pledge their support. The others will find themselves by themselves (You know who you are). Its like Chicago Bulls without the Knicks, Bonnie without Clyde, Imix with out Bake n Shark... How long will it take...only time will tell!
I keep telling deez folks but they won't lissen...until it's too late.
Old 07-13-2007, 12:34 PM   #123 (permalink)

Credits: 3,001
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
I keep telling deez folks but they won't lissen...until it's too late.
How did I miss that, now I am convince he doesn't know what he's talking about when he's quoting a lowlife and a loser like you.
Old 07-13-2007, 12:36 PM   #124 (permalink)

Credits: 56,874
mental illness rampant on imix
Old 07-13-2007, 12:41 PM   #125 (permalink)
Champion!

Credits: 4,327
Originally Posted by marabunta View Post
New York Shitty White Ruling Class PIMPING Allyuh Culture to the tune of $300 MILLION

3 MILLION ah allyuh let that Money Bags Bloomberg and others MudderfuKKKers Walk in Front allyuh Parade and Dont Demand NOTHING in Return.

At Least ask the MudderfuKKKers for $10 Subway or Bus Fare or make the Goddamn Public Transportation FREE in Brooklyn on that day.

lmFao

Look how much money the city make during the holidays, and they dont even let ppl ride FREE on "CHRISTMAS DAY" lmFao labor day is a big joke to them.
Dem "jew" been trying to get ride of the parade, its dat 300 mill the city not giving up. lmao

wow.
Old 07-13-2007, 12:44 PM   #126 (permalink)

Credits: 701
Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
mental illness rampant on imix
Every now and then yuh have tuh throw out some Paxil-laden corn fuh de fowl and dem.
Old 07-13-2007, 12:53 PM   #127 (permalink)

Credits: 15,005
Originally Posted by marabunta View Post
New York Shitty White Ruling Class PIMPING Allyuh Culture to the tune of $300 MILLION

3 MILLION ah allyuh let that Money Bags Bloomberg and others MudderfuKKKers Walk in Front allyuh Parade and Dont Demand NOTHING in Return.

At Least ask the MudderfuKKKers for $10 Subway or Bus Fare or make the Goddamn Public Transportation FREE in Brooklyn on that day.
Then you would have to give everyone who is having a parade that. City would loose alot of money.
Old 07-13-2007, 07:02 PM   #128 (permalink)

Credits: 100
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
You know what, i think i may take an offer to head up to Toronto for Carnival because to be very honest, the New York Carnival is a total JOKE. Last year was the friggin worst when i hardly seen any kind of Trinbago representation on the Parkway. Bands taking all up to an hour to come down the street, on top of that, the amount of spacing between bands are ridiculous, is like i standing waiting to see what? a NYPD helicopter buzz over meh head all the time chuepss and i ask my self i came out ah my bed for this. The police is another issue, where they harass people for no reason and yes i have seen this happen with my own 2 eyes. Its like year after year the number of bands decrease, and pretty soon there would be so few of bands that people would not even bother come to NY carnival anymore. For what? to get beat up by cops and to stand up watching people walking up and down on an empty parkway. Sigh* why bother, You know i have always been loyal to NY Carnival but this year there is a possibility for change in my schedule.

I say the parkway is truly not big enough and i too feel with others, that this event should be hosted somewhere else other than the parkway. There is hardly any room to walk and i am talking about the sidewalks and onces your able to walk freely, you find out you have been pick pocketed, not to say it happened to me but the potential is there. You know people having to deal with the ignorant idiots of certain areas with there homo thug behavior from firing shots in the air or at some one in a crowd, to be harassed by police and disrespected, to having to stand in wait for 20 mins plus to see another band pass and its even more irritating when that one band looks like some 24 hour put together your own carnival band kit set, to being congested in crowds of people that don't want to even shift so you can pass to having to walk so far JUST to get on the other side of the street, to seeing a band that has a dozen people jumping and waving, its like WTF is that. having our ending time decrease from 8 or 9m cant remember the exact time down to 6 pm or 5. to me it over since 3. And why must there be a limit on the number of bands? if there is already a time limit on when the event suppose to end....

All this shows not only lack of leadership but lack of ORGANIZATION AND COORDINATION. And sad to say, My head is looking towards another direction other than towards the NY direction. Its not worth the headache, money, nor the time. Like some people want to say why HAWKS n this and that, and some may feel HAWKS calling for a boycott because they are not in it this year and other bands are, its not a jealousy bad mind situation, NOTHING what so ever for what has been stated is true, and as a participant of the NY CARNIVAL i too is in agreement that the ORGANIZATION AND COORDINATION of an event that is suppose to be indeed the biggest in the Country much less the city has serious problems on the way how this thing is conducted, you figure over so many years of this same event people would be more wise and more experienced but the evidences shows for its self that they have not grown up. Its sad and its pathetic.
What can I say...You just plain ole get it...You got it. Wish more folks had your forsight and comprehension.
Old 07-13-2007, 07:10 PM   #129 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dark & Lovely View Post
Hawks... I respect your decision and I am speaking from a Steelband prospective. People who are not in the mas and steelband circle dont understand what we have to go thru to come out Panorama night or what the mas bands have to do to come out Labor Day. Thousands and Thousands of dollars are spent and in return we get back next to nothing! Yeah we do it for our culture but its hard when u see people making millions and all your band get is a little tiny piece of that.

Do u remember the year when most steelbands Boycotted the museum and went to Thomas Jefferson field? That was a hell of a year !!! It showed Wiadca that with togetherness the steelband people can gain more money and respect!!! The next year the prize money and appearance fee was raised! I still dont think its enough but that was a step in the right direction!!

I hope everthing works out for the best !

Dark & Lovely hear mi na man..I well verse. Brian Figaro organzied that, if he was not too radical it could of worked. He felt deserted when everyone went back the next year. Tried to conquer the world in a few days. The steel bands are much more advanced and got it with respect of getting together. Just image if you had a carival committe with Steel & MAS! Fire would blaze under WIDICA, but guess what we (Hawks) boycott... the others will just take a wait and see attitude. They are too afraid, they are not ready for a change. This is why I called for a boycott against them as well. Reminds of when blacks sold other blacks of slaves. In society you have the progressive ones and the backward ones. Guess where Hawks fall and the others are?
Old 07-13-2007, 07:16 PM   #130 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinifrombx View Post
Thanks for the reply.

None of what you stated to me make any sense !
!

So who is in charge of putting on the Labor day Parade ?

That is who we should Boycott !
Let me make it as simplistic as possible, WHO IS BENEFITING FROM IT? Can you answer that? WHOM who benefits should facilitate the infrastructure so that it may thrive. WIDICA is a puppet of the CITY (OPPS I gave away the answer). We going to the puppet master. WAKE UP MI FRIEND!!!
Old 07-13-2007, 07:20 PM   #131 (permalink)

Originally Posted by trinifrombx View Post
Another person watching too much cable, so share with us how we go about it ?

Common sense would tell you that we have to work with the City , what parks we own ? what streets we own ? what Hotels we own ?
You just don't get it?? Have you organized anything on this level? Lets hear your solution to the issue? It is amazing how some individuals wish to speak as an authority on a subject with absolutely no relevant and tangible experience.

Last edited by Hawks; 07-13-2007 at 07:32 PM..
Old 07-13-2007, 07:28 PM   #132 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
I hear everybody crying about calling for WIADCA to step down -whatever the orgs faults, its because of them there is a even a ny carnival to cry about. Important fixtures in the community like that do deserve our respect and if they facking up then its to figure a way to make them work better and be held accountable by the community they're suppossed to represent.
Exactly!
Old 07-13-2007, 07:32 PM   #133 (permalink)

Originally Posted by boy wonder View Post
Then you would have to give everyone who is having a parade that. City would loose alot of money.
Not if they look at the revenue generated per event. The more $$ the event makes, the larger the precent. Gives everyone an incentive to come correct. Simple.
Old 07-13-2007, 11:48 PM   #134 (permalink)

Credits: 3,394
evolution and the generation gap is what is really killing di labor day jam in brooklyn. the people in charge of the bands and incharge of wiadca have great ideas of how to "brings things to the next level" Unfortunately, they have proven that the next level is fackery. the parade is 3 blocks from my crib and for the first time i stayed home last year. im staying home again. the bottom line is that back in the days....fetes were sweeter, the parkway was sweeter, the lime on flatbush was sweeter......those days will never be back
Old 07-13-2007, 11:57 PM   #135 (permalink)
Wastin Time

Credits: 3,341
that jouvert lime on church ave is shit

that time/space in between trucks/floats is shit

the way the crowd is literally in pens is shit

the way food vendors are forced to close @ exact 6 is shit

alcohol being banned is shit

all these t-shirt trucks is shit

the parade is shit

but i have nothing else to do on labor day weekend

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
evolution and the generation gap is what is really killing di labor day jam in brooklyn. the people in charge of the bands and incharge of wiadca have great ideas of how to "brings things to the next level" Unfortunately, they have proven that the next level is fackery. the parade is 3 blocks from my crib and for the first time i stayed home last year. im staying home again. the bottom line is that back in the days....fetes were sweeter, the parkway was sweeter, the lime on flatbush was sweeter......those days will never be back