Old 07-11-2007, 06:23 PM   #46 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Credits: 3,200
Some of Allyuh Trickadadians jokey when allyuh ready yes.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:25 PM   #47 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,260
Originally Posted by Pebbles362436 View Post

Weyyyyyyyy, tory gettin tick like sea moss

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:33 PM   #48 (permalink)

Credits: 97
Originally Posted by Bago20 View Post
Hawks i'm truly sorry for your lost and as the time got more close to the big event i was very much going to contact you to do a special shoot on the house. But to the quote that was made, that is something i have tired relentlessly preach to people. I work in the city and the way how i see n be around these other big shots and actually seeing how they do their business, to be honest, they really don't care about events such as the Labor Day event, all they care about is the $$$ and how much of a cut they can get out of it, but the biggest draw back is that these promoters, or who ever actually thinks that a few $$$ that is either being offered to them is BIG when in truth, what ever amount these outsiders propose is really pocket change to them, and their pockets get bigger from the ignorant take and run with what they offer mentality and they truly fail to see the bigger picture. So they buy a little fancy car put on some rims and spend $5,000 on clothing and think their rich from receiving CRUMS Over $300 Million dollars in revenue from this event alone... Think about it....

Well said, and preaching to the choir. Simply put, our hand was forced year after year to please our patrons. However there is a time and a place when you have to take a stand. The time is now. You ever see the Chris Rock special on HBO when he talks about the RIMS..BUT THEY SPINNING NICC* THEY SPINNING... Free ya mind my people... This is a new day. Take it a step beyond NYC, look at what these private equity firms are doing these days in terms of buying up everything thing. $300m is gambling $$ to them, that is a line item in the City's budget, they can do it. We just need the governing body to advocate for us as a whole in leui of the current disjointed approach. As for the promoters..dont get me started on that. If they net between $2.5-$7k that is a lot and with the liability and work invloved to make that keep that chump change. I got better things to do with my time and $$
Old 07-11-2007, 06:36 PM   #49 (permalink)
Azuuucar!

Credits: 57,260
Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
Well said, and preaching to the choir. Simply put, our hand was forced year after year to please our patrons. However there is a time and a place when you have to take a stand. The time is now. You ever see the Chris Rock special on HBO when he talks about the RIMS..BUT THEY SPINNING NICC* THEY SPINNING... Free ya mind my people... This is a new day. Take it a step beyond NYC, look at what these private equity firms are doing these days in terms of buying up everything thing. $300m is gambling $$ to them, that is a line item in the City's budget, they can do it. We just need the governing body to advocate for us as a whole in leui of the current disjointed approach. As for the promoters..dont get me started on that. If they net between $2.5-$7k that is a lot and with the liability and work invloved to make that keep that chump change. I got better things to do with my time and $$
Maybe it's time for a NEW governing body.

-Meh Granny say so.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:38 PM   #50 (permalink)

Credits: 56,863
Well tell us the joke leh we laugh too sil vous plait
Old 07-11-2007, 06:45 PM   #51 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Well tell us the joke leh we laugh too sil vous plait
Where does it look like I'm laughing? But now that you mention it. If your organization is a "501" C (3) you hire folks to write grants and do fund development for your organization. If they suck at writting grants and funddevelopment then you need to fire them.

However, sponsorship monies is only the icing on cake. Your books are suppose to be $0 at the end of your fiscal year because its supposely a non for profit organization.
Urges Caribbean Americans and immigrants to stand up and be counted in Census 2010. Over $35 billion in federal dollars is going to be decided if its allocated into Caribbean communities and media houses by the government from the results. So make sure to write in your birth place of origin under questions #8 and #9 of the Census form. Email me for more information on helping this process to get us truly respected, counted and empowered.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:47 PM   #52 (permalink)
امرأة جميلة قوية هائلة

Credits: 1,933
Where does it look like I'm laughing? But now that you mention it. If your organization is a "501" C (3) you hire folks to write grants and do fund development for your organization. If they suck at writting grants and funddevelopment then you need to fire them.

However, sponsorship monies is only the icing on cake. Your books are suppose to be $0 at the end of your fiscal year because its supposely a non for profit organization.

"I imagine that one of the reasons that people cling to their hates so stubbornly is because they sense, once hate is gone, that they will be forced to deal with the pain."
Baldwin, James Writer and Activist (1924-1987)

"Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman."
Anderson, Marian Singer (1897-1993)
Old 07-11-2007, 06:51 PM   #53 (permalink)

Its after 5 pm so don't get too technical on me lol. So, what you're saying is that ny carnival bands have nothing to be upset about at the moment?
Old 07-11-2007, 07:06 PM   #54 (permalink)

Credits: 97

Easier said than done. It boils down to following: If you are contending for limited finite resources in the same town and your missions are the same, some will get and some will not. Most times it will be a round-robin. You can have the best grant writers in the world sometimes that will not make a difference. There is only so many ways you can split $1. And for the record, a non-for-profit does not have to show $0 at the end of their fiscal year.
Old 07-11-2007, 07:14 PM   #55 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Its after 5 pm so don't get too technical on me lol. So, what you're saying is that ny carnival bands have nothing to be upset about at the moment?
LOL I'm off the clock too gyal. But it's days like this that I'm glad I not really in the mix of things to know all the specifics details. But I know when a 501 c 3 get's audited even your petty cash box should be in check and balance down to the very last penny. Worst yet if you catch a grant reviewer on a bad day. One year I had an audit two weeks before leaving to Trinidad for carnival. Talk about pressure.lol The non for profit is then at risk to lose the grant and funding. I put my plane ticket on my desk and I was like I'll call allyuh on Ash Wednesday for the results.lol But it can be a lot of different variables that they are looking at/for sometimes. But that's another can of worms and I don't won't to be guilty of ASSuming and asking too many specific questions about what the Real story MIGHT be here. It's always good to hear three sides of the story.

Last edited by Pebbles362436; 07-11-2007 at 07:40 PM..
Old 07-11-2007, 07:15 PM   #56 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

Credits: 5,935
[QUOTE=Hawks;2575336]Well said, and preaching to the choir. Simply put, our hand was forced year after year to please our patrons. However there is a time and a place when you have to take a stand. The time is now. You ever see the Chris Rock special on HBO when he talks about the RIMS..BUT THEY SPINNING NICC* THEY SPINNING... Free ya mind my people... This is a new day. Take it a step beyond NYC, look at what these private equity firms are doing these days in terms of buying up everything thing. $300m is gambling $$ to them, that is a line item in the City's budget, they can do it. We just need the governing body to advocate for us as a whole in leui of the current disjointed approach. As for the promoters..dont get me started on that. If they net between $2.5-$7k that is a lot and with the liability and work invloved to make that keep that chump change. I got better things to do with my time and $$[/QUOTE]

Exactly and that is something i really do not understand. If such planning has been going on for a while leading up to such an event, why settle less that whats its real worth of time n money that was put into it. Also as we all can see that the make up of Crown Heights is changing to the tune of Manahattanites migrating to Brooklyn. And let tell some of you people this, these are not regular type people that are moving into the area, these are Doctors, Wall Street Brokers, Bankers, Corporate Ceos/ Vps. and their Spoil Children. And with the Brooklyn Nets project under way, even more of these people are going to come down to the area where that lower section of Flatbush is going to look like a mini BROADWAY where you see them sipping on their Capachinos and walking their puddle wearing they D&G... Plus if you did not realize this but CONDOS are already built and more are being constructed and please don't ask the cost for a space because the price will not reflect those who are from the area, totally different kind of clientèle.

From ever since a certain governing body (I SAY NO NAMES) holds a monarchy on the West Indian Day parade, the taste and flavor of the parade has been decreasing its true value and potential, what i suggest is to go beyond Brooklyn, go into their territory and just market yourself very hard and do your RESEARCH before presenting any kind of portfolio. These people work with Numbers. they live it, dream it, n f *&( it.

The West Indian day Parade is Global Event for why many from across the globe and the country participate in. 300 Million in One day is serious money and you guys really need to just forget about the egos and small minded thinking and come to the round table and discuss this situation and come to an agreement. Speak to the local, state, city political representatives because it is truly sad that over and over again that when Black people create something that is SO UNIQUE in its truest form of its nature people must hold that to the heart n take great pride in it to not just sell it all away because this n this amount of money sounds BIG when in reality it is nothing.

New York has the most Millionaires and Billionaire in the country and this is something that people must take into consideration because when these outsiders comes into our territory and buy some of us out, you know what happen, that very same CRUMS of a money that these people thought were big is nothing compared to the links and marketing ability and capability in which these people are able to produce benefits 3 times 10x over.

As for the monarchy of a governing body, i seriously think a NEW ONE should be establish, it is great to show respects to the man that invented the whole thing but you know what, this is 2007 and people have to eat, certain things are NOT WORKING so why continue to use it? PEOPLE HAVE TO UNDERSTAND WE HAVE THE POWER NOT THEM, WITH OUT US THERE IS NOOOOOOOOOOOOO LABOR DAY THERE IS NOOOOOOOOO CARNIVAL AND THERE IS NOOOOOOOOOOOOO $300 MILLION IN REVENUE, trust me, you take away their toy (US) and they will start to cry and beg for the toy (US) back. But like i said, fancy car with rims and $5,000 on clothes, nothing better than being GHETTO FABULOUS.

I'm good.

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=3345

http://www.islandmix.com/gallery/showgallery.php?cat=500&page=2&ppuser=25586
Old 07-11-2007, 07:20 PM   #57 (permalink)

Credits: 3,375
LOL I'm off the clock too gyal. But it's days like this that I'm glad I not really in the mix of things to know all the specifics details. But I know when a 501 c 3 get's audited even you petty cash box should be in check and balance down to the last penny. Worst yet if you catch a grant reviewer on a bad day. The non for profit is then at risk to lose the grant and funding. But it can be a lot of different variables that they are looking at. But that's another can of worms and I don't won't to be guilty of ASSuming and asking too many specific questions about what the Real story MIGHT be here. It's always good to hear two sides of the stories.
sooo, you saying that papa hawks didnt get that MANSION with the PORSHE in the driveway from his regular job as a mail man?
Old 07-11-2007, 07:21 PM   #58 (permalink)

LOL I'm off the clock too gyal. But it's days like this that I'm glad I not really in the mix of things to know all the specifics details. But I know when a 501 c 3 get's audited even your petty cash box should be in check and balance down to the very last penny. Worst yet if you catch a grant reviewer on a bad day. One year I had an audit two weeks before leaving for Trinidad for carnival. Talk about pressure.lolThe non for profit is then at risk to lose the grant and funding. But it can be a lot of different variables that they are looking at. But that's another can of worms and I don't won't to be guilty of ASSuming and asking too many specific questions about what the Real story MIGHT be here. It's always good to hear two sides of the stories.
I see. Do you have any idea if borrokeetes may be the other band pulling out?
Old 07-11-2007, 07:30 PM   #59 (permalink)
Cover Girl

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
sooo, you saying that papa hawks didnt get that MANSION with the PORSHE in the driveway from his regular job as a mail man?
You see how allyuh imixers jokey and like bacchanal. I never said that.lol

*Pebbs logs off imix and goes to wash her hair* How was your vacation? Don't forget to send me pics.
Old 07-11-2007, 07:41 PM   #60 (permalink)

Credits: 3,375
You see how allyuh imixers jokey and like bacchanal. I never said that.lol

*Pebbs logs off imix and goes to wash her hair* How was your vacation? Don't forget to send me pics.
i wont be able to go til end of august. im trying to make the ultimate trip.