Old 07-11-2007, 05:39 PM   #31 (permalink)

Originally Posted by bygmyke33 View Post
Hawks not on the road for Labor Day...That's crazy...
Originally Posted by spicexperience View Post
of all things on life, i look forward to labor day on the parkway. to hear a band like Hawks not taking part is crushing. $60,000 to come out and $5000 as a prize = true love of the culture. i hope things can turn around soon, i wouldn't mind helping a bit
Totally agree with both of these. Its really sad, everytime we start to feel like we're progressing and the culture is moving forward, something like this reminds us how far we still have to go. What's worse, I'm not sure there are any pioneers left, anyone with youthful vision that has also has the dedication..shyt that gives a damn enough to effect change.

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
I say contact the Mayor of Woodstock NY (or somewhere outside NYC) and take the show on the road, somebody would appreciate the economic gain of having a WI Day Celebration in their city. All that money West Indians generating during that week and allyuh still getting treated like shit. Good ting I Irish and could go drink and piss all over Manhattan on St. Patrick's Day....................haul allyuhmudderkhunt
dunno if you just kicksing but I find this an excellent idea. New York state has tons of places that would be more fun, more scenic and offer less restrictions that the pkwy

Originally Posted by Rinababy View Post
This is comical....they wouldn't want WI's within a hundred feet of they town..
I completely disagree. Even if we're only tolerated for business gain, if we're treated right, the bands get their due and I enjoy my day nothing else matters much.
Old 07-11-2007, 05:43 PM   #32 (permalink)
Emperor's Cure

Yuh see how white neygah lub fu fack up tingz?! Steupse.... as for the train thing... I can't tell you how many times, coming from BK to the BX, I have literally stood on people backs on the way home waiting in that damn train station looking for my Metrocard that almost always falls out on the Parkway... that's the least they could do for us... seeing as we bring in so much revenue for that one day... I can remember last yr. I went on a cruise and we were in Barbados one day and this lady found out I was from NYC, she went on and on about how she was leaving in a week for the parade and how she can't wait to reach BK for the parade.. yuh mean to tell me wid a big cultural event like Labor Day drawing in people from all East, West, North and South and everywhere in between, the friggin mayor cyah give back a lil' sumting?!?! But me sure he go be one ah de first smaddy fi full eh belly wid all kinda jerk, curry, steam and fry up sumting..... Fack DAT!! I agree wid Hawks Int. Soon, everybody else go follow suite
Old 07-11-2007, 05:48 PM   #33 (permalink)
Amanza Awatu!

The phrase should be changed to: United we stand and United we fall. Someone stated earlier that all bands should stand up with Hawks and DEMAND assistance.

The tone should be from all band leaders: "IF WE ALL DON'T GET ASSISTANCE, THEN THERE WON'T BE JAMMIN ON DE PARKWAY!"
Old 07-11-2007, 05:54 PM   #34 (permalink)

Originally Posted by chinky eyes View Post
The phrase should be changed to: United we stand and United we fall. Someone stated earlier that all bands should stand up with Hawks and DEMAND assistance.

The tone should be from all band leaders: "IF WE ALL DON'T GET ASSISTANCE, THEN THERE WON'T BE JAMMIN ON DE PARKWAY!"
One would think these bands should be able to stand together and do it because they're not MAKING any money between their community work and the out of pocket expenses of the band. Yet and still unfortunately will probably never happen. Just like ny promoters cant get together for any cause/issue. Too much infighting and competition.
Old 07-11-2007, 05:56 PM   #35 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Hawks View Post
HAWKS INTERNATIONAL PULLS OUT OF 2007 NEW YORK LABOR DAY CARNIVAL CELEBRATION

July 11,2007

For Immediate Release
Source: Hawks International Inc.
info@hawksintl.com

Video: available at:
1) http://www.hawksintl.com/hawkslaborday2006.wmv

Photographs available at:
2) Jewels of The Caribbean Hawks International Labor Day 2005

To our many friends & supporters who have participated and enjoyed our Labor-Day Carnival presentation over the past 30 + years, and to the general public as a whole, we wish to thank you for your support during this period. Unfortunately we have come to the decision that we can no longer participate in the West Indian Day Carnival presentation because of the increasing cost, lack of funding, inability to host fund raising events, the inconvenient and excessive restrictions imposed by the NYPD and the inability of WIADCA (West Indian American Day Carnival Association) to properly represent the producers of this significant event, perhaps the largest of it’s kind in the USA.

This festival generates almost $300 million for the City of New York while the producers are forced to pay their own way even a fee to WIADCA to participate in the Carnival Celebration on the Parkway. While we are certain that the absence of Hawks International alone will not be felt, we have decided that this is an exercise in futility which must now come to an end. We are cognizant of our commitment to sustain the rich culture of the Caribbean and the necessity to pass the tradition on to generations of the future. Should conditions change for the better to foster an infrastructure in which we the producers can thrive we stand poise to continue our contribution. We look forward to the continued support at other Hawks International fund raising activities.

Our Motto: Dare to Forge the Future.

For further information visit Hawks International call 732.406.5231or email info@hawksintl.com

ENDS
###
i used to LOVE HAWKS....the sweet lime on friday nights....ahh the memories. Didnt hawks boycott a few years ago also?

Personally, im disappointed with HAWKS and Borokeete. I figured that by now you guys would have OWNED a yard somewhere to set up as a permanent camp.

Lucky for me i was able to enjoy what some would argue as being the peak years for west indian festivities in brooklyn. Unfortunately, things will probably never be as nice again and my kids will never get to enjoy themselves as much as i did.
Old 07-11-2007, 05:58 PM   #36 (permalink)
Emperor's Cure

Da day they cancel a Parkway.. I swear I will have a breakdown...smaddy gon have tuh carry my ass ah jail cause I shootin everybody!!!
Old 07-11-2007, 06:02 PM   #37 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Moneboo View Post
Da day they cancel a Parkway.. I swear I will have a breakdown...smaddy gon have tuh carry my ass ah jail cause I shootin everybody!!!
as far as im concered, the parkway been cancelled since about 2000. first of all, no one even takes pride in their sound truck anymore....its one sit ah drum pan sound playin on di road....besides the hatians of course. that plus more t-shirt bands than mas bands makes the pkwy a flop in my opinion. nowadays i only go cause its 1 block away and i look forward to seeing the hatian truck with t-vice.......i never new hatian music was soooo sweet!
Old 07-11-2007, 06:06 PM   #38 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Moneboo View Post
the friggin mayor cyah give back a lil' sumting?!?! But me sure he go be one ah de first smaddy fi full eh belly wid all kinda jerk, curry, steam and fry up sumting..... Fack DAT!! I agree wid Hawks Int. Soon, everybody else go follow suite

Just got a call, 1 more one band is following...See all it takes is someone to lead with balls. No longer will Hawks be a puppet.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:13 PM   #39 (permalink)

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
One would think these bands should be able to stand together and do it because they're not MAKING any money between their community work and the out of pocket expenses of the band. Yet and still unfortunately will probably never happen. Just like ny promoters cant get together for any cause/issue. Too much infighting and competition.
Its embedded in the culture, it will take the coming of Christ to get some folks in the position to affect change to actually do something. Its all about the jump and wave for most. Just look at the what the pirate radio stations have been able to do in relatively short period of time. Yet they have failed to seize or harness the potential, they probably don't even realize what they have. Just take a listen to the bullshi*t that transpires on these stations. When you look at them on eastern parkway and wonder why they own NY and world
Old 07-11-2007, 06:13 PM   #40 (permalink)

Just got a call, 1 more one band is following...See all it takes is someone to lead with balls. No longer will Hawks be a puppet.
name names....this could be the begining of the end
Old 07-11-2007, 06:16 PM   #41 (permalink)
not ur friend...

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
i used to LOVE HAWKS....the sweet lime on friday nights....ahh the memories. Didnt hawks boycott a few years ago also?

Personally, im disappointed with HAWKS and Borokeete. I figured that by now you guys would have OWNED a yard somewhere to set up as a permanent camp.

Lucky for me i was able to enjoy what some would argue as being the peak years for west indian festivities in brooklyn. Unfortunately, things will probably never be as nice again and my kids will never get to enjoy themselves as much as i did.

dread HAWKS on ah friday night was de shit......till this day me an meh boys still talk bout them days,dais when party in bk was nice.
Old 07-11-2007, 06:16 PM   #42 (permalink)
I'm on the Rock

In your own way you have summed it up! Let me put some additional color on it for you and everyone else that thinks it just about a jump & wine. If it were up to me, the only people who would be able to march in my parade would be those who have demonstrated behavior consistent with our agenda!

1. Governing Body (WIDICA) & all other bands fight for the same limited pool of $$ that sponsors put out there. Hence no coordination and the money holders diminish our potential.

2. Typical production cost for the band the size of Hawks & Sesame $60,000

3. First place prize from WIDICA $5000

4. It can be illustrated that $300 mil is the tip of the ice-berg with respect to revenue realized by the City-State on this 1 day (Hotel Taxes, MTA, Vendors etc)

5. Sponsors divide and conquer by running between the different organizations to see who will give them the best deal while they continue reap the continued benefits of our community all year around.

6. Carnival Band Association dis-functional, no progressive movers and shakers (Crabs in a barrel syndrome).

7. WIDICA -status quo, do not rock the boat, $$ coming in, biggest parade in North America, bands will want to keep jumping (Puppet mentality).

8. Atlantic Yards project will be soon finished, the City will move in and take over the whole thing and structure it differently reaping even more profit while throwing a small bone to WIDICA to keep their face on it as to not seem to imperialistic. They will site how Toronto, Trinidad and other places as precedence that is working and why it make sense for them to take it over.

9. See number 6, this is why we will not be in control when it does happen.

10. Someone needs to take a leadership role. Typically that has always been Hawks.

In summary, if all the bands would get together (Both Steel & MAS) to effect change in lieu of opting for the small change derived from the carnival(Promoter Mentality), big things can happen.

Check your history, you do not know where you are going unless you know where you came from. It is only hope the rest of the carnival community wake up and smell the coffee, they new who they are. Good luck!
Hawks i'm truly sorry for your lost and as the time got more close to the big event i was very much going to contact you to do a special shoot on the house. But to the quote that was made, that is something i have tired relentlessly preach to people. I work in the city and the way how i see n be around these other big shots and actually seeing how they do their business, to be honest, they really don't care about events such as the Labor Day event, all they care about is the $$$ and how much of a cut they can get out of it, but the biggest draw back is that these promoters, or who ever actually thinks that a few $$$ that is either being offered to them is BIG when in truth, what ever amount these outsiders propose is really pocket change to them, and their pockets get bigger from the ignorant take and run with what they offer mentality and they truly fail to see the bigger picture. So they buy a little fancy car put on some rims and spend $5,000 on clothing and think their rich from receiving CRUMS Over $300 Million dollars in revenue from this event alone... Think about it....
Old 07-11-2007, 06:19 PM   #43 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
name names....this could be the begining of the end
They are preparing a press release as I type this. They just called to pledge their support. The others will find themselves by themselves (You know who you are). Its like Chicago Bulls without the Knicks, Bonnie without Clyde, Maracas with out a Bake n Shark... How long will it take...only time will tell!
Old 07-11-2007, 06:20 PM   #44 (permalink)
Dragon Lizard

Originally Posted by da_ice View Post
dread HAWKS on ah friday night was de shit......till this day me an meh boys still talk bout them days,dais when party in bk was nice.
That's when parties was good...I miss those days...
Old 07-11-2007, 06:23 PM   #45 (permalink)

Originally Posted by da_ice View Post
WAIT........Hawks allyuh still having de boatride ??
How you mean? Tickets on sale next week. This has nothing to do with other Hawks activites. Will be the 28th anniversary..that caaannnn dun.