Old 07-14-2007, 12:06 AM   #136 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DUTTY{HD} View Post
that jouvert lime on church ave is shit

that time/space in between trucks/floats is shit

the way the crowd is literally in pens is shit

the way food vendors are forced to close @ exact 6 is shit

alcohol being banned is shit

all these t-shirt trucks is shit

the parade is shit

but i have nothing else to do on labor day weekend
that is the reason millions of people go. all those idiots that go to cause trouble and mash up di ting are there cause they got nothing else to do for labor day. i think this year im gonna go to the movies or shopping in kings plaza for labor day
Old 07-14-2007, 12:16 AM   #137 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Ras_Apache View Post
that is the reason millions of people go. all those idiots that go to cause trouble and mash up di ting are there cause they got nothing else to do for labor day. i think this year im gonna go to the movies or shopping in kings plaza for labor day
last 2 years i been going breakfast parties......d parkway doh even cross my mind
Old 07-14-2007, 12:29 AM   #138 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Agent Jack Bauer View Post
last 2 years i been going breakfast parties......d parkway doh even cross my mind
i could never wake up in time for the breakfast fetes.
Old 07-14-2007, 12:33 AM   #139 (permalink)

i could never wake up in time for the breakfast fetes.
nah dread, midday to like 6/7 in d afternoon....hot sun
Old 07-14-2007, 12:36 AM   #140 (permalink)

nah dread, midday to like 6/7 in d afternoon....hot sun
ill bet that a married dude invented that one..... "ill be right back honey....im just running down to sears to check out some power tools "
Old 07-14-2007, 12:40 AM   #141 (permalink)

ill bet that a married dude invented that one..... "ill be right back honey....im just running down to sears to check out some power tools "
dais like dem men on meh wukk, tell dem wife dem dey working overtime after work so dat dey could go lime........pathetic.
Old 07-14-2007, 12:43 AM   #142 (permalink)

dais like dem men on meh wukk, tell dem wife dem dey working overtime after work so dat dey could go lime........pathetic.
i know right....any smart woman would know that raggamuffin doesnt offer overtime.

Last edited by Ras_Apache; 07-14-2007 at 12:45 AM.
Old 07-18-2007, 02:55 AM   #143 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Hawks;

Thanks for your candid reply !

Again, I respectfully disagree with you...you yourself stated one of the major issues :

"Yolanda is not the problem, her supporting cast is. Once again, talking from experience and being in the "inner circle." Yolanda has progressive ideas, if you cannot get your agenda passed in your own organization and get marginalized, then you have issues. Also, do not be so quick to asses blame. Follow the $$ train and see who benefits the most from what we do. You will then clearly see that WIADCA is in the food chain but not at the end. In my opinion the ones to blame are the entities that are benefiting the most and the entities that are not benefiting it but supporting it, City<-->Bands. WIADCA is in the middle. Study it!"

To me, that is a foolish statement, so she is the President, thinking out the Box, progressive ideas...yet, her supporting cast members are holding her back....well, it is common sense to me here that we have either a President that LACKS LEADERSHIP ABILITY, OR A NO CONFIDENCE VOTE BY HER STAFF, WHICH ONE IS IT ?

There is nothing to study.... NYC and a few Businesses will always have the upper hand !

Correct, I am not in the inner circle, but you don't need a MBA from Harvard to realize that if the organization that is suppose to represent the General Members lack any political clout, or accountability of the financial books... it is only clear that the shake up needs to begin there.

to others who support this boycott...see below !
Old 07-18-2007, 02:56 AM   #144 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Public Announcement

There are a lot of delusional people in NYC.... NYC don't give 2 sh$t about any Labor Day Parade In Bklyn or any other Major Cities in America....only a foolish person who lack any business sense would think otherwise, we are not talking about T&T, JA, Grenada, etc....where 200 million - to 300 million will make or break an economy, we are talking about NYC.....NYC alone issue numerous Revenue Producing Bonds to the market place on a monthly basic worth Millions on top Of Millions....so if people are that naive to think that the Parade on Eastern Parkway will make or break NYC....they too are delusional !

The amount of money NYC would save in over-time pay to the Fire Dept., Police Dept., Sanitation Dept., etc.... much less the Jews would welcome it, as a matter of fact, we are taking up their space !

For those that live in the area you know that they too have an annual Parade on Kingston Ave., they too wine and get on real bad in the streets... now since they have imported most of the Jewish people from Europe, I am sure Eastern Parkway is now suitable for them to have that parade !

Again...unless we are going to question why YOLANDA LEZAMA-CLARK, President of WEST INDIAN-AMERICAN DAY CARNIVAL ASSOCIATION, INC. is still President, there is really nothing to boycott !

Unless we are going to question the book of WIADCA, there is nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to question the board members on how they are selected to WIADCA, there is nothing to boycott !

Unless we are going to talk about Caribbean Unity..on the Parkway, there is Nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to be Proactive in our Community, not just for the Bacchanal , or the 11th hour, there is nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to hold our elected officials accountable, not just for the parade or Photo opps, then there is nothing to Boycott !

Socapineman

Last edited by socapineman; 07-18-2007 at 03:00 AM.
Old 07-18-2007, 10:47 AM   #145 (permalink)

Originally Posted by socapineman View Post

Public Announcement

There are a lot of delusional people in NYC.... NYC don't give 2 sh$t about any Labor Day Parade In Bklyn or any other Major Cities in America....only a foolish person who lack any business sense would think otherwise, we are not talking about T&T, JA, Grenada, etc....where 200 million - to 300 million will make or break an economy, we are talking about NYC.....NYC alone issue numerous Revenue Producing Bonds to the market place on a monthly basic worth Millions on top Of Millions....so if people are that naive to think that the Parade on Eastern Parkway will make or break NYC....they too are delusional !

The amount of money NYC would save in over-time pay to the Fire Dept., Police Dept., Sanitation Dept., etc.... much less the Jews would welcome it, as a matter of fact, we are taking up their space !

For those that live in the area you know that they too have an annual Parade on Kingston Ave., they too wine and get on real bad in the streets... now since they have imported most of the Jewish people from Europe, I am sure Eastern Parkway is now suitable for them to have that parade !

Again...unless we are going to question why YOLANDA LEZAMA-CLARK, President of WEST INDIAN-AMERICAN DAY CARNIVAL ASSOCIATION, INC. is still President, there is really nothing to boycott !

Unless we are going to question the book of WIADCA, there is nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to question the board members on how they are selected to WIADCA, there is nothing to boycott !

Unless we are going to talk about Caribbean Unity..on the Parkway, there is Nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to be Proactive in our Community, not just for the Bacchanal , or the 11th hour, there is nothing to Boycott !

Unless we are going to hold our elected officials accountable, not just for the parade or Photo opps, then there is nothing to Boycott !

Socapineman
Well, I did not READ most of what has been STATED in this THREAD. But when you have PEOPLE who know NOTHING about BUSINESS, POLITICS and how the RALLY the COMMUNITY, eventually they're going to FAIL.

Moreover, when you have a CARNIVAL that is SUPPOSE to be INCLUSIVE instead of EXCLUSIVE, U R eventually going to have PROBLEMS.

When you give FALSE INFORMATION about the HISTORY of this FESTIVAL and try to MAKE it a FESTIVAL where one NATION DOMINATES EVERY ASPECT of it, U R going to RUN into PROBLEMS. eventually.

The COMMUNITIES of those NATIONS that have been SHUNNED will be NEEDED if you're trying to CHALLENGE CITY HALL and the JEWISH COMMUNITY. That being the case, the EXCLUSIVE approach of the WIADCA will EVENTUALLY be its DOWNFALL.

If the WIADCA is being RUN like an exclusive FAMILY AFFAIR/BUSINESS, it is not going to WORK, ESPECIALLY if the FAMILY does not have the SKILLS, VISION and INTELLIGENCE to HANDLE the POLITICKING that is going to come from those outside the CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY.

And if the FAMILY doesn't have the BUSINESS ACUMEN to HELP the FESTIVAL GROW, eventually the WIADCA is going to LOSE a lot of SPONSORS and influence in and out of its Caribbean COMMUNITY.

The WIADCA needs people that KNOW how to DEAL with the CHALLENGES that are HAMPERING the FESTIVAL from GROWING. It needs people who can BETTER deal with the CHALLENGES from the JEWS and CITY HALL. And the only how to do this, there has to be PRESSURE put on those who are RUNNING the SHOW inside the WIADCA.
Old 07-18-2007, 05:24 PM   #146 (permalink)

Well, I did not READ most of what has been STATED in this THREAD. But when you have PEOPLE who know NOTHING about BUSINESS, POLITICS and how the RALLY the COMMUNITY, eventually they're going to FAIL.

Moreover, when you have a CARNIVAL that is SUPPOSE to be INCLUSIVE instead of EXCLUSIVE, U R eventually going to have PROBLEMS.

When you give FALSE INFORMATION about the HISTORY of this FESTIVAL and try to MAKE it a FESTIVAL where one NATION DOMINATES EVERY ASPECT of it, U R going to RUN into PROBLEMS. eventually.

The COMMUNITIES of those NATIONS that have been SHUNNED will be NEEDED if you're trying to CHALLENGE CITY HALL and the JEWISH COMMUNITY. That being the case, the EXCLUSIVE approach of the WIADCA will EVENTUALLY be its DOWNFALL.
If the WIADCA is being RUN like an exclusive FAMILY AFFAIR/BUSINESS, it is not going to WORK, ESPECIALLY if the FAMILY does not have the SKILLS, VISION and INTELLIGENCE to HANDLE the POLITICKING that is going to come from those outside the CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY.

And if the FAMILY doesn't have the BUSINESS ACUMEN to HELP the FESTIVAL GROW, eventually the WIADCA is going to LOSE a lot of SPONSORS and influence in and out of its Caribbean COMMUNITY.

The WIADCA needs people that KNOW how to DEAL with the CHALLENGES that are HAMPERING the FESTIVAL from GROWING. It needs people who can BETTER deal with the CHALLENGES from the JEWS and CITY HALL. And the only how to do this, there has to be PRESSURE put on those who are RUNNING the SHOW inside the WIADCA.
Vincypowa:
One of your better post.

Excellents points also.

I keep asking him what Parks, streets, Hotels, etc we own.

Pineman, another good post.
Old 07-20-2007, 04:26 PM   #147 (permalink)

Hawks, you want support, yet you refuse to share with us why or what are you doing to fix these problems, how is a boycott going to help when the people playing mas are paying for their costumes ?
Old 07-20-2007, 05:37 PM   #148 (permalink)
Debble

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
I agree w/ the general sentiment of your post but want to touch on two things -the bad experience you're having each year on the pkwy can be easily solved and honestly this is wherever the parade is held -pay yuh money, put on a costume and play mas. When yuh playing mas you're completely unaware of things like how much space between each band and who have only a dozen ppl and how much room it have on the sidewalk. 2nd, I hear everybody crying about calling for WIADCA to step down -whatever the orgs faults, its because of them there is a even a ny carnival to cry about. Important fixtures in the community like that do deserve our respect and if they facking up then its to figure a way to make them work better and be held accountable by the community they're suppossed to represent.
The major question is, how do you make WIADCA comply with your requests? I went to WIADCA and I did my best to bring up issues and when asked for what the plan whas or what they were going to do, you are pretty much told to wait and see. Or given no answer at all. Now I understand the sensitive position that they are in. But There are things that could be done to make the paraderun a lot smoother. Answer a silly question like this. Why were there no WIADCA officials at the starting point of the parade? The decision as to what order the bands go on the parkway appeared to be solely up to the police not the people organizing the parade.

If every year you voice your displeasure to the organizers and every year the same problems repeat themselves, what are your alternatives? You try to force the hands of the powers that be if you can or you walk away. At times it seems as if they won't even entertain an open format meeting where you can say they document your complaints and then report back to you as far as what was done to make things better.

Regarding paying your money to pay mas. What happens when playing mas becomes a sprint down eastern parkway. I have done long distance running but the running I had to do on labor day to get a food van caught up to a truck that only had two bands in front of it was ridiculous.

Hell I remember when we the band got to the judging section the state trooper told the truck driver to keep moving.

I have seen band leaders being threatened to be arrested because they were going to speak to the WIADCA official although they had the proper ID that identified them and gave them access to where they were going.

Issues are not being addressed. The change has to come from all of us. Don't ask someone to bend over backwards and then jump on them for a ride too.
Old 07-20-2007, 08:49 PM   #149 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Originally Posted by benjie View Post

The major question is, how do you make WIADCA comply with your requests?

I went to WIADCA and I did my best to bring up issues and when asked for what the plan whas or what they were going to do, you are pretty much told to wait and see. Or given no answer at all. Now I understand the sensitive position that they are in. But There are things that could be done to make the paraderun a lot smoother. Answer a silly question like this. Why were there no WIADCA officials at the starting point of the parade? The decision as to what order the bands go on the parkway appeared to be solely up to the police not the people organizing the parade.

If every year you voice your displeasure to the organizers and every year the same problems repeat themselves, what are your alternatives? You try to force the hands of the powers that be if you can or you walk away. At times it seems as if they won't even entertain an open format meeting where you can say they document your complaints and then report back to you as far as what was done to make things better.

Regarding paying your money to pay mas. What happens when playing mas becomes a sprint down eastern parkway. I have done long distance running but the running I had to do on labor day to get a food van caught up to a truck that only had two bands in front of it was ridiculous.

Hell I remember when we the band got to the judging section the state trooper told the truck driver to keep moving.

I have seen band leaders being threatened to be arrested because they were going to speak to the WIADCA official although they had the proper ID that identified them and gave them access to where they were going.

Issues are not being addressed. The change has to come from all of us. Don't ask someone to bend over backwards and then jump on them for a ride too.

That there my friend is the Million dollar question !

How do you get a Company lacking in performance to step up ?

How do you address a situation that is not working ?

Shake it up and change upper management !

VP made and excellent point :

" when you have a CARNIVAL that is SUPPOSE to be INCLUSIVE instead of EXCLUSIVE, U R eventually going to have PROBLEMS. "

you just can't run this like a family business without any sort of accountability that you spoke about regarding voicing you displeasure...yet year after year it the same issues.