islandmix.com register | Connect with Facebook islandmix rss feed | Contact Us | Static Radio Live
Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By Chinks

Old 02-19-2012, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 126,440
A Great Show, Carnival in Brazil

Talk yuh talk

When You Get.. Give.... When you learn... teach (Maya Angelou)

Be the change you wish to see in the world.
Let us work with others to change our communities.

Old 02-19-2012, 10:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
JA Soca Ambassador

Credits: 56,487
To state it otherwise would be lying....I like to call it the Pro bowl of all Carnivals....that is the one in Salvador , not Rio. ....just one of those things in life you have to do at a min once if you into Carnivals and culture..
Old 02-19-2012, 11:49 PM   #3 (permalink)

Credits: 14,798
where are the streaming links.?
Old 02-20-2012, 07:32 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 14,125
Originally Posted by socapineman View Post
To state it otherwise would be lying....I like to call it the Pro bowl of all Carnivals....that is the one in Salvador , not Rio. ....just one of those things in life you have to do at a min once if you into Carnivals and culture..
Yes but only for the adventureous openminded culturally souls, and not for those that only care for the usual Labor Day, Caribana, Miami, etc. year in and out.

Because carnaval down there is unique and one of a kind.

Originally Posted by Capitaine View Post
where are the streaming links.?
Portal Oficial do Carnaval

There's 3 different section of street partying there. The Ondina video stream is the best link, its footage of the main strip, upwards of 2 million people partying in the streets front of the beaches facing the Atlantic Ocean.

Reminds me of the strip where Caribana takes place, or Cancun Mexico.

``We celebrate not for money.....but for happiness. Our carnaval is a street carnaval for everyone....not just for those with money`` - Carlinhos Brown

Old 02-20-2012, 09:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
forever hungry!

Credits: 62,564
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Yes but only for the adventureous openminded culturally souls, and not for those that only care for the usual Labor Day, Caribana, Miami, etc. year in and out.

Because carnaval down there is unique and one of a kind.

Portal Oficial do Carnaval

There's 3 different section of street partying there. The Ondina video stream is the best link, its footage of the main strip, upwards of 2 million people partying in the streets front of the beaches facing the Atlantic Ocean.

Reminds me of the strip where Caribana takes place, or Cancun Mexico.
what makes it so different? Never really watched footage of their footage
Old 02-20-2012, 10:02 AM   #6 (permalink)

Originally Posted by femmeayitienne View Post
their Carnival is much more similar than our own than the Trinidad one

where you have many truck band traveling trough the street playing their tune
Old 02-20-2012, 01:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Icon

Credits: 435,702

Rio? When it comes to mas/costumes/presentation...these ppl are on another planet!

ENOUGH, ENOUGH, ENOUGH

-Mahmoud Abbas

Old 02-20-2012, 02:26 PM   #8 (permalink)

Originally Posted by femmeayitienne View Post
- The multitude of musical acts/styles are more varied than anywhere else. Axe, Pagode, Samba, Reggae, Techno, Funk. From all over the globe range from David Guetta to Dog Murras from Angola. From Fatboy Slim to Armand van Helden. Musical acts from Africa, the U.S. and Europe in addition to Brazil all converge on the streets. Capoeira exhibits as well in the streets.

- The street party is the largest in the world according to Guiness Book of Records, not to mention it runs 6 days and nights, I don't know of a street carnival that runs that long. Last time I was there, I couldn't keep up, I was overwhelmed.

- In one band Ile Aiye, people of non-Afro descent are forbidden to partake.

- And the camarotes (VIP boxes/nighclubs) overlooking the route for the wealthier people. Upwards of 5000 people in some at once. All inclusive food drinks, they even offer massages.

Originally Posted by Capitaine View Post
their Carnival is much more similar than our own than the Trinidad one

where you have many truck band traveling trough the street playing their tune
Yes I have seen pictures of the one in Haiti, I could hardly tell a difference between the two based on pictures alone. In both, everyone looks like they're crushed in a sardine can for most of the routes,lol.

I like the fact that you needn't spend any large amount on joining bands to have equally an amount of fun. Even if you're not part of a band you don't have the "left out" feeling if you can't afford it.

Downside to that, is you're your own security guard because with the amount of brawls that break out on the streets during that week, I'm sure Haiti's one is a lot safer,lol.

``We celebrate not for money.....but for happiness. Our carnaval is a street carnaval for everyone....not just for those with money`` - Carlinhos Brown

Last edited by DerMonger; 02-20-2012 at 02:32 PM..
Old 02-20-2012, 02:38 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
- The multitude of musical acts/styles are more varied than anywhere else. Axe, Pagode, Samba, Reggae, Techno, Funk. From all over the globe range from David Guetta to Dog Murras from Angola. From Fatboy Slim to Armand van Helden. Musical acts from Africa, the U.S. and Europe in addition to Brazil all converge on the streets. Capoeira exhibits as well in the streets.

- The street party is the largest in the world according to Guiness Book of Records, not to mention it runs 6 days and nights, I don't know of a street carnival that runs that long. Last time I was there, I couldn't keep up, I was overwhelmed.

- In one band Ile Aiye, people of non-Afro descent are forbidden to partake.

- And the camarotes (VIP boxes/nighclubs) overlooking the route for the wealthier people. Upwards of 5000 people in some at once. All inclusive food drinks, they even offer massages.

Yes I have seen pictures of the one in Haiti, I could hardly tell a difference between the two based on pictures alone. I like the fact that you needn't spend any large amount on joining bands to have equally an amount of fun. Even if you're not part of a band you don't have the "left out" feeling if you can't afford it.

Downside to that, is you're your own security guard because with the amount of brawls that break out on the streets during that week, I'm sure Haiti's one is a lot safer,lol.
yeah

Brazil Carnival is the bomb

i never saw so much people dancing for so too long
but is safe to say that a lot of them are on drug during that time

when it come to crime

Haiti Carnival is probably the safest in the Caribbean
you rarely heard people dying during the event

Usually, people are hurting or wounding because of some brawl, but rarely die

and also when it come to music
we have all sort or genre as well
Like Rara, Racine,Kompa, Rap, Reggae, bolero, troubadour, and street band from every corner of Haiti
Old 02-21-2012, 11:21 AM   #10 (permalink)
Got Kompa?

Credits: 68,230
Beija Flor this year. How did we all get to like the same school?

Ti sourit, ti sourit se nan pèlen ou rete
Rat ki rat se nan pèlen ou rete
Tèt zozo men pa ou, zozo kale men pa ou
M ap konyen fanm nan jis solèy leve
Bwa m kale tou wouj
Kon piman , kon piman, Langyèt madivinèz
Ou pa bezwen chandèl pou ou klere l

Old 02-21-2012, 11:57 AM   #11 (permalink)

brazil Carnival Live

Ao Vivo - Carnaval - Salvador - Circuito Campo Grande - Terra
Old 02-22-2012, 01:03 PM   #12 (permalink)

I like the escolas do Samba in Rio, its visually appealing......however its difficult for a foreigner to partake.

That's why I like the Northeastern style of carnaval there better than Rio. Not to mention the backdrop of the Atlantic Ocean with the beach. Don't know any other pre-lenten carnaval as such. When it comes to down there I have to shout out my favourite band in the world.....Timbalada!!!