View Poll Results: Which Event Was Worse & Why....The Slave Trade or The Holocaust???
The African Slave Trade 8 72.73%
Not Sure 2 18.18%
The Holocaust 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Old 04-29-2010, 08:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Credits: 3,264,705
Which Event Was Worse & Why....The Slave Trade or The Holocaust???

I watched this movie called "The Boy In The Striped Pajamas" last night which was about the Holocaust. Excellent movie by the way....I recommend it.

Afterwards there was a discussion about whether or not the Slave Trade in Africa was a bigger tragedy than the Holocaust. I was trying to look at it unbiasedly and I couldnt really decide which one was worse.

What say you Imix??

Nobody cyah teef we gold....is already pawnnnnn

Old 04-29-2010, 08:19 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 10,625
lol are u serious..?

the slave trade was 100x worst men...
Old 04-29-2010, 08:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Originally Posted by Yatzliach View Post
lol are u serious..?

the slave trade was 100x worst men...
Are you dyslectic by any chance?

Old 04-29-2010, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

If you're adding the slave-trade to the institution of chattel slavery itself in the New World that went on for centuries and had devastating and irreversible effects....then that was worse than the holocaust. (NOT THAT WE SHOULD BE COMPARING!!!) But if it's just the Slave Trade vs the Holocaust, then the Holocaust.
Old 04-29-2010, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa View Post
If you're adding the slave-trade to the institution of chattel slavery itself in the New World that went on for centuries and had devastating and irreversible effects....then that was worse than the holocaust. (NOT THAT WE SHOULD BE COMPARING!!!) But if it's just the Slave Trade vs the Holocaust, then the Holocaust.
I thought twice about making this thread....but nothing else is really going on around these parts today.

You make some very interesting points. :

Old 04-29-2010, 09:05 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 18,756

You can't be serious.

I don't think any Jews are seeing implications of the Holocaust today.

The Atlantic Slave Trade still has remnants impacting us black people.

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48
Old 04-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Ok I agree that the long term effects of the Slave trade was worse....but Im just comparing them minus their long term effects.

Old 04-29-2010, 09:16 PM   #8 (permalink)

Credits: 699,748
No moral compass made other countries become allies to go to war to stop slavery.

Old 04-29-2010, 09:18 PM   #9 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

No moral compass made other countries become allies to go to war to stop slavery.
This can be interpreted in either direction.

Old 04-29-2010, 09:19 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 18,756
If you want more of a debate, you should compare the Holocaust to the genocides in Rwanda.

The slave trade is totally different.
Old 04-29-2010, 09:21 PM   #11 (permalink)
Toppa_Toppa

I doh think WWII was about the Jews nah...the world leaders at the time did not give a damn. The Jews were just as badly treated in the rest of Europe as they were in Germany. And the Soviet Union, the so-called 'saviours' had pogroms for Jews and they were terribly persecuted.

They just wanted to stop Hitler taking over Europe. I don't think there has ever been a 'humanitarian' war. Just bullshit they try to feed to the public.
Old 04-29-2010, 09:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Dolce Memories

Originally Posted by optimizm View Post
If you want more of a debate, you should compare the Holocaust to the genocides in Rwanda.

The slave trade is totally different.
No thanks...Ill stick to the original topic.

Old 04-29-2010, 09:59 PM   #13 (permalink)

Credits: 3,746
Originally Posted by Lord Strum View Post
I watched this movie called "The Boy In The Striped Pajamas" last night which was about the Holocaust. Excellent movie by the way....I recommend it.

Afterwards there was a discussion about whether or not the Slave Trade in Africa was a bigger tragedy than the Holocaust. I was trying to look at it unbiasedly and I couldnt really decide which one was worse.

What say you Imix??
Saw dat movie...
Slave Trade worse by far!!!
Old 04-29-2010, 10:59 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 91,830
Originally Posted by Lord Strum View Post
Ok I agree that the long term effects of the Slave trade was worse....but Im just comparing them minus their long term effects.
What GOES AROUND-----COMES AROUND:
Rabbi Marc Lee Raphael on ?Jews in the Slave Trade
Old 04-29-2010, 11:14 PM   #15 (permalink)

Credits: 699,748
ummm yea i partly have that opinion also
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa View Post
I doh think WWII was about the Jews nah...the world leaders at the time did not give a damn. The Jews were just as badly treated in the rest of Europe as they were in Germany. And the Soviet Union, the so-called 'saviours' had pogroms for Jews and they were terribly persecuted.

They just wanted to stop Hitler taking over Europe. I don't think there has ever been a 'humanitarian' war. Just bullshit they try to feed to the public.

i saw the striped pj movie too
i was just like smh boy tink the cc was FUN!