Old 02-07-2008, 11:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Credits: 682,644
Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post
Kewl pix!....A country where a PM can walk the streets unmolested and jump up without worrying about being offed.

Big up Dominica.
you should skip Bahia and go there next year

very inexpensive carnival....just get yourself there and you bound to have fun

Those Who Sacrifice Freedom for Security Deserve Neither
www.cookingwithval.com
http://www.snackhealthy.com/snackwithval
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-07-2008, 11:34 AM   #17 (permalink)

Credits: 9,968
Originally Posted by Nica View Post
you should skip Bahia and go there next year

very inexpensive carnival....just get yourself there and you bound to have fun

Girl that's asking a lot of me,lol. However I iz a open minded Bhanna. I have a good girlfriend from there in my city that could show me around. Like dem Dominican women yes. We never hear zouk here at shows and I'd like to hear that in person. We need more Dominican music at our fetes.
Old 02-07-2008, 11:50 AM   #18 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by DerMonger View Post

Girl that's asking a lot of me,lol. However I iz a open minded Bhanna. I have a good girlfriend from there in my city that could show me around. Like dem Dominican women yes. We never hear zouk here at shows and I'd like to hear that in person. We need more Dominican music at our fetes.
wel if you wanna hear a lot of Zouk you should go for the World Creole Music Festival in October. This is like a second carnival....it's a pretty big event....pretty much lasts all of October and if you going you should try for at least 10 days. It's a lot of fun!....you gotta book early though and this yr is our 30th yr of independence so plane tickets going fast

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-07-2008, 12:03 PM   #19 (permalink)

Credits: 15,944
i know my boy down there having the time of his life. i must mek a DA carnival soon and very soon. thanks for the pics!
Old 02-07-2008, 02:42 PM   #20 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by up2detime View Post
i know my boy down there having the time of his life. i must mek a DA carnival soon and very soon. thanks for the pics!

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-07-2008, 07:59 PM   #21 (permalink)
D'Original Puttury Lucian

Credits: 5,103
great pix nica! i rell digging skerrit vibes mun. the kiddie costumes look cute, and the carnival queen's dress...wow! id never think of that material, colour and design! and lol @ the lil boy and big woman....only caribbean peeps i tell ya! the costumes are ok. (i go for more detail) judging from them and the different characters i saw, i can tell dat yall r still deeply rooted in the carnival. i'd love to see mas dominik in person but id rather spend my money on world creole musik fasss anyday!
Old 02-07-2008, 09:05 PM   #22 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by Nickyan View Post
great pix nica! i rell digging skerrit vibes mun. the kiddie costumes look cute, and the carnival queen's dress...wow! id never think of that material, colour and design! and lol @ the lil boy and big woman....only caribbean peeps i tell ya! the costumes are ok. (i go for more detail) judging from them and the different characters i saw, i can tell dat yall r still deeply rooted in the carnival. i'd love to see mas dominik in person but id rather spend my money on world creole musik fasss anyday!
yep there is still a lot of traditional mas......the skimpy costume thing is a new trend really

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-07-2008, 11:44 PM   #23 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Credits: 396
Yeah one ting our Pm a Boss eh
Old 02-08-2008, 07:33 AM   #24 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by $mokey View Post
Yeah one ting our Pm a Boss eh
yep....but I see his security right there :

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-08-2008, 06:52 PM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 69,613
ok I doh know what dat is
gwan... startin from an early age...lol

carnival queen contestant in evening wear

watch shape nah!!!!!

Digga D - Unity Krew (UK)

www.twitter.com/diggasoca
www.largeradio.com/ every sundays 4pm to 6pm US (8-11pm UK)
http://calaloo.podOmatic.com
www.ustream.tv/channel/diggasoca
www.myspace.com/diggasoca

Old 02-08-2008, 09:31 PM   #26 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

Hey people if you missed out Carnival this year then there is still a 2nd chance.

As part of the 2008 Dominican Reunion Celebration there is going to be an Independence Carnival on the Streets Of Roseau.

"Special Carnival organized for All Dominicans who did not have the opportunity to enjoy regular Carnival in early 2008. It involves traditional Mass depicting the way in which we celebrated our Unique Carnival in Dominica."

November 5th 2008

there is also going to be A Roseau Street Fest

"11th RSF Committee Festival aimed at increasing awareness of Dominica’s musical arts: calypso, bouyon, reggae, gospel, soca along with food, drink, crafts"

November 15th 2008

Ill post up the source later with lots more
2008 is Sewo

Last edited by Maruka; 02-08-2008 at 09:33 PM..
Old 02-08-2008, 09:38 PM   #27 (permalink)
SAINTSational

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

I need to reach d/a this year eh

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-08-2008, 09:58 PM   #28 (permalink)
Qualified Mixologist

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

I need to reach d/a this year eh
lol correction there is going top be street fest in Dominica every month of 2008 lol this is crazyyyyy i dont know why they decided to do this when ppl come up im looking at flight right now lol..well that's what they have on the year round event chart..Daimn i dont wanna miss a beat but thats crazy.

ill post all of them up soon
Old 02-08-2008, 10:06 PM   #29 (permalink)
SAINTSational

Originally Posted by $mokey View Post
lol correction there is going top be street fest in Dominica every month of 2008 lol this is crazyyyyy i dont know why they decided to do this when ppl come up im looking at flight right now lol..well that's what they have on the year round event chart..Daimn i dont wanna miss a beat but thats crazy.

ill post all of them up soon
ok you need to stop....I doh wanna know what going on

www.cookingwithval.com
@cookingwithval
@NicaBlack

Old 02-09-2008, 10:49 AM   #30 (permalink)
Unique woman

Credits: 132,125
I see mehself in either one.... ah always wanted to play mas in ah big costume

Nice thread Nica. One Carnival I have to go to for sure.
Glad to see the live band on the truck. Nothing like live music.

Last edited by TriniTrini; 02-09-2008 at 11:02 AM..