Old 05-31-2005, 06:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
I breed Ank

Credits: 2,345
Cool DeepThroat Finally Reveals Himself

I thought this man wouldv'e take it to the grave with him.

Washington Post Confirms 'Deep Throat'
By GREG SANDOVAL, AP

SANTA ROSA, Calif. (May 31) - The Washington Post said Tuesday that a former FBI official, W. Mark Felt, was the confidential source known as ''Deep Throat'' who provided the newspaper information that led to President Nixon's impeachment and eventual resignation.

The paper made its announcement on its Web site after Felt, 91 and living in California, talked to a lawyer who wrote a magazine article for Vanity Fair.

''The No. 2 guy from the FBI, that was a pretty good source,'' said Ben Bradlee, who had been the key editor at the Post in the Watergate era.

''I knew the paper was on the right track'' in its investigative stories, Bradlee said, citing the ''quality of the source.''

Felt, the second-in-command at the FBI in the early 1970s, kept his secret even from his family for almost three decades before confiding he was Post reporter Bob Woodward's source on the Watergate scandal.

''I'm the guy they used to call Deep Throat,'' he was quoted as telling lawyer John D. O'Connor, author of the article in Vanity Fair magazine.

The existence of Deep Throat, nicknamed for a popular porn movie of the early 1970s, was revealed in Woodward and Carl Bernstein's best-selling book ''All the President's Men.'' In the hit movie based on the book, Deep Throat was played by Hal Holbrook.

Among those named over the years as Deep Throat were Assistant Attorney General Henry Peterson, deputy White House counsel Fred Fielding, and even ABC newswoman Diane Sawyer, who then worked in the White House press office. Ron Zeigler, Nixon's press secretary, White House aide Steven Bull, speechwriters Ray Price and Pat Buchanan, and John Dean, the White House counsel who warned Nixon of ''a cancer growing on the presidency,'' also were considered candidates.

In 1999, Felt denied he was the man.

''I would have done better,'' Felt told The Hartford Courant. ''I would have been more effective. Deep Throat didn't exactly bring the White House crashing down, did he?''

In 2003, Woodward and Bernstein reached an agreement to keep their Watergate papers at the University of Texas at Austin.

At the time, the pair said documents naming ''Deep Throat'' would be kept secure at an undisclosed location in Washington until the source's death.

In the family statement, Jones said his grandfather believes ''the men and women of the FBI who have put their lives at risk for more than 50 years to keep this country safe deserve recognition more than he.''

''On behalf of the Felt family we hope you see him as worthy of honor and respect as we do,'' Jones said.
Old 05-31-2005, 06:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
sharkie

deep throat

who woulda tink afta all dis time he woulda buss de secret? maybe his consicious was eating at him....or he jus wanted some extra fame b4 death
Old 06-01-2005, 07:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Credits: 8,680
I don't think people here on I-mix realize how important this was. $hit, I didn't even know who he was until I saw the Today show this morning
Old 06-01-2005, 07:38 AM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 33,431
I somehow feel that "Deep Throat" was also responsible for the Lewinsky-Clinton scandal in the oral ... ah mean .. oval office. Something about the name "Deep Throat" that just seems incriminating ... can't quite put mah cigar on it though.
Old 06-01-2005, 07:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
TC
Steuuuupssss!

Credits: 213,312
Originally Posted by kevlocks
I don't think people here on I-mix realize how important this was. $hit, I didn't even know who he was until I saw the Today show this morning

I suspect you are right, because most of us here were not born during this era, and only a few including myself were actually interested in resaearching this time of history only for pleasure and general knowledge.
Old 06-01-2005, 07:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

How he got his name

Originally Posted by TehrryCherry
I suspect you are right, because most of us here were not born during this era, and only a few including myself were actually interested in resaearching this time of history only for pleasure and general knowledge.
Tom Brokaw said that the washington post use to refer to him as MY FRIEND (which was too close to the real person's name MARK FELPS[sp]) so the editor wanted to give him a new name. Deep Throat was a popular pron video from back in the day (way before the majority of us were born), so they went with the name DEEP THROAT instead of MY FRIEND.

Fantastic Friday - Atlanta Carnival

Jolie
Friday,May 24th

CARNIVAL DAYDREAM (ATL)

MAGIC CITY
Friday,May 24th
Old 06-01-2005, 07:58 AM   #7 (permalink)

Tom Brokaw said that the washington post use to refer to him as MY FRIEND (which was too close to the real person's name MARK FELPS[sp]) so the editor wanted to give him a new name. Deep Throat was a popular pron video from back in the day (way before the majority of us were born), so they went with the name DEEP THROAT instead of MY FRIEND.
I still do not see the relationship between porn video and spy.
Old 06-01-2005, 08:03 AM   #8 (permalink)
aka Karl Logan

Originally Posted by fiyah
I still do not see the relationship between porn video and spy.
Me neither, but hey, very little about that era and that story makes sense to me
Old 06-01-2005, 08:04 AM   #9 (permalink)

Me neither, but hey, very little about that era and that story makes sense to me
Unless it was a message of warning to Bill Clinton about Monica ...
Old 06-01-2005, 06:51 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 9,360
Fiyah and Sharkbait stop trying tuh muck up de thread with allyuh fukery...yes de name funny...yes it doesn't really fit.

That said, this is big, big news...as Woodward and Bernstein were almost charged with contempt in court for failing to reveal their sources. To this day this incident has set the standard for Journalistic confidentiality when it comes to sources. I actually thought I was dreaming, since it came on the radio while I was half asleep this morning and I hadn't seen anything on it since.
Old 06-01-2005, 06:55 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,175,823
Originally Posted by Dutty
I thought this man wouldv'e take it to the grave with him.

Washington Post Confirms 'Deep Throat'
By GREG SANDOVAL, AP

SANTA ROSA, Calif. (May 31) - The Washington Post said Tuesday that a former FBI official, W. Mark Felt, was the confidential source known as ''Deep Throat'' who provided the newspaper information that led to President Nixon's impeachment and eventual resignation.

The paper made its announcement on its Web site after Felt, 91 and living in California, talked to a lawyer who wrote a magazine article for Vanity Fair.

''The No. 2 guy from the FBI, that was a pretty good source,'' said Ben Bradlee, who had been the key editor at the Post in the Watergate era.

''I knew the paper was on the right track'' in its investigative stories, Bradlee said, citing the ''quality of the source.''

Felt, the second-in-command at the FBI in the early 1970s, kept his secret even from his family for almost three decades before confiding he was Post reporter Bob Woodward's source on the Watergate scandal.

''I'm the guy they used to call Deep Throat,'' he was quoted as telling lawyer John D. O'Connor, author of the article in Vanity Fair magazine.

The existence of Deep Throat, nicknamed for a popular porn movie of the early 1970s, was revealed in Woodward and Carl Bernstein's best-selling book ''All the President's Men.'' In the hit movie based on the book, Deep Throat was played by Hal Holbrook.

Among those named over the years as Deep Throat were Assistant Attorney General Henry Peterson, deputy White House counsel Fred Fielding, and even ABC newswoman Diane Sawyer, who then worked in the White House press office. Ron Zeigler, Nixon's press secretary, White House aide Steven Bull, speechwriters Ray Price and Pat Buchanan, and John Dean, the White House counsel who warned Nixon of ''a cancer growing on the presidency,'' also were considered candidates.

In 1999, Felt denied he was the man.

''I would have done better,'' Felt told The Hartford Courant. ''I would have been more effective. Deep Throat didn't exactly bring the White House crashing down, did he?''

In 2003, Woodward and Bernstein reached an agreement to keep their Watergate papers at the University of Texas at Austin.

At the time, the pair said documents naming ''Deep Throat'' would be kept secure at an undisclosed location in Washington until the source's death.

In the family statement, Jones said his grandfather believes ''the men and women of the FBI who have put their lives at risk for more than 50 years to keep this country safe deserve recognition more than he.''

''On behalf of the Felt family we hope you see him as worthy of honor and respect as we do,'' Jones said.
Anyone knows why they CALLED him DEEP THROAT?

http://vincypowa.com/

http://vincypowaent.com/

Old 06-01-2005, 07:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
SAME SH!T DIFFERNT TOILET

Credits: 7,388
in a report i saw last nite they said he felt shame for what he had done.. i dont see why he would feel any shame at all
Old 06-01-2005, 08:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ball-in-Hand

Credits: 21,924
Originally Posted by Bake n Shark
Fiyah and Sharkbait stop trying tuh muck up de thread with allyuh fukery...yes de name funny...yes it doesn't really fit.

That said, this is big, big news...as Woodward and Bernstein were almost charged with contempt in court for failing to reveal their sources. To this day this incident has set the standard for Journalistic confidentiality when it comes to sources. I actually thought I was dreaming, since it came on the radio while I was half asleep this morning and I hadn't seen anything on it since.

exactly, I remember when I first learned about Watergate in HS and I thought "what a drag" but after doing my own research and seeing the movie "All the President's Men"....I was always interested about him. Woodward and Bernstein should be getting much more respect also for bringing Nixon down. I wish there was a "deep throat" in the Bush administration so we all could know what's really going down.
Old 06-01-2005, 09:17 PM   #14 (permalink)

Credits: 118,268
Originally Posted by Hotgirl11226
exactly, I remember when I first learned about Watergate in HS and I thought "what a drag" but after doing my own research and seeing the movie "All the President's Men"....I was always interested about him. Woodward and Bernstein should be getting much more respect also for bringing Nixon down. I wish there was a "deep throat" in the Bush administration so we all could know what's really going down.
clinton had some funny chinese friends
Old 06-01-2005, 10:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Blu
Doux Comme Sucre

Credits: 8,473
Originally Posted by fiyah
I somehow feel that "Deep Throat" was also responsible for the Lewinsky-Clinton scandal in the oral ... ah mean .. oval office. Something about the name "Deep Throat" that just seems incriminating ... can't quite put mah cigar on it though.
ROTFLMAO