Old 07-17-2007, 05:44 PM   #31 (permalink)

Credits: 160,105
Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
a lot of those dominican hair stylists have NASTY attitutudes towards females with longer or straighter hair than theirs. i experienced this and i've seen other females with long hair or "mixed" hair experience the same thing. i used to go to this place tatti's on flatbush avenue when i used to wear my hair straight and long and the one chick that was running the salon had a real stink attitude towards me anytime i went in there. she would skip over me and take other customers ahead of me.... until one day i told her ass off. one of the other stylists did my hair and i never went back there again. i bought dat pink dominican conditioner, i learned how to roller set and blow dry my own hair and it used to come out just as good.

i've seen chicks with long hair ask dominican stylists for a trim and they would cut of sooo much of their hair just outta jealousy. i NEVER let dem chicks put any chemicals or a scissor in my hair... wash, set and wrap dats its. dem girls have no skill when it comes to styling, they're barely hairdressers... they're just a bunch of shampoo girls wid a hot blowdryer.
I hear what u saying

I would like to say that Shaselvis is good. Carmen and her sis are good at what they do

Old 07-18-2007, 01:50 PM   #32 (permalink)
100 % Haitian-0 % Yankee

Location: Brooklyn.Flatbush –Kings county Borough (home to the largest Islanders,west-Indian, Caribbean community living aboard from home)state of statue of liberty
Credits: 5,810

Originally Posted by Antigua Me Come Fram View Post
LIAT
Merci-(thanks)

liat -antiguan airliner cool

(R.I.P Grandpa-your memories will always be here with me !!!!).

I'm Chillin in New Orleans,Louisiana with Beyonce' and Lil Wayne and lil' Fizz (b2k),Fleur-de-lis (imix creole,homegirl) .Drinking some Hand-Grenade (Liquor Drink), near The Bayou.
Old 07-19-2007, 10:59 AM   #33 (permalink)
Your Royal Sexiness

Credits: 127,887
Originally Posted by haitianprince View Post
interesting.

val. how is dominicans republican's getting in to
dominica. i didn't even know dominicans republicans had flights that serves the eastern caribbean. unless the domnicans repulicans are crossing border to haiti . in getting to haiti airport . because my country has
Air France that serves to the eastern Caribbean in Europe . port-au- prince via Martinique , port-au- prince via Guadeloupe, port-au- prince via saint martin ,port-au- prince via saint barts ,port-au- prince French Guiana (south America), port-au- prince via paris,France

please found out how Dominicans republicans are getting into Dominica (eastern Caribbean). unless the dominicans republicans are using air France in to haiti in useing ferry from Martinique in Guadeloupe to dominica.
They charter flights
Originally Posted by Antigua Me Come Fram View Post
LIAT
No
Old 07-19-2007, 11:29 AM   #34 (permalink)
Royal

Credits: 24,233
Originally Posted by cOcKbAcKnRoLL View Post
[COLOR="Magenta"]
they dont realize that black hair is not as strong as theirs, esp. when relaxed so they will fry the hell out of some hair...i used to tell them to just take out the rollers and wrap me...no need for more heat after an hour and a half under the dryer!
Well, what kind of hair do they have? Most of them are of African descent, whether mixed or not. That's why they are able to do their client's hair so well. I see have seen a number of Dominican stylists with their hair looking fried because of all the heat. Not to mention, many of them are relaxed or texturized as well. But yea, their styling methods tend to be harsh...
Old 07-19-2007, 11:58 AM   #35 (permalink)
dE dAmN tInG sElf!

Credits: 621
Originally Posted by currygyal View Post
Well, what kind of hair do they have? Most of them are of African descent, whether mixed or not. That's why they are able to do their client's hair so well. I see have seen a number of Dominican stylists with their hair looking fried because of all the heat. Not to mention, many of them are relaxed or texturized as well. But yea, their styling methods tend to be harsh...
in most cases, it's not as coarse as "black hair"...there is usually still some straightness or curliness to it...thereby enabling them to subject their own hair to levels of heat that would typically break relaxed hair...yes, many of them do get relaxers, but they don't usually go as frequently as black women do...my friend is from dr and she gets her hair relaxed every 2 or 3 months, not the every 6 to 8 weeks that most of us have to do...
Old 07-19-2007, 12:22 PM   #36 (permalink)
Royal

in most cases, it's not as coarse as "black hair"...there is usually still some straightness or curliness to it...thereby enabling them to subject their own hair to levels of heat that would typically break relaxed hair...yes, many of them do get relaxers, but they don't usually go as frequently as black women do...my friend is from dr and she gets her hair relaxed every 2 or 3 months, not the every 6 to 8 weeks that most of us have to do...
Interesting. I didn't know hair had to be "coarse" in order to be "black hair." Plenty other "black" people do not get their hair relaxed every 6-8 weeks at all. Guess that means they do not have "black" hair then. But I'm just going to leave the rest of this one alone...
Old 07-19-2007, 12:26 PM   #37 (permalink)

Credits: 56,869
Originally Posted by bds4 View Post
No but when I am in NYC my cousins, aunts, girlfriends and FWB's have all sworn by Dominicans hair salons. But also continential Africans for braids and other Caribbean hair salons for dye jobs and styling! But NOT black american hair salons maybe it is just the cultural divide!

This is the only part of anything you said that's not nonsense. African american salons are the worst imo, its like they do your hair w/ bad mind and they always want to straighten your hair w/ direct heat like hot combs & flat irons.
Old 07-19-2007, 12:29 PM   #38 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Dougla Ting View Post
a lot of those dominican hair stylists have NASTY attitutudes towards females with longer or straighter hair than theirs. i experienced this and i've seen other females with long hair or "mixed" hair experience the same thing. i used to go to this place tatti's on flatbush avenue when i used to wear my hair straight and long and the one chick that was running the salon had a real stink attitude towards me anytime i went in there. she would skip over me and take other customers ahead of me.... until one day i told her ass off. one of the other stylists did my hair and i never went back there again. i bought dat pink dominican conditioner, i learned how to roller set and blow dry my own hair and it used to come out just as good.

i've seen chicks with long hair ask dominican stylists for a trim and they would cut of sooo much of their hair just outta jealousy. i NEVER let dem chicks put any chemicals or a scissor in my hair... wash, set and wrap dats its. dem girls have no skill when it comes to styling, they're barely hairdressers... they're just a bunch of shampoo girls wid a hot blowdryer.
Everything you said is what I found of african american salons.
Old 07-19-2007, 12:34 PM   #39 (permalink)

what you and others fail to realize is that nyc does not encompass the whole of the us...black american stylists get their paper in other states...look at georgia, or any of the southern states...look at detroit, mi (home of wild hair)...oklahoma, etc.
Good point. Them southern girls don't play when it comes to "hur" and anytime you pick up a black hair magazine all the stylists are detroit or atlanta based.
Old 07-19-2007, 12:43 PM   #40 (permalink)
Royal

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Everything you said is what I found of african american salons.
Yea, same here. But in my experience, African-American stylists are even quicker to cut off hair and have a harder time dealing with different textures. They have always had a tough time getting my hair straight.
Old 07-19-2007, 01:06 PM   #41 (permalink)
dE dAmN tInG sElf!

Interesting. I didn't know hair had to be "coarse" in order to be "black hair." Plenty other "black" people do not get their hair relaxed every 6-8 weeks at all. Guess that means they do not have "black" hair then. But I'm just going to leave the rest of this one alone...
u just like to argue for argument's sake, oui...notice i put it in quotes so I obviously eh trying to generalize or such, but go ahead with yuh schtupidness nah
Old 07-19-2007, 01:08 PM   #42 (permalink)
Royal

u just like to argue for argument's sake, oui...notice i put it in quotes so I obviously eh trying to generalize or such, but go ahead with yuh schtupidness nah
Oh really? Yuh could say what yuh want but d comment was kinda ignorant. But carry on...
Old 07-19-2007, 01:08 PM   #43 (permalink)
dE dAmN tInG sElf!

Originally Posted by BacchanalDiva View Post
Good point. Them southern girls don't play when it comes to "hur" and anytime you pick up a black hair magazine all the stylists are detroit or atlanta based.
yup...and the big hair shows are usually in places like detroit or atlanta, etc. and they get huge crowds...don't sleep on the blk american hairdressers, people...they too can hook a style up!
Old 07-19-2007, 01:10 PM   #44 (permalink)
dE dAmN tInG sElf!

Oh really? Yuh could say what yuh want but dat comment was ignorant and foolish as hell...

Carry on.
as are many of yours...say what...

but notice nobody else eh jump on that cause they understand what Q-U-O-T-A-T-I-O-N-M-A-R-K-S usually mean
Old 07-19-2007, 01:15 PM   #45 (permalink)
Royal

as are many of yours...say what...

but notice nobody else eh jump on that cause they understand what Q-U-O-T-A-T-I-O-N-M-A-R-K-S usually mean
Uh huh. That would be well and good if the part that I first commented on had quotation marks to begin with. But it didn't...