Old 11-02-2010, 05:04 PM   #16 (permalink)

Credits: 2,293,839
Originally Posted by LucianSweetie26 View Post
to try your best, of course that's fair. and for me, it's not a st lucia trinidad thing. i feel sorry for all those that were affected. the thing about this is that it's an emergency. if anyone can help in anyway possible, it's a blessing.
and they are helping.......i believe when it comes to giving more money there will be a discussion to figure out how everybody will benefit without T&T resources getting sucked dry by handouts without any replenishment...........oil and gas will not be forever

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

Old 11-02-2010, 05:05 PM   #17 (permalink)
SweetonStrum

Credits: 667,854
Originally Posted by Mr Sufficient View Post
Where was the helping one another theme when Trinidad had massive flooding few months ago ?
i don't know. there was also flooding in st lucia a few months ago. i dont know if other countries aided. why are we always comparing? i've noticed that ppl (not you specifically b/c i dont know) when it's convenient for them to but when things are serious, there is nothing to be said by those same ppl.
Old 11-02-2010, 05:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Registered Member

Credits: 1,177,978
Where was the helping one another theme when Trinidad had massive flooding few months ago ?
What an IDIOTIC QUESTION!

What KIND of HELP DO YOU PROPOSE that Trinidad needed from St. Lucia in relation to the flooding?

The more INTELLIGENT QUESTION WOULD HAVE BEEN; DID THE KAMLA WOMAN REACH OUT TO THE GOVERNMENT OF ST. LUCIA FOR ASSISTANCE.... FOR EXAMPLE, IN THE AREA OF MAN POWER?
Old 11-02-2010, 05:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered Abuser

Credits: 615,564
i don't know. there was also flooding in st lucia a few months ago. i dont know if other countries aided. why are we always comparing? i've noticed that ppl (not you specifically b/c i dont know) when it's convenient for them to but when things are serious, there is nothing to be said by those same ppl.
There are people in Trinidad who for years are against this type of handing out not because they selfish and don't want to help their neighbor... but because they live in piss poor conditions, terrible roads to their houses, no running water, not enough police enforcement in their neighborhoods, and etc. They see their tax money going across the ocean on a plane too often instead of back into their neighborhoods. And I think that's very fair. TNT doesn't really need or ask for help from outside... but they NEED it from their own government. And if Kamla is trying to reverse that mentality then props to her because Manning certainly was a glad man and playin year round Santa.
Old 11-02-2010, 05:15 PM   #20 (permalink)
Gladiator

did i say that T&T was an ATM machine? please show me where i said this. i never said that and i think no such thing.
This is not about you..The general sentiment in time of tragedy is 'T&T must help"..and we banking...

if you didnt know now your updated
Old 11-02-2010, 05:35 PM   #21 (permalink)

Credits: 7,235
This is not about you..The general sentiment in time of tragedy is 'T&T must help"..and we banking...

if you didnt know now your updated
Boss me nah kno why y'all ah gwan with this banking, Atm and financial stuff, giving doesnt always means money, you can give food, water or medical supplies. The fact is, if TNT wants to give or not to give no one can tell them what to do. But remember all the stuff the government going on with is going to give them a BLACK EYE and Caricom members are not going to forget it.
Old 11-02-2010, 05:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Gladiator

What an IDIOTIC QUESTION!

What KIND of HELP DO YOU PROPOSE that Trinidad needed from St. Lucia in relation to the flooding?

The more INTELLIGENT QUESTION WOULD HAVE BEEN; DID THE KAMLA WOMAN REACH OUT TO THE GOVERNMENT OF ST. LUCIA FOR ASSISTANCE.... FOR EXAMPLE, IN THE AREA OF MAN POWER?
You cant think of any type of help one country can give to another country during flooding because you lack the vision and understanding ...similar to the St Vincent PM who is crying out to Kamla now
Old 11-02-2010, 06:01 PM   #23 (permalink)

Credits: 150,998
I have always stated on this forum that many islands of the english speaking caribbean appear ungrateful and envious toward tnt. Ever since i was a kid i've known tnt to come to the rescue of island after island....and it was only after i came to the states i realize that people of some of those same islands have really unwarranted animus toward tnt...whether we're talking about culture or anything else. The grenadians i find to be the exception. Many trinis have come to see these islands as ungrateful bastards and so it is not surprising to hear the kind of rhetoric we hear today from some trinis with respect to helping the other islands. Having said that though I still think we should help if we can....with no strings attached and it should be communicated in that way. It is the right and moral thing to do.
Old 11-02-2010, 06:04 PM   #24 (permalink)

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
I have always stated on this forum that many islands of the english speaking caribbean appear ungrateful and envious toward tnt. Ever since i was a kid i've known tnt to come to the rescue of island after island....and it was only after i came to the states i realize that people of some of those same islands have really unwarranted animus toward tnt...whether we're talking about culture or anything else. The grenadians i find to be the exception. Many trinis have come to see these islands as ungrateful bastards and so it is not surprising to hear the kind of rhetoric we hear today from some trinis with respect to helping the other islands. Having said that though I still think we should help if we can....with no strings attached and it should be communicated in that way. It is the right and moral thing to do.
dont know if you saw this edited clip posted by the PNM Group on facebook..........but im satisfied with what she said

I Doh Give Ah Damn If Yuh Doh Like Me.........Ah Like Mehself.......Ah Like Mehself........Real Bad

Old 11-02-2010, 06:14 PM   #25 (permalink)

Credits: 150,998
Yeah i saw it...i still don't like the reference of "benefit to tnt".
Old 11-02-2010, 06:17 PM   #26 (permalink)

Yeah i saw it...i still don't like the reference of "benefit to tnt".
yes.......tactless.......but real........i still want to see the rest of the video that they cut out......maybe it might bring more clarity or dig a deeper hole..........its the way the world runs though........look at Haiti.........all dem "do gooders" will be exploiting the shit out of that place even more.........but dem doing it in d diplomatic way

Old 11-02-2010, 11:04 PM   #27 (permalink)
SweetonStrum

Credits: 667,854
it's funny b/c i've noticed the opposite since getting on imix. i saw an article about miss world st lucia in a trini magazine where these ppl were just bad talking the girl and then the whole discussion turned into which place was better than the other. that had NOTHING to do with anything. i don't understand why there is such animosity. i see a lot of "if it wasn't for tnt this place would be nothing. is that really true? b/c if it is it's pretty damn insulting. i think that in an emergency, anyone that can help should do so and willingly. the way the PM came off just seemed kind of insensitive due to the fact that this is an emergency.
Old 11-02-2010, 11:09 PM   #28 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Credits: 1,282,486
This is a serious matter. The PM will need an official letter/information that confirms the extent of the damage. This way she can assess the amount of aid necessary. What is she supposed to rely on? The conflicting news reports?

He said that he has spoken to TT Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar earlier in the day and she expressed solidarity with his nation promising to do her best to assist.
Thankfully. Now I'm waiting to see the measures taken.
Old 11-02-2010, 11:11 PM   #29 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Originally Posted by soul rebel View Post
Boss me nah kno why y'all ah gwan with this banking, Atm and financial stuff, giving doesnt always means money, you can give food, water or medical supplies. The fact is, if TNT wants to give or not to give no one can tell them what to do. But remember all the stuff the government going on with is going to give them a BLACK EYE and Caricom members are not going to forget it.
All of those things cost money. And if you pay attention, T&T is already sending containers of those items!
Old 11-02-2010, 11:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
Earth Angel

Originally Posted by Spranga View Post
There are people in Trinidad who for years are against this type of handing out not because they selfish and don't want to help their neighbor... but because they live in piss poor conditions, terrible roads to their houses, no running water, not enough police enforcement in their neighborhoods, and etc. They see their tax money going across the ocean on a plane too often instead of back into their neighborhoods. And I think that's very fair. TNT doesn't really need or ask for help from outside... but they NEED it from their own government. And if Kamla is trying to reverse that mentality then props to her because Manning certainly was a glad man and playin year round Santa.
Thank you. This is the issue right here. Had the governments of the past done better by the citizens, T&T would be in a much better position to help. The economy is slowing down, so this government must be careful with funds. All in all, I'm glad that containers are already being sent. As far as rebuilding homes, I hope that at least some can be rebuilt for free. Maybe that's where individual citizens can step in. But if this cannot be done, it simply cannot. It's a sad situation.