Old 04-14-2011, 06:57 PM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 5,570
Caribbean Slang/ Definitions

.so recently I have a very close Trini male "friend" and well.. when around his family I sometimes have NO idea what they're talking about. So if you guys can help a sistah out.. TY in advance

..drop it here

established in 88' been a problem ever since

www.establishedin88.tumblr.com

Old 04-14-2011, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Credits: 56,395
ah suspect it will be easier if you listed the words/slangs you want defined....

‎"In the absence of light Darkness prevails."

"Free will; it's a b*tch"

Old 04-14-2011, 07:05 PM   #3 (permalink)

..where do I start???!!!?? lol

for now just name a few

Old 04-14-2011, 07:05 PM   #4 (permalink)

Credits: 501,303

Im intoxicated and my speevg gettgdgget.... sorry. And my speech getting complicated

Old 04-14-2011, 07:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
can u handle me?

Location: where is the greatest CARNIVAL?..well then yuh find meh!
Credits: 277,921
  • Bacchanal - party atmosphere; arguments, confusion e.g. "If dey find out, it will be rel bacchanal."
  • Back chat - a rude response e.g. "Doh give meh no back chat now, yuh hear!"
  • Badjohn - a bully; a person who thinks they're really "bad"
  • Bath suit - swim suit
  • Band (Carnival) - a Carnival band refers to a group of masqueraders who are wearing the same costumes, or costumes based on the same theme.
  • Biscuit - cookie, cracker
  • Bobolee - a person who gets taken advantage of
  • Bobolize - to bully someone
  • Boof / buff - to scold
  • Buss - to burst; to be a flop e.g. "Shux dred, dat party was rel buss."
  • Buss it - to leave e.g. "Well when I see dat, I buss it!"
  • Chips - French Fries e.g. "May I have some chips, please?"
  • Chutney - a type of music indigenous to Trinidad, which evolved from Indian music
  • Commesse - confusion, conflict
  • Cunumunu - a foolish person
  • Dingolay - to dance in a joyful, carefree manner
  • Dotish - silly, stupid e.g "Don't act dotish nah!"
  • Doux-doux - sweetie, sweetheart e.g. "Don't mind dat, doux-doux."
  • Dred - friend (see also hoss, padna); cool e.g. "Dat movie was dred, eh dred?"
  • Fella - a fellow, a boy, a guy e.g. "Way! Check dat fella!"
  • Fete - party
  • Fuh real? - really? Is that so?
  • Gyul - girl
  • Horn - to cheat on a boyfriend of girlfriend
  • Hoss - a close friend
  • In truth - for real, that's right e.g. "That test was so hard!" Reply: "In truth!"
  • Lagniappe - a little extra, a bonus
  • Lil - little
  • Lime - to hang out in a casual atmosphere e.g. "I feeling to lime."
  • Maco - someone who minds other people's business! e.g. "Wha yuh macoing so for?"
  • Make style - to show off
  • Mamaguy - to make fun of, to fool
  • Mas - used to refer to Carnival; to play mas - to masquerade
  • Obeah - black magic, voodoo
  • Obzokee - unpleasant, out of place
  • Ole talk - chit-chat, light-hearted chatter e.g. "We was just ole talking dey."
  • One time - right now, immediately e.g. "De gyul was rel angry so I buss it one time."
  • Padna - (from "partner") a close friend, buddy
  • Parang - music played during Christmas time. Parang has a lot of Spanish influences.
  • Patois - local dialect
  • Picker - thorns e.g. "Doh touch dat rose bush. It have rel pickers."
  • Picong - to insult in a jesting manner
  • Pong - pound e.g. "Gih meh two pongs of tomatoes dey tantie."
  • Poohar - see dotish
  • Pot hound / pot hong - a mixed dog; sometimes used as an insult e.g. yuh lazy pothound!
  • Saga boy / star boy - a male who likes to "make style"; a male who is cool
  • Screw up yuh face - to make a strange expression, usually when angry or in disagreement of something e.g. "Look how she screwin up she face nah!"
  • Soca - a type of music indigenous to TnT, derived from "soul calypso"
  • Soucouyant - from old ghost stories, an old woman who turns herself into a ball of fire and suck's people's blood
  • Sweet too bad - really nice, pleasant, attractive e.g. "Dred, dat gyul eh play she sweet too bad!"
  • Sweet drink - term used for soft drink, soda, pop
  • Sweetie - a sweet, candy
  • Tabanca - the feeling of hurt and pain when a close relationship ends e.g. "Leave him alone hoss, he gyul leave him. He have rel tabanca."
  • Tantie - auntie
  • Tong - town e.g. "I went to tong today."
  • Toutoulbay - a gullible person
  • Vex - angry, upset
  • Whas de scene? - What's up? e.g. Ay padna, whas de scene?
  • Wine - to gyrate, to rotate hips in a suggestive manner

and after dat GOOGLE is yuh fren : try searching TRINI SLANG WORDS

****If you're over 10 And watch CNN and believe everything
You're in 2 deep, And your 35 And you still survive, idle pon corner side
You're in 2 deep (Damian Marley -In 2 Deep)****
"pitch yuh k.u..nt" (taken from VincyShenny)

Old 04-14-2011, 07:11 PM   #6 (permalink)

Credits: 47,756
Originally Posted by established88 View Post
.so recently I have a very close Trini male "friend" and well.. when around his family I sometimes have NO idea what they're talking about. So if you guys can help a sistah out.. TY in advance

..drop it here
You should specify Trini people, since the dialects and patois of different islands have different words, and the same word can mean different things

for example, you say Bulla in Jamaica you talking about a cake...but in Trinidad a Bulla man is a homosexual lol

9th Annual ATLANTA JOUVERT

THE ATRIUM
Friday,May 24th

RED EYE - Memorial Weekend

RedEye Village
Old 04-14-2011, 07:21 PM   #7 (permalink)

Saucy Trini - God Bless you

SKBai1991 - this post is for all islands , not just Trini's

Old 04-14-2011, 07:23 PM   #8 (permalink)

Cunumunu - a foolish person

YESSS this is one word i hear ALL the time lol

Old 04-14-2011, 07:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
V.I. Posse

Credits: 2,288
I always wondered why batty meant ass and homosexual. That word can cause some real confusion.
Old 04-14-2011, 08:50 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 727,927
Pariah: orgy

"Hail Mary, full of grace The Lord is with thee..."

Old 04-14-2011, 08:53 PM   #11 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Vincent Vega View Post
Pariah: orgy
what country is that from?

Old 04-14-2011, 08:55 PM   #12 (permalink)

From trini

Old 04-14-2011, 09:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
I Does Party Hard

Credits: 40,296
From trini
i thought was "parry"...not "pariah"...

Living like Peggy, plotting like Joan

Old 04-14-2011, 09:48 PM   #14 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Naughtyshawtie View Post
i thought was "parry"...not "pariah"...
Ah is dis flicking auto text ting....does b doin some shit sometimes.

Old 04-14-2011, 09:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
I Does Party Hard

Credits: 40,296
Ah is dis flicking auto text ting....does b doin some shit sometimes.
lol...

Living like Peggy, plotting like Joan