Old 09-01-2008, 10:10 AM   #1 (permalink)

Credits: 38,579
A big and terrible Typhoon is coming there Caribbean islands..

... are you all ok ?

how's thing going.. just worry about you there.
Old 09-01-2008, 10:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 30,230
OMG
Old 09-01-2008, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Professor Abughani View Post
OMG
I watched the news about this...

but non ?
Old 09-01-2008, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Paradise!

Credits: 30,230
Originally Posted by ank View Post
I watched the news about this...

but non ?
Which news you watching girl
Old 09-01-2008, 12:11 PM   #5 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Professor Abughani View Post
Which news you watching girl
evening news on TV here in japan.

where are you located
Old 09-01-2008, 12:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
DI GENERAL

Credits: 81,216
chie in Englsih it's called a hurricane.

Fantastic Friday - Atlanta Carnival

Jolie
Friday,May 24th

RISE NY THE DAY FETE

PULSE 48
Old 09-01-2008, 12:31 PM   #7 (permalink)

Credits: 9,366
Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post
steups...

In English it's also called a Typhoon. It just depends on where in the world you are... where she is they call them Typhoons.

Chie the Hurricane has actually left the Caribbean, it's now headed to Louisiana, USA.
Old 09-01-2008, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)

ok.. news said it was tyhoon.
they didnt know how to call.
Old 09-01-2008, 12:38 PM   #9 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
steups...

In English it's also called a Typhoon. It just depends on where in the world you are... where she is they call them Typhoons.

Chie the Hurricane has actually left the Caribbean, it's now headed to Louisiana, USA.
Caribbean people are fine, thank you for letting me know.
but now in the USA..
are you ok ?
Old 09-01-2008, 12:47 PM   #10 (permalink)

Credits: 9,366
Originally Posted by ank View Post
Caribbean people are fine, thank you for letting me know.
but now in the USA..
are you ok ?
yeah I'm fine thanks... I don't live in that part of the US (Southeastern US, Gulf Coast).
Old 09-01-2008, 12:57 PM   #11 (permalink)
Pork Mout

Credits: 16,927
Originally Posted by Dr Insane View Post

Thats not exactly correct....

Low pressure systems or Tropical Cyclones have different names and ways of categorising them depending on the regions

Hurricane is used to describe Troical Cyclones that have wind speeds that reach 74 miles per hour or more (before that they are either Tropical Depressions or Storms)

The word hurricane is not really an English word it actually derives from the an ameridian storm god Huracan.....i think the loose translation is 'big wind' or something like that

In Asia/Pacific region they are called Typhoons .....which would be the term Chie is familiar with. In the southern hemisphere they are referred to as Cyclones

We going from Sun til Sun.......

Old 09-01-2008, 01:02 PM   #12 (permalink)

Originally Posted by Bake n Shark View Post
yeah I'm fine thanks... I don't live in that part of the US (Southeastern US, Gulf Coast).
I'm glad you are fine.

and I know where it is .. America is very wide and big.