Old 11-04-2009, 04:14 PM   #46 (permalink)

Credits: 5,609
Originally Posted by Toppa_Toppa View Post
I was just pointing out where she was coming from given your views on "Inter racial" relationships. Personally, I don't see how you could rightfully be against inter racial marriage and then be perplexed by her stance. The same differences you see in Black and White are the same ones she sees in African American vs West Indian. Moreover, the same arguments you use to justify the AA/WI relationships can be used for Black/White relationships. Question though, would you look down on a Black West Indian being married to a White or non-Black West Indian?
I was wondering that also!!
Old 11-04-2009, 04:21 PM   #47 (permalink)

Credits: 16,201
So why is Logical Reasoning in the LSATs kicking my arse so bad?
You better confer with some of the lawyers bout here because that is light years beyond anything going on in Red's cranium.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:26 PM   #48 (permalink)
Wha de crap?!

Credits: 5,901
Originally Posted by Nica View Post
both of allyuh dotish for engaging in that dotish ass argument

how de ass 2 black people become interracial?

steups
Enough said!
Old 11-04-2009, 04:26 PM   #49 (permalink)
MJ7

Credits: 3,767
Post The truth?

I was just pointing out where she was coming from given your views on "Inter racial" relationships. Personally, I don't see how you could rightfully be against inter racial marriage and then be perplexed by her stance. The same differences you see in Black and White are the same ones she sees in African American vs West Indian. Moreover, the same arguments you use to justify the AA/WI relationships can be used for Black/White relationships. Question though, would you look down on a Black West Indian being married to a White or non-Black West Indian?
What do Black and white people have in common? And don't say gender or that both are human.

Be realistic.

Black West Indians and Black Americans have AFRICAN ancestry. There is a common bond, albeit cultural differences. Those things can be worked out, but the relationship between people of African descent and those of European extraction has not been one of commonality, equality or love.

That is my point in my disdain for relationships between Blacks and whites.

Everyone makes their own choices...I have no power over that.

Old 11-04-2009, 04:27 PM   #50 (permalink)

Credits: 17,059
Oftentimes cultural differences override similarities in skin tone. Frankly, I have more in common with a Trinidadian/West Indian of non-African descent than I would with an African American or any other American for that matter (you're all Yankee to me). I would be able to relate to the former with much more ease than the latter. I'd be able to communicate comfortably, and just be more chill. I'd quicker be friends with them due to that sense of familiarity that we're from the same place, have similar experiences, can relate to a lot of things, beliefs, values, etc, etc, etc...
On the surface and to a certain extent I agree with this. In casual interactions culture does trump race in my opinion. But when you get into deeper relationships..when you're talking about actually taking it to the next level...then culture takes second billing to what really counts and that is personal attributes....personal attributes that attracts one person to another.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:28 PM   #51 (permalink)

Credits: 160,098
Originally Posted by MJ7 View Post
Taj. You grace up once again with your congenialilty.
yep yep
I just don't understand why you bringing your fight in one forum to another it seems like you just want sympathy and for imixers to say that you are right in your debate with her.
Just keep it between yall on the other site.

I'll keep on being my congenial self.

Old 11-04-2009, 04:28 PM   #52 (permalink)
steups...

Credits: 16,321
What do Black and white people have in common? And don't say gender or that both are human.

Be realistic.

Black West Indians and Black Americans have AFRICAN ancestry. There is a common bond, albeit cultural differences. Those things can be worked out, but the relationship between people of African descent and those of European extraction has not been one of commonality, equality or love.

Old 11-04-2009, 04:31 PM   #53 (permalink)

Be realistic.

Your point of view is perfectly understandable. In a semi perfect world human beings should date and marry who they want without others passing judgement...however this world is not perfect and there is hundreds of years of history to help bolster your point of view.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:33 PM   #54 (permalink)
MJ7

Angry No. Don't turn this into something it isn't...

yep yep
I just don't understand why you bringing your fight in one forum to another it seems like you just want sympathy and for imixers to say that you are right in your debate with her.
Just keep it between yall on the other site.

I'll keep on being my congenial self.
No. That is not it. That is your presumption.

Just wanted an outsider opinion and nothing more.

Old 11-04-2009, 04:35 PM   #55 (permalink)
MJ7

Thumbs up My sentiments exactly...

Originally Posted by dedetriniking View Post
Your point of view is perfectly understandable. In a semi perfect world human beings should date and marry who they want without others passing judgement...however this world is not perfect and there is hundreds of years of history to help bolster your point of view.

Then we both are >>>>>>>>here<<<<<<<<<@agreed.

That's all I'm pointing out.

She really started this issue--it was totally off base, but I thought it was an interesting argument all the same.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:36 PM   #56 (permalink)

MJ...Just to throw some context into the stew. Toppa Toppa is into white fellas eh. Not passing judgement eh....i'm just saying..
Old 11-04-2009, 04:44 PM   #57 (permalink)

Credits: 16,803
Then we both are >>>>>>>>here<<<<<<<<<@agreed.

That's all I'm pointing out.

She really started this issue--it was totally off base, but I thought it was an interesting argument all the same.
I really doh see how di ass she is bi-racial and want to lecture somebody about inter-racial dating....WTF??!!
Old 11-04-2009, 04:45 PM   #58 (permalink)
MJ7

Exclamation Ok...now I see...

MJ...Just to throw some context into the stew. Toppa Toppa is into white fellas eh. Not passing judgement eh....i'm just saying..
Oh. So...it becomes clearer.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:48 PM   #59 (permalink)
MJ7

Cool My point exactly...

Originally Posted by Triniminx View Post
I really doh see how di ass she is bi-racial and want to lecture somebody about inter-racial dating....WTF??!!

Go figure....I'm still shaking my head.

Old 11-04-2009, 04:48 PM   #60 (permalink)

Credits: 29,932

Be realistic.

You cite a common bond? All humans originated in Africa so by your own reasoning there should be no issue with White/Black relationships or any other sort of so-called "inter racial" relationship. In my experience, I felt no special bond with African Americans - they were just Americans to me and at an interpersonal level my interactions with them are no different from my interactions with an Asian American or European American...some people I'll get a long very well with, some people I won't.

At a deeper level the resoning for your "disdain" also has no bearing becaue relations between persons on the African Continent and without, although of the same skin colour and other phenotypical markers, cannot be characterised as being one of commonality, equality and love. That's a very "romanticised" and blatantly false portrayal.

What perplexes me most though, is your insistence that cultural differences "can easily be worked out" but, the fact that one person has more or less melanin than the other is in your opinion, insurmountable.

On the surface and to a certain extent I agree with this. In casual interactions culture does trump race in my opinion. But when you get into deeper relationships..when you're talking about actually taking it to the next level...then culture takes second billing to what really counts and that is personal attributes....personal attributes that attracts one person to another.
I fully agree and this, therefore, does not exclude people of different hues forming relationships.